Any Early Windows 8 HTPC Adopters? - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #61 of 191 (permalink) Old 2012-09-26, 12:44 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,130
Multimedia8 just showed up in the Windows8 app store. Pretty decent Windows8 style player and DLNA client, better than the previous one I tried. Can also do some capturing and stuff too. Interesting.
j0dest3r is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 191 (permalink) Old 2012-09-26, 02:58 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 46
Still no WMC support for ATSC in Canada? It sounds like this is a direct port with no enhancements, so I might as well keep running Windows 7. I have a very stable, well working HTPC system with 3 media extenders in the home.
grungymegajeff is offline  
post #63 of 191 (permalink) Old 2012-09-26, 05:06 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,130
According to the two pre-release versions of Windows8 with MC add-on you are correct, no ATSC support without the hack. We might still get a surprise but I have my doubts. It may not be worth the headache to update but Netflix IIRC is supposed to be available on release day.
j0dest3r is offline  
 
post #64 of 191 (permalink) Old 2012-09-26, 05:21 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 3,370
Over Windows 7 + WMC, Windows 8 + WMC provides:

- Storage Spaces (great for large quantities of storage HTPCs need when recording big MPEG2 files)
- The Metro user interface, which is great as a HTPC user interface. Especially when compared to a Desktop UI
- Metro Apps (like Netflix' Metro App) which will be a much easier way for developers to provide "addons" for HTPC machines that will leverage streaming services in a more integrated way than web sites do.
audacity is offline  
post #65 of 191 (permalink) Old 2012-09-26, 06:24 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,130
Agreed with all of this except "Metro user interface, which is great as a HTPC user interface"

Sure you can use a remote to navigate the Windows8 style (Metro) screen, once you get into the app however, you are boned without a mouse or touch screen. At least this has been my experience with limited testing the diNovo Mini on Windows 8. One of these days I will try the MS MC remote to see how it behaves. If I can get that working properly then I will be happy, but I have my doubts.
j0dest3r is offline  
post #66 of 191 (permalink) Old 2012-09-26, 07:12 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 3,370
I used "The Loop" from Hillcrest Labs. They've discontinued that product, but they a have newer one. Give that a go with Metro and see what you think.
audacity is offline  
post #67 of 191 (permalink) Old 2012-09-26, 07:38 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,542
Quote:
One of these days I will try the MS MC remote to see how it behaves. If I can get that working properly then I will be happy, but I have my doubts.
It's not really useful - see my previous post:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show...07#post1435907
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #68 of 191 (permalink) Old 2012-09-26, 10:42 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,130
Dr. Dave - Thx for the reminder I had forgotten you had already tried that.

Audacity - the DiNovo Mini works well enough as it has a built-in mouse + a click pad for media center. It also works on the xbox360 and the PS3. Regardless, Media Center is a far superior 10ft interface over Metro IMHO.
j0dest3r is offline  
post #69 of 191 (permalink) Old 2012-09-26, 10:50 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 3,370
As someone who has both a Logitech DiNovo Mini and "The Loop" let me assure you that when using Metro, The Loop is far better. Especially for accessing all of the UI elements that are triggered when you go to the corner of the screen, and doing the "pulling" applications in from the side multitasking gesture.
audacity is offline  
post #70 of 191 (permalink) Old 2012-09-27, 02:02 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,130
fair enough.
j0dest3r is offline  
post #71 of 191 (permalink) Old 2012-10-06, 09:27 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: near Ottawa
Posts: 175
I would recommend not touching Win8 until at least SP1 is released.
Currently it is VERY buggy & currently works best (but not great) as a full/fresh install NOT as an upgrade.

If you get an OEM (not retail) version of WIN8 you get an included free downgrade to WIN7.

I would go that route -only if it allows a full/fresh install back to WIN8 in the future & the "downgrade" is a full/fresh Win7 install.
Dougofthenorth is offline  
post #72 of 191 (permalink) Old 2012-10-06, 03:45 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 796
I'll switch if it doesn't have the lose a PCI tuner bug that Windows 7 has.

Bill
My blog
blueroomelectro is offline  
post #73 of 191 (permalink) Old 2012-10-07, 12:37 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,130
Lose PCI tuner bug? I've had a machine up an running in the basement, 24/7 for the past few years, only reboots have been for updates and I've never had any issue. My card is a dual tuner Hauppague.
j0dest3r is offline  
post #74 of 191 (permalink) Old 2012-10-07, 12:45 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 796
Try it with a pair of HVR-2250 cards. I had a quad tuner setup, I even tried on a couple of computers (one Intel the other AMD) and when it wakes from sleep the leftmost PCI-E tuner will vanish from the device list. Win7 x86 & x64 SP1 all exhibit this problem. Same thing even when I tried AVERMedia Duet A188 & HVR-2250.

Bill
My blog
blueroomelectro is offline  
post #75 of 191 (permalink) Old 2012-10-07, 01:18 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,130
What about with an HVR-2250 + 950q?
j0dest3r is offline  
Reply

Tags
htpc , windows 8 , windows media centre , wmc

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome