Laptop video displayed on CRT style tv? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 2011-12-23, 09:11 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 223
Laptop video displayed on CRT style tv?

Hey gang. Not even sure if this is possible.

A buddy of mine has a newer laptop with Win 7, but has the old box style tv.

He wants to get rid of cable and use the computer to push the video to the tv.

The computer has an HDMI port on it, and also has the usual VGA thing.

The tv had RCA, S Video and Component.

My first instinct is to assume that if there is some sort of HDMI or VGA to Svideo/component type a cable, some type of convertor box may be needed ?

I assume once I have everything hooked up it would merely be a matter of extending the display like i do now with dual monitors.

However, I am clueless as to the hardware needed to make the connection.

Can someone advise pieces needed ?

Thanks in advance

Tv is Samsung TXP2734


HP G60 laptop
Vid Card - NVIDIA GeForce 8200 M G
Driver Date - 23/07/2009
Driver Version - 8.15.11.8644
thebone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 2011-12-23, 10:52 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,333
I don't believe there are any legal HDMI to component converters. I believe there are VGA to Component video transcoders - it's usually not just an adaptor, but a transcoder since the signals must be changed (most TVs do not have built in transcoders).

A (good) transcoder may cost more than, or as much as, a new LCD HDTV. Look for the Boxing week sales and get an inexpensive HDTV would be my suggestion. Also a laptop displayed on an SDTV has extremely poor picture quality, verging on the unreadable/unwatchable.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 2011-12-23, 11:13 AM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
You can get VGA to Composite or S-Video type connectors at computer stores and maybe even the big box retailers for about $30 but I don't know how effective they are. This is one example.



hugh is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 2011-12-23, 01:02 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,131
HDMI to component adapters are available at ****price. There is nothing illegal about them unless they circumvent copy protection as defined under the DMRC or similar laws. Having said that, I recommend against it. CRT sets often don't work well with computers and component video. They have problems handling the timings and generally provide a poor picture. Composite or s-video will not work well either due to video smearing and low resolution. It will be better to purchase a cheap LCD TV than to spend money on other hardware that my not work well with this TV.

At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 2011-12-23, 01:35 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Abbotsford, BC
Posts: 116
I second what ScaryBob says.

I used an old TV with a DVI->video converter. Major problems including overscanning and in some cases problems with hue. The resolutions are not generally supported very well on the old CRT TVs either.

I never did get it working 100% right.

I was so happy when I got a new TV with hdmi inputs, it made life so much easier...
danomac is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 2011-12-23, 03:52 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,115
The TV has component so you can send 480p to the TV out of the VGA port. I agree that composite or s-video is troublesome and lacks quality but less so with YPbPr. Just make sure your video transcoder does convert to analog YPbPr and not digital YCbCr.
Jake is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 2011-12-23, 04:05 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,333
I searched the web for specs on this TV and all the sites I found indicate this is an SDTV with 480i display, not 480P. I also downloaded the OM. There were a number of these sorts of SDTVs that had component video for the DVD players of the time, but they were still 480i, not p.

As mentioned several times, this TV will simply not display the laptop images in an acceptable fashion.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 2011-12-23, 09:44 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,115
If the TV is in fact 480i then yes abandon all hope. Remember he wants to push video not the desktop.
Jake is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 2012-01-02, 04:10 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,254
If all he wants to do is watch videos, a VGA to Composite/S-video adapter like the one Hugh mentioned should be fine. The picture will be as good as connecting a DVD player to the same TV. Just make sure you use a 640x480 (or 720x480) resolution on the display (all video cards should support at least one of those). Use of a higher resolution may not work as well.

Overscan is an issue when using it as a monitor, but TV programs expect overscan and compensate for it.

I agree that it isn't acceptable for use as a computer monitor and an HDTV will give a much better picture.

Link to my TVFool results is in my profile Homepage URL. I suggest others do the same.
roger1818 is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 2012-01-02, 04:15 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,333
It'd be nice to hear back from the OP. So far the conversation has been one-way.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 2012-01-03, 04:33 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 223
Hi, sorry 57.

I have been relaying this info to him.

He is leaning toward purchasing a new set.
thebone is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 2012-01-26, 03:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 11
or buy a USB video card that has RCA out.
BinaryJay is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 2012-01-27, 05:00 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,254
^^^be careful with that one. Unless the mpeg decoding is done by the Video card, the USB bus won't have enough bandwidth to refresh the display fast enough, and most modern video cards don't have composite out anymore.

Link to my TVFool results is in my profile Homepage URL. I suggest others do the same.
roger1818 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome