Any Early Windows 8 HTPC Adopters? - Page 13 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #181 of 191 (permalink) Old 2013-01-25, 04:15 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,331
Thanks - you would think Netflix would be an obvious one that would support a remote.
Wayne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 191 (permalink) Old 2013-01-25, 05:42 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 989
I have three Windows 7 computers so I decided to try out W8 on one before the Jan 31st deadline for the $40 upgrade.

I bought a new SSD and did a clean install on it. This allowed me to dual boot to my legacy Windows 7 drive and to the new Windows 8. I recommend this for anyone who wants a clean install but is concerned about access to their "old" system.

After a few weeks, I still find W8 cumbersome to navigate, a pain in the arse to shutdown, and too much advertising drivel that had to be removed.

I decided I'm going to save $80 and not upgrade the other systems. I'm using the money towards putting new SSD's in the other machines.
XM4243 is offline  
post #183 of 191 (permalink) Old 2013-01-25, 07:58 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 825
How did you do a clean install to the SSD? Doesn't it have to have Win7 on it before you can download the upgrade? I was going to clone my C:drive to the SSD. Boot from the SSD. Do a clean install.

The reason I wanted to do this was because it took almost a week to get the free authorization code for Media Center. I didn't want my main HTPC to be out of commission for that long.

For me, this is the fastest way to shutdown my Win 8 computer.
http://lifehacker.com/5953453/add-a-...8-start-screen

I pinned media center to the start screen so that it is just one Green Button away. I'm still juggling which apps to pin and how to arrange the tiles.

Oddly, after disabling the lock screen like many people, I turned it back on again. I found it looked better than my cluttered desktop and wasn't really that much of a bother to log in.

Sony Bravia XBR 55X900F, Vizio SB3651, Dell Studio XPS 8100, AMD 5450, 2 Hauppauge HVR-2250, ASUS BC-12B1ST, Windows 10
Michael DeAbreu is offline  
 
post #184 of 191 (permalink) Old 2013-01-26, 10:47 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,130
I have been able to do two upgrade purchases as a clean install with no previous OS by installing the system using my previous purchased key, then using slmgr from the command prompt to do a rearm the rebooted then used /ipk to insert the new key and then slmgr /ato to activate. No nonsense having to worry about the previous OS doing it that way.
j0dest3r is offline  
post #185 of 191 (permalink) Old 2013-01-27, 12:40 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,567
I agree the shutdown process is too cumbersome, but the shutdown syntax on lifehacker is incorrect. It should be:

shutdown.exe -s -t 00

For restart I also use:

shutdown.exe -r -t 00

You can also pin the command to the Taskbar, which comes in handy if you spend most of your time in the desktop environment.

Quote:
How did you do a clean install to the SSD? Doesn't it have to have Win7 on it before you can download the upgrade?
I recently installed Win 8 from DVD on a PC that had a Win 7 System partition and unallocated space that I had created by shrinking the Win 7 partition, so the Win 8 installer may just look for the existence of Win 7 on the PC.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #186 of 191 (permalink) Old 2013-01-29, 01:26 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,130
ALT-F4 still works, as well if you get START8 start menu, shutdown is back where it used to be.
j0dest3r is offline  
post #187 of 191 (permalink) Old 2013-01-31, 05:09 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 989
Quote:
How did you do a clean install to the SSD? Doesn't it have to have Win7 on it before you can download the upgrade?
I read that you could do it in Maximum PC. Note that I had W7 on the system on the boot drive. So it was a clean install on the SSD but I think that it still checks to see if you have W7 on another drive on your system.
XM4243 is offline  
post #188 of 191 (permalink) Old 2013-02-04, 12:34 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,130
For me, for sure, it was a clean install, the drive was freshly partitioned and formatted. I wouldn't expect a regular person to drop to the command line and start messing with slmgr etc. but the double install trick that worked with Windows 7 should still work for Windows 8 although at that point you might want to re-install 7 and then upgrade anyway. They only reasons why you potentially may not want to is the recovery partition on on Windows 8 is larger 350mb v.s. 100mb for Windows 7 and you may have upgrade media for your Windows 7 installation as well.
j0dest3r is offline  
post #189 of 191 (permalink) Old 2013-10-17, 05:03 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,130
Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center upgrade

Apparently the new Windows 8.1 upgrade that is out today does include some changes to Media Center. Current release on Windows 8 is 6.2.9200.16384
I will report the 8.1 version as soon as the update is finished. Hopefully someone will be able to figure out what the changes are.
j0dest3r is offline  
post #190 of 191 (permalink) Old 2013-10-18, 02:32 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,272
ExDilbert is online now  
post #191 of 191 (permalink) Old 2013-10-21, 03:54 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,130
Right, but this thread was for Media Center or using Windows 8/8.1 as a HTPC.
j0dest3r is offline  
Reply

Tags
htpc , windows 8 , windows media centre , wmc

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome