MythTV 0.27 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 42 (permalink) Old 2013-11-25, 01:16 AM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,254
MythTV 0.27

I recently upgraded from MythTV 0.24 to 0.27 and must say I really like it. I especially love the way you can now easily filter by recording group just by using the fast forward and rewind buttons (default key mapping) and then select the series (using the up and down arrows) and then select the episode. I have over 300 recordings (actually probably over 500 recordings since many are short 10 to 15 minute shows for my daughter). So anything that makes it faster and easier to find what I am looking for is a good thing.

I did a fresh install on an SSD (on a separate PC to keep my old box running) using MythBuntu 12.04 and then used Repos to upgrade load 0.27. Once the basics were working, I moved the drive into my HTPC, copied the database over (still using the same data drive for dedicated for recordings). The SSD makes things so much faster! My database is getting quite big, so it was starting to bog down a bit on a mechanical drive. It also now boots crazy fast, which is nice when I need to restart for some reason (I realize this is all the SSD and not 0.27).

Over all, most of the bugs I was experiencing are now gone. I have a few more tweaks I want to make, but that is half of the fun.

Link to my TVFool results is in my profile Homepage URL. I suggest others do the same.
roger1818 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 42 (permalink) Old 2013-12-01, 05:52 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 313
I have yet to upgrade to 0.27 I'm still running 0.26. Recording has been reliable through my ATSC tuner card. My 2nd turner is the Firewire recorder through a Shaw STB. That works 95% of the time, except for some of the MPEG4 channels which shaw seems to keep switching back and forth (they can't make up their minds) if they want them copy protected or not.
mcpish is offline  
post #3 of 42 (permalink) Old 2013-12-03, 02:20 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,254
One other new feature (from 0.24 at least) is that if a recording has uncorrectable errors it will mark it with a yellow dot and yellow text (not sure what the threshold is for the number of uncorrectable errors as a few may be tolerated). This is useful to highlight that you may want to watch it from an alternate source (like streaming online).

Link to my TVFool results is in my profile Homepage URL. I suggest others do the same.
roger1818 is offline  
 
post #4 of 42 (permalink) Old 2014-07-12, 10:16 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,657
@roger,
I upgraded to myth0.27 a while ago also.
But I haven't used it much until recently. getting the backend going again,
and integrating with xbmc's mythtv plugin for myth 0.27 backends.
The compiled myth 0.27 .debs I created in December work like a champ with
the modified v4l-updatelee kernel that I use.
Everything seems better since I updated from Mint 16 -> Mint 17 here.
So I have everything I want playing here, v4l-updatelee, updateDVB and a mythtv backend.

Curious which atsc devices you are using? And what you see for SNR displayed on the OSD as you switch channels
in mythfrontend, Live TV.

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is online now  
post #5 of 42 (permalink) Old 2014-07-12, 04:06 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Thumbs up 0.27 is very solid, dependable

I've tended to use every major MythTV version number since 0.19 and I upgraded from 0.26 to 0.27 a few months ago. OTA ATSC recording is perfect as always. Feeding the mythbackend over USB are 2 x Hauppauge 950Q ATSC devices for OTA and one Hauppauge HDPVR box for recording from other devices and formats.

I run a separate mythbackend on a headless 4-core Linux machine that is also a router, firewall, squid cacheing proxy, cacheing DNS server, DHCP, NFS, NTP, SQL, and print server. It does all that without skipping a beat or getting warmer even during mythtranscodes.

I have a dedicated mythfrontend HTPC which outputs 1080p video and DD5.1 audio and is connected to the mythbackend over gigabit ethernet copper. I can run a mythfrontend on my Linux notebook but the performance hit over WLAN makes it a bit cludgy so plugging in the gigabit ethernet copper solves that pefectly. I haven't tried mythfrontend on my FrankenMacBook OSX notebook yet (build from 2 dead ones) but I might give it a try just to say I did.

With each new MythTV version the setup items that show up or disappear take a bit of getting used to, especially when the documentation has not caught up yet. Also the data shema for the mythconverg database changes with each version, with no means of reverting unless you've saved an untouched copy. If you ugrade the mythbackend you must upgrade any and all mythfrontends to the same version and schema. I run MariaDB for mythconverg and it has been bulletproof for stability and speed.



stampeder is offline  
post #6 of 42 (permalink) Old 2014-07-12, 04:13 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,254
I was using both an HVR-1600 and an HVR-950Q, but found the HVR-950Q buggy and the HVR-1600 isn't as sensitive a tuner. I recently purchased an HDHR4-US and it seems to be as sensitive as the HVR-950Q so I retired it but still use the HVR-1600 as a third tuner when I have a 3-way conflict and use it as the primary tuner for live TV (when not using the TV's built-in tuner). I am going to use my HVR-950Q with my laptop when travelling.

I don't really trust the display that comes up when changing channels in live TV (when I switch to CBC it says it is 1080i and then says 720p when I change away from it) so I don't pay attention to its signal meter.

Link to my TVFool results is in my profile Homepage URL. I suggest others do the same.
roger1818 is offline  
post #7 of 42 (permalink) Old 2014-07-12, 04:23 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Those 950Qs sure get hot too! I have the two of them suspended and separated in mid air behind the mythbackend to keep air flowing around them. I haven't experienced any bugginess with them since about MythTV 0.24 and especially after setting
Code:
options xc5000 no_poweroff=1
in the mythbackend's modprobe.conf file. They seem to be rock solid with MythTV 0.27 no matter what I throw at them.



stampeder is offline  
post #8 of 42 (permalink) Old 2014-07-12, 04:59 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,657
Put them 950Qs to good use and install the v4l-updatelee kernel tree.
Unleash some spectrum scan action with updateDVB.
.

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is online now  
post #9 of 42 (permalink) Old 2014-07-12, 08:57 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,254
Stampeder, do you shutdown the PCs that have the 950Qs? I find if you keep them powered on for several days they will sometimes fail when trying to change channels, even with the option you mention.

Link to my TVFool results is in my profile Homepage URL. I suggest others do the same.
roger1818 is offline  
post #10 of 42 (permalink) Old 2014-07-12, 09:08 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,657
my pc is on 24/7 and the 950Q never gets more than warm...
I have that option commented out. probably doesn't get the workout stampeder's does.
what kernel are you guys on?

uname -a
Linux orion 3.14.0-rc5+ #3 SMP Wed May 21 23:17:30 EDT 2014 i686 i686 i686 GNU/Linux

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is online now  
post #11 of 42 (permalink) Old 2014-07-13, 01:00 AM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
The mythbackend machine runs 24/7 with no problems. The 950Qs are always on the job and doing it well.
Quote:
Put them 950Qs to good use and install the v4l-updatelee kernel tree.
Unleash some spectrum scan action with updateDVB.
I have a couple of other USB sticks that I use with GnuRadio for SDR: http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=154741 on kernel 3.12.21 x86_64



stampeder is offline  
post #12 of 42 (permalink) Old 2014-07-13, 04:35 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,657
yes of course, but they can't receive TV.

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is online now  
post #13 of 42 (permalink) Old 2014-07-13, 03:18 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by majortom
Put them 950Qs to good use and install the v4l-updatelee kernel tree.
I can see the value of it for experimentation:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show...&postcount=183



stampeder is offline  
post #14 of 42 (permalink) Old 2014-07-13, 07:49 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Belleville ON
Posts: 1,865
Although not using mythTV, my experience with my 950Q is it stays' just warm when idle and NOT USED.

Once used, either for tuning (station seeking) or actually watching something, then it gets HOT, and STAYS HOT even after the Hauppauge software is closed (this is under Windows).

I suspect a driver issue or firmware fault in the hardware of the 950Q.

If I do a Windows restart (no power off), the driver gets unloaded then reloaded at Windows start. Then the 950Q cools down to the normal warm state as if never used.

I have a small muffin fan that if the apartment gets much warmer and I'm using the 950Q, will get pressed into service.

Cameron

DAB listener 12/2003-11/2011 (DAB Off-Air since 11/2011)
HD radio Listener since 06/2010
CamDAB is offline  
post #15 of 42 (permalink) Old 2014-07-14, 08:28 AM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by majortom View Post
my pc is on 24/7 and the 950Q never gets more than warm...
I have that option commented out. probably doesn't get the workout stampeder's does.
With all the kids shows I record, mine gets quite the workout.

Quote:
what kernel are you guys on?

uname -a
Linux orion 3.14.0-rc5+ #3 SMP Wed May 21 23:17:30 EDT 2014 i686 i686 i686 GNU/Linux
Linux xxxx 3.5.0-51-generic #77~precise1-Ubuntu SMP Thu Jun 5 00:48:28 UTC 2014 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Link to my TVFool results is in my profile Homepage URL. I suggest others do the same.
roger1818 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome