Hauppage WinTV PVR - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 2012-01-02, 10:48 AM Thread Starter
Rookie

Hauppage WinTV PVR

First off, sorry, i'm a complete newb with this stuff!!

I'd like to set up a system whereby I can create a centralized HD PVR which i can then read from any tv in the house, rather than have standalone PVRs at each TV.

I was playing around and found the Hauppage WinTV PVR device which looks like it will do this for me. I didn't notice if it has its own harddrive in it, so i'm not sure if the data resides on that box, or if I can store it on a computer instead.

I was then thinking if i had a media player of some sort on each of the TVs hooked up to the network (i'd run wired ethernet for this), then they could each access that media library?

Could I stream live TV this way too? Since it's going to be satellite-fed (expressvu), i assume i'd only get one feed at a time since it's only a single-tuner device.

Am I running down the correct path? Or is there a better/easier way?

Thanks - and again my apologies for what may be silly questions.. just starting to learn all this stuff!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 2012-01-02, 10:58 AM
Veteran

maybe try an hdhomerun?

http://digitalhome.ca/forum/showthre...60#post1368960

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 2012-01-02, 11:28 AM
Veteran

Any Hauppauge device (I think) is basically a tuner for a PC. The PC does the
work of recording the TV, storing it, and serving it to the clients.

You could "centrally" locate a PC with as many "tuners" as you need, or MCE can handle. For satellite though, that means more than one receiver, capture device, and IR blaster.

You would use an Xbox 360 or small HTPC as an extender from that.
You should be able to access live TV that way.