Recommend DLNA + Netflix client - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 2013-08-14, 01:59 PM Thread Starter
Rookie

Recommend DLNA + Netflix client

Hello,
I'm looking for a recommendation for a DLAN client device that supports Netflix. I've been using a Samsung BluRay player since 2011, I find it slow in streaming Netflix videos and the dlna client is very very slow. Regarding its issues with Netflix, it takes a long time to load videos and freezes often when loading videos requiring a reboot. The DLA client on the BluRay is also slow when going through pictures and music, although playback is fine.

What I'm looking for:
-------------------

- Device that can stream NetFlix
- Has DLNA client (My NAS runs a Twonky DLNA server and some media server)
- Has a remote
- Ideally can change DNS on the device

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 2013-08-14, 02:26 PM
Veteran

A PS3 does all that you ask but might be a little expensive unless you want to play games, however with the PS4 on its way there are deals to be had.

Other options would be a jailbroken Apple TV............I'm sure there will be others coming along with other options.

Not a Roku though as you cannot change the DNS
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 2013-08-14, 03:55 PM

The WDTV Live meets all 4 requirements. $99 from costco

DB4e | CPA19 | 2 x HDTC-2US | Mac Mini | EyeTV 3
My scanning and reporting scripts here

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 2013-08-14, 04:56 PM
Veteran

Does the WDTV Live have Netflix Super HD?
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 2013-08-14, 07:48 PM

Yes! I use two and love 'em.

Shaw Direct DVR830 / DVR 605/ 605, Sony Xbr65" 950E", Sony XBR4 850d, Oppo 980H, Yamaha 7.1 Surround, PS4! WDLive
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 2013-08-14, 08:54 PM
Veteran