Need help, flaky sound! - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 2013-10-07, 09:51 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4
Need help, flaky sound!

Every time I turn on my TV and receiver I never know if I will have any sound when using my HTPC, it's driving me crazy! Under sound devices if I see my Panasonic TV or Yamaha receiver and I set either one as default it usually works, most of the time those are not listed and I need to disable sound device, re-install driver, turn TV or receiver on and off to have them reappear if I'm lucky. Some background,

Motherboard - Asus P8H61-IR2.0
Onboard sound VIA VT1708S
OS Win 7 64bit
BIOS and sound driver up to date
Connected via HDMI
Receiver - Yamaha RX-V473

Not sure if this will end the madness but since my receiver has digital optical port can I use SPDIF with the VIA onboard sound to avoid this issue or should I invest in a soundcard?

Thx
paulcbr954 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 2013-10-07, 03:36 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 3,370
I had a similar problem with my previous AMD-based HTPC. If the HTPC was on and the TV would "go away" because it was turned off, when you turned the TV back on it wouldn't give you your HDMI audio device back.

I'm not sure why, but when I upgraded to a (Intel) Core i3-based HTPC these problems went away. This suggests that the problem was a driver issue on the AMD system.

For the AMD solution this was only a problem with using HDMI audio. If I connected the audio using the stereo out from the sound card (on board), it always worked.

If I were you, I'd try SPDIF first before doing something more drastic.
audacity is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 2013-10-07, 04:16 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,314
Here's the FAQ on HDMI issues. You'll notice that this issue is mentioned there (Item 34, as well as other suggestions). A firmware update to all equipment may solve your issue, or a reboot of the computer if that's not too much of a problem. As mentioned by audacity above, the optical option you have should solve the problem since there's no handshake.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=71112

Useful Post - FAQs, Search Tips, Optimization, etc:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=57741

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 2013-10-08, 12:40 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,369
I've had the same issue with certain motherboards. The quick solution is to always turn the TV on first and off last. I found that simply suspending the HTPC and waking it up, with the TV on, would often work. A reboot with the TV on would always work. That was with a direct connection to the TV.

This case appears to be more severe. Updating the drivers may help. I've found that letting Windows update install the default Windows audio driver sometimes works best. Drivers from the ASUS site are often the best option. If not, try downloading the latest drivers from VIA directly. One of those options should work. A video card may be a better and cheaper solution than an audio card. Many have a dedicated HDMI audio solution for the HDMI port. I've never seen this problem with a Radeon based video card.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 2013-10-17, 02:21 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,130
I'm currently having similar issues with ATI 5830's (x-fire) I just can't get the HDMI audio to work correctly. If I am finally able to get it to register 5.1 speaker setup, the rear speakers when tested barely turn on. I'm going to pull one vid card and rebuild Windows, start fresh and go from there. I know I don't have AVR issues because my Laptop has been able to work with it no problems.
j0dest3r is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome