Help with a lot of things - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 19 (permalink) Old 2012-05-06, 07:20 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Barrhaven, Ottawa
Posts: 72
@Scarybob

Would that setup run quietly ?
Foxenhimr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 19 (permalink) Old 2012-05-07, 02:30 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 4,000
Any PC will do the job, don't pay a premium for an "HTPC".

Quote:
Originally Posted by OTAJuncqui View Post
OTA ATSC is mpeg transport stream Windows Media Center records and transcode the file into it's own proprietary format (*.wmv)
That may be true, but it still uses almost no system resources. I've recorded from my HDHomeRun using WMC on a first-generation Intel Atom netbook just fine.

Rules of the Forum | DHC Help Desk
DHC now supports Tapatalk for mobile devices!
TorontoColin is offline  
post #18 of 19 (permalink) Old 2012-05-07, 08:14 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Nepean, ON
Posts: 373
I aggree there's no need for a premium HTPC, but "any PC" may be underpowered if there is a need to record multiple shows at the same time and process them with comskip while watching another show live and have more recordings starting up. Last nite I recorded everything on Global from 7 thru 11pm (7 shows), America's fun vids, and Amazing Race while watching 60 min and Avatar. I don't have a digital TV so this used all 3 of my tuners.

Srvr:ASUSF1A75-VPro,RadHD6000,A6-3670K,WD2TB,W7Ult
NPVR,5.1,2xHaup2250MC,ATI650,CM7777,WGHD8800,5clts
OTAJuncqui is offline  
 
post #19 of 19 (permalink) Old 2012-05-07, 03:25 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,131
Quote:
I use an Acer Revo 3610 mounted to the back of my TV.
That looks like a very good choice for an Atom based HTPC. Something similar can be built for about $400-$500 in hardware (Win7 extra.) If the Acer Revo 3610 can be purchased for under $500, it's a good deal.

Quote:
Would that setup run quietly ?
The Shuriken CPU cooler runs very quietly compared to the stock cooler supplied by AMD. The power supply will also run quietly with the low power required by this system. The case does not have any fans included. I would be tempted to install a low noise 80mm fan near the CPU. First, I would monitor system temperature under load to see if any extra ventilation was required.

At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome