MythTV 0.27 - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #31 of 42 (permalink) Old 2014-07-22, 09:01 AM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by stampeder View Post
With the latest mythtv versions the user can set an upper and lower channel for scans, which is helpful if you already know the local spread of expected stations from TVFool. I'd like to see some sort of Boolean tool that lets people deselect ranges within 7-51 if they know that there is nothing to be seen. It would speed things up for some people (i.e. someone with a couple of VHF-HI stations and then nothing on UHF until the low 30s).
Even better would be a way to set the default channel range to anything you want. The problem with removing 52-69 completely is that some countries still use them (does Mexico still use them?). Also there may be some custom uses for them.

Link to my TVFool results is in my profile Homepage URL. I suggest others do the same.
roger1818 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 42 (permalink) Old 2014-07-22, 07:20 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,453
No, I would prefer no EPG than do that, hence my question, and insistence on no scrapers.

So, short of that, how can I easily and free (MythTV is relatively hard), with absolutely no EPG scraping or EPG subscription, have my Linux PC wih HD-Homerun, be a free VCR like DVR, with manual repeating recordings, that work.
classicsat is offline  
post #33 of 42 (permalink) Old 2014-07-22, 09:49 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,644
I am in the middle of doing some mythtv reconfiguration here on a diff machine, else I would test it for ya....

have ya thought about just using 'Kaffeine'?
It's much simpler to use, and parses the guide sent OTA automatically, if any.

I just looked and it looks like ya can set manual recordings easily, as well as ' use an 'instant record' feature.

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is online now  
 
post #34 of 42 (permalink) Old 2014-07-24, 08:42 AM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by classicsat View Post
How do manual recordings come up in the "to record list" or generally use it as a VCR without an EPG, with multiple manual recordings I can keep track of?
I am not sure I understand what your issue is. When I first started using MythTV I used manual recordings before I subscribed to Schedules Direct and they worked just fine. I also did a quick test and it once again worked just fine (though it seems like they have changed it so that start times and durations have to be on 5 minute boundaries (though I suppose you could use start early or end late to make adjustments). The Title of the recording is is the same as the name of the manual recording rule and appears as such in the list of upcoming recordings and recording rules. If you want more information about the show you recorded, you can edit the metadata for the recording to change the title, sub-title, season and episode numbers and Plot description.

Link to my TVFool results is in my profile Homepage URL. I suggest others do the same.
roger1818 is offline  
post #35 of 42 (permalink) Old 2014-07-25, 08:38 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,644
almost back to normal now after compiling mythtv fixes/0.27 with my two patches. one for the ch2-51 thing,
and another so the atsc snr is displayed correctly. Found something new with mythweb, I wasn't used to, never had to do this until now.

http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Channel_i...ersal_Location

never had to symlink the channel icons directory to get them to show up, till now.
sudo ln -s /home/myuser/.mythtv/channels /home/mythtv/.mythtv

the snag I was running in to compiling was that I normally use Qt 5.2 for compiling the updateDVB program I use.
Hadn't compiled mythtv in so long, I forgot they still use Qt 4.8. So 'qtchooser' to the rescue...

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is online now  
post #36 of 42 (permalink) Old 2014-07-26, 01:40 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,644
classicsat,
I just looked at the mythweb gui here.
It makes it real simple to make manual recordings.
I just tested it on wbxz, 56.4, one of the SOON programs, so there is no schedule info. Looks like it can do what you want from the convenience of your web browser. Also provides you the opportunity to name it however you want as well as some suggested options.
here is a screenshot of it... Is that what your looking for?

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is online now  
post #37 of 42 (permalink) Old 2014-07-26, 09:45 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,254
Interesting. It looks like using MythWeb you can set the start time down to the second. Using the fronend seems to limit you to 5 minutes. The defaults for Title and Subtitle are also nice, though I would probably want to override the title in most cases.

Interesting though that if you click on Advance Options it defaults to using Subtitle and Description as Duplicate Check. I would think you would rather this be set to none for a manual recording, though it should still work as the subtitle will be unique if it is using date/time.

Link to my TVFool results is in my profile Homepage URL. I suggest others do the same.
roger1818 is offline  
post #38 of 42 (permalink) Old 2014-08-04, 07:31 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,453
I looked at kaffeine. It is comparably simple to set up (compared to MythTV) records fine, but fiddly to set recordings.

The kaffeine player is very poor, on my PC anyways. VLC is a lot better, but just about annoying. In any case, there is no PVR like recording list, nor remote control . I could tolerate it as a stop gap measure until I get my WMC machine running again.
classicsat is offline  
post #39 of 42 (permalink) Old 2014-08-04, 09:50 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,644
Last I knew kaffeine switched from mplayer to vlc as the player.
What version kaffeine did ya install?
Mine says:
Kaffeine
Version 1.3-git

But I compiled it from their git tree.

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is online now  
post #40 of 42 (permalink) Old 2014-08-05, 09:09 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,453
I downloaded the one from the Mint software manager. It is the one that plays poor.

I solved the VLC control with a phone app on an old Android phone I was given. It works to my satisfaction, but not 100% perfect, maybe 95%.
classicsat is offline  
post #41 of 42 (permalink) Old 2014-08-05, 07:53 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,644
The standard 'help/about' ya can get the kaffeine version

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is online now  
post #42 of 42 (permalink) Old 2014-08-06, 11:51 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,453
It is working now.

At this point I don't want to have to muck around chasing dependencies and other annoyances of compiling someone elses code for something I need to work right away.

Having to muck around too much with command is why have been cold to Myth TV.
classicsat is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome