Help-Best TV tuner for a laptop?????? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 2013-08-22, 11:18 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Burlington, Ontario Canada
Posts: 37
Help-Best TV tuner for a laptop??????

I want to get a DTV tuner and software for my laptop. Can anyone advise which make or model is best? I assume it will be a USB.
lhowarth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 2013-08-22, 04:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 24
http://www.hauppauge.com/site/produc...a_hvr950q.html

Our son in law did the research on this a couple years back and he settled on the Hauppauge HVR 950, which we bought for him for Christmas… He has been extremely pleased with its performance and just recently his WDTV Live was upgraded to support it, so now when he plugs it into that box he has live TV on his big screen too!
beetham is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 2013-08-22, 04:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 24
Sorry - forgot to add the link - www.hauppauge.com/site/products/data_hvr950q.html He runs UNIX but I believe it will run with just about any platform with a bit of work… and probably runs with Windows without any work what so ever!

I'm considering getting it so that I can use one of my systems as a PVR for local OTA broadcasts!

Good Luck!
beetham is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 2013-08-23, 12:54 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Kanata
Posts: 556
Agreed. Researching these forums will show that the 950Q is considered to be about the best.
DXer is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 2013-08-23, 02:01 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 796
An HDHomeRun would work and via WiFi or Ethernet.

Bill
My blog
blueroomelectro is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 2013-08-23, 01:50 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,568
Guess it all depends on HOW/WHAT they want to run the tuner for/with.

Direct plug into wall for cable.. only going to get you limited (and lessening) channels
Guess it depends in a STB will be plugged into it, etc?
Or just OTA

GDKitty
Rogers Ignite Xi6, LG 47LV5400 LED TV, Yamaha
gdkitty is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 2013-08-27, 10:47 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Milton, ON
Posts: 704
I like the HDHomerun for my laptop, can get access to the signal from anywhere in the house without having to actually plug the coax in to the laptop.

Note that it's a bit different than what you were likely thinking of, and you'll want to have a good 802.11n wifi network and laptop to ensure the best experience.

-Pete
pnear is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 2013-08-29, 10:59 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Burlington, Ontario Canada
Posts: 37
I intend to use it for over the air tv with a home made antenna only. No cable.
lhowarth is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome