New smart BD player - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 2012-03-19, 06:47 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Abbotsford, BC
Posts: 116
New smart BD player

So my old dvd player finally gave up.

I got a new Samsung smart BD player.

Interestingly enough, it detects my mythtv backend! I can browse and view recordings!

Apparently it works as a DLNA client and so I will try setting up serviio later.

Anyone else have a BD player like this? This model I got is really new, it's not even on Samsung's website yet.

By the way, streaming 1080i and 5.1 audio with wifi from your media backend is *not* recommended. Lol.
danomac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 2012-03-19, 07:00 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 4,200
I have the BD-5100. For some reason it seems a bit flaky on wanting to view content from my laptop, but maybe I'll give Servio a shot to see if it helps (it seems to not want to see all my media).

I will say though that the Youtube player is almost useless. After typing each letter, there is a significant delay while it guesses what you are looking for. It's a pain, since you can't keep typing while it does this (the whole interface freezes).
BGY11 is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 2012-03-19, 09:06 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Abbotsford, BC
Posts: 116
Navigation around my mythtv recordings was fine with no delay. I have wifi so didn't bother setting up youtube in the smart hub yet.

I have the BD-EM57.

Serviio can be set to transcode on-the-fly... samsung's media player doesn't support flac, as an example.
danomac is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 2012-03-20, 11:03 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Nepean, ON
Posts: 373
Quote:
By the way, streaming 1080i and 5.1 audio with wifi from your media backend is *not* recommended.
You could if your routers wireless is capable of speeds above 100mps. I'm guessing yours is 54?

Srvr:ASUSF1A75-VPro,RadHD6000,A6-3670K,WD2TB,W7Ult
NPVR,5.1,2xHaup2250MC,ATI650,CM7777,WGHD8800,5clts
OTAJuncqui is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 2012-03-20, 11:18 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Abbotsford, BC
Posts: 116
I know the router itself is an 802.11n router. Wireless has never been reliable for me. I hard wire everything generally... got tired of losing wifi when neighbours turn on their microwave.

I'll check later to see if it's actually running at 802.11n...
danomac is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome