Add Canadian Guide to US Media Center (Share GuideIDs) - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 2011-10-03, 03:29 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Milton, ON
Posts: 704
Add Canadian Guide to US Media Center (Share GuideIDs)

I've added a wiki post to the Windows Experts community with instructions on how to add Canadian guide listings to a US-configured media center.

http://experts.windows.com/w/experts_wiki/133.aspx

One of the challenges with this hack is in assembling and sharing Guide IDs for various regions across the country. I'd like to ask that as you set up your own systems, please share the Guide ID you use either by adding it to the wiki or by posting here.

Cheers,
Pete
pnear is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 2011-10-03, 04:17 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Whitby, ON
Posts: 274
Pete, I'll make sure to post my guide ID when I get home. I'm assuming the guide ID will be the same for Vista as Win7 as that is what is currently running on my HTPC. I do plan on swapping out several parts and reinstalling Win7 on my HTPC within the next weeks though; would you recommend using this method or your previous method?
NineBall is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 2011-10-03, 04:33 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Milton, ON
Posts: 704
If you're going to continue with a mix of cable & ATSC, the old method is probably easiest.
If you're going ATSC-only, the new US method is the best bet.
pnear is offline  
 
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 2011-10-08, 09:30 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,331
Thanks for writing this Peter. I have been meaning to do this for a couple of months but I still haven't gotten around to it.

To everyone reading this thread that uses WinMC - please post your Guide ID.
Wayne is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 2011-10-09, 01:15 AM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 702
Not using wm7 anymore, it didnt allow me to use Cable stb and satellite stb at the same time, now using media portal.

Guide Id's
Calgary bell 28528220
Calgary shaw digital 28520341

Hope these help someone.
ClgShaft is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 2011-11-14, 12:29 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,331
I finally got around to setting up my tuner (an HD-PVR) with MCE. Here is the info

Provider - Toronto (Scarborough), Rogers Cable Inc. (Digital)
ID: 28490385

Note that this will likely work for any Rogers customer in Ontario as I believe the channel lineups above channel 100 are pretty much the same. Or at least it will be close enough that you only require a wee bit of manual channel realignment.
Wayne is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 2011-11-17, 10:32 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,331
edit - It appears that Canadian guide data was successfully downloaded but you need third party tools to map the channels, at least that is my experience so far. See the next post for the required too.

I have tried this and I don't seem to be getting any Canadian channels in my guide. Is there a log I can check to see if I am getting any errors? Or should I try running the three commands in the Sched Task from a command prompt to see if it works?

Here is more info:

Objective:
Get guide data from Canadian channels into a "US" based Win7 MC system. I want the system to be US as that way you get all of the online featuers like Netflix, US networks, etc through MC (I use unblockus to get around the IP filtering). But I want to be able to record channels from Rogers digital cable such as Treehouse, Setanta sports, etc.

Initial State:
The system was setup as being US based with a Lewiston, NY zip code that allowed me to get guide info from pretty much all OTA channels available in the GTA. My PC has a Hauppage PVR150 card installed but this card was not initially setup in MC. I did have all guide data for OTA channels.

I downloaded the ATSCCanadaBeta and changed the Guide IDs - three places in CustomGuide.mxf and one place in ImportCANCustom.xml. I ran this.

I then went to MC and tried to do step 4. But I realized that I first needed to add in my PVR-150 tuner that is connected to the cable box. So I ran the setup for this tuner in MC and it added guide data and all of the channels for Time Warner Cable which is the right cable co for this zip code (I guess). I then tried to start remapping channels to Rogers' Cable channels. But the Canadian Channels don't seem to be in the guide. Note that there are now hundreds of channels in the guide but I am sure that the Canadian channels, like TSN, are not there. This was last night at 11pm so even if it takes a while to download guide data I should have it by now. I tried using GuideTool and it shows 11 lineups which seems to include all cable and satellite providers in the Western NY area. But there is no Canadian lineup shown nor no Canadian channels

Peter - any ideas on what to try now?

One other thing - would there be a way to delete the US cable channels as this sure clutters up the system, and it may cause confusion as some channels, like TCM may be slightly different in Canada vs the US?

edit - When I go into the Guide Data about screen I get three screens:
Screen 1
Niagara Falls, Time Warner Cable WNY Suburban (Digital)
ID: 28499563
TV Signal: Cable Set-Top Box

Screen 2
USA, Sky Angel
ID: 165425029
TV Signal: Cable Set-Top Box/Digital Antenna (ATSC)

Screen 3
Digital Terrestrial Lineup
ID: 189831480
TV Signal: Digital Antenna (ATSC)

edit 2: More info from Event Viewer / Applications and Services Local / Media Center. I think this is the initial try at get Rogers' guide data:

Log Name: Media Center
Source: MCUpdate
Date: 11/16/2011 10:36:55 PM
Event ID: 0
Task Category: None
Level: Information
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: DornochW7
Description:
10:27:14 PM - The Directory package is already up to date.
10:27:14 PM - Testing internet connection.
10:27:17 PM - Connection established.
10:27:44 PM - Retrieving EpgListings.
10:27:44 PM - Processing EpgListings.
10:27:44 PM - Retrieving EpgListing.enc.
10:27:50 PM - Extracting 28490385_ListingData.mxf.
10:27:52 PM - Processing 28490385_ListingData.mxf.
10:36:55 PM - Processing of EpgListings is complete.
10:36:55 PM - Update successful.
10:36:55 PM - Next update at 11/16/2011 11:36:55 PM.

Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="MCUpdate" />
<EventID Qualifiers="0">0</EventID>
<Level>4</Level>
<Task>0</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2011-11-17T03:36:55.000000000Z" />
<EventRecordID>5170</EventRecordID>
<Channel>Media Center</Channel>
<Computer>DornochW7</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>10:27:14 PM - The Directory package is already up to date.
10:27:14 PM - Testing internet connection.
10:27:17 PM - Connection established.
10:27:44 PM - Retrieving EpgListings.
10:27:44 PM - Processing EpgListings.
10:27:44 PM - Retrieving EpgListing.enc.
10:27:50 PM - Extracting 28490385_ListingData.mxf.
10:27:52 PM - Processing 28490385_ListingData.mxf.
10:36:55 PM - Processing of EpgListings is complete.
10:36:55 PM - Update successful.
10:36:55 PM - Next update at 11/16/2011 11:36:55 PM.
</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>
Wayne is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 2011-11-17, 11:39 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,331
Another update. I just found a MC Guide assistance tool called Guide Editor. It is available here http://experts.windows.com/cfs-file....or.2.1.0.2.zip

When I use that I can see Canadian channels listed. I have now figured out how to map the Canadian guide listings into the system using Guide Editor. But I still can't see how to do this just using the Media Center UI.
Wayne is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 2011-12-01, 04:59 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,331
Has anyone ever tried Big Screen EPG to facilitate channel mapping, etc? It looks like it could be useful to those of use using dual country Win7 MC systems.
Wayne is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 2011-12-02, 12:59 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Milton, ON
Posts: 704
Wayne, when you set up the digital cable that would have reset the guide database to New York only. You'll need to re-run the batch file to get the Canadian guide ID put back in.
pnear is offline  
post #11 of 22 (permalink) Old 2011-12-02, 01:03 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,331
That appears to be the case. Last night I looked at the system for the fist time in a week or so and I noticed that the guide data was from Time Warner cable so I am going to have to remap again. I am still not sure that the remapping can be done from within WMC - I think you still need a third party tool.
Wayne is offline  
post #12 of 22 (permalink) Old 2011-12-10, 11:05 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 134
I'm trying to do this exact thing only with Bell TV. The moment I set it up for Canada provider both my Netflix and Internet TV disappeared because the region code is set to canada in some xml somewhere.

You would think there should be an easier solution to this.

I also use unblockus and isn't it GREAT!
HiroPro is offline  
post #13 of 22 (permalink) Old 2011-12-12, 03:50 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,331
@HiroPro - If you want to retain all of the Internet TV stuff then you will have to rerun the setup and switch your country back to the US. You then have to run Peter's hack and remap the channels to their correct numbers. I am still in the process of figuring out how to do this and make it stick. You can likely use the Rogers cable Guide ID that I posted enough as that will get you all of the Canadian channels, at least all of the ones here in Toronto. You then have to manually remap each and every channel.
Wayne is offline  
post #14 of 22 (permalink) Old 2011-12-21, 06:42 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 134
Microsoft!!!!

Arghhh!!!!!

I've been trying to hack this for some days... LOL

I've figured out where in the registry it read the region info

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion \Media Center\Settings\MCE.GlobalSettings]

"systemGeoID"=dword:000000f4
"systemGeoISO2"="US"
"Version"="65537"
"systemLanguage"="eng"

It also stores it in a database/engine for this BS and it's called Catalina and Venice.

They use files named markup_ProviderMappings.config to store the location settings read from the keys above into that XML config file.

<!-- Netflix -->
<add key="746d4ccc-6ccf-4247-b843-e2c836bb3129" value="{e6f46126-f8a9-4a97-9159-b70b07890112}\{982ea9d3-915c-4713-a3c8-99a4688b7c59}" />
<add key="ServiceClassId:5" value="{e6f46126-f8a9-4a97-9159-b70b07890112}\{982ea9d3-915c-4713-a3c8-99a4688b7c59}" />

There is also a dat file called hdpc.dat

That dat file has hashes and Netflix API stuff.

Quote:
LoadFactorVersionComparerHashCodeProviderHashSizeKeysValues
System.Collections.IComparer$System.Collections.IHashCodePro viderýQ8?└
I also found this...

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion \Media Center\Settings\ProgramGuide]
"fAgreeEPGPrivacy"=dword:00000000
"fAgreeTOS"=dword:00000001
"fPrivacyLevel"=dword:00000002
"fDisableAutoFavorites"=dword:00000000
"strLocation"="h0h0h0" <-Interesting
"strCountryCode"="CA" <-Interesting
"strAgreedTOSVersion"="1.0"
"fUsageTracking"=dword:00000000
"Version"="65537"
"StickyFavorites"=dword:00000001

Both strLocation and strCountryCode are NULL on a working machine with no PVR configured.

Those DWORD keys with the word "Privacy" and "Tracking" are very VERY upsetting... it suggests MCE monitors your usage via the EPG and uses you as a Neilson family because those DWORDS set how it seems to upload user stats etc.

hmm...
HiroPro is offline  
post #15 of 22 (permalink) Old 2011-12-21, 08:29 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Nepean, ON
Posts: 373
@Hiro
Of course you're activity is being tracked but don't be upset, you agreed to it when you first set up WMC.

What is even more interesting is that the postal code given is the for letters addressed to Santa!!!

Srvr:ASUSF1A75-VPro,RadHD6000,A6-3670K,WD2TB,W7Ult
NPVR,5.1,2xHaup2250MC,ATI650,CM7777,WGHD8800,5clts

Last edited by OTAJuncqui; 2011-12-21 at 07:51 PM. Reason: Added Santa info
OTAJuncqui is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome