Flash-based stream w/ Squeezebox Radio? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 2010-01-10, 07:48 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,991
Flash-based stream w/ Squeezebox Radio?

Does anyone know if flash-based streams will play on a Logitech Squeezebox Radio?

I would like to buy one for my wife but if she can't listen to CFNY in Toronto it will lose much of the appeal for her.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by notsure; 2010-01-10 at 07:52 PM. Reason: Fixed typo in radio station call letters.
notsure is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 2010-01-10, 09:45 PM
apn
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 569
Not sure what aspects of Flash you're referring-to, but SB does not support Flash Audio, although I understand some stations transmit a Flash user-interface and standard audio stream.

Regardless, I grabbed my SB Duet Remote, searched out CFNY. The Duet quickly found, and is now happily playing 102.1 the EDGE Toronto aka CFNY.

BTW, the SB Radio is cute, but I assume that you know it's only half an SB Boom, right? You're giving up the 2nd (integrated) speaker for a 2.4" LCD screen, the only benefit of which is to display radio station/podcast logo's or album covers.
apn is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 2010-01-11, 06:53 AM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,991
Thank you sir.

Since it works on the Duet I'll assume it's going to work on the Radio.

I could not find any mention of support for Flash Audio so assumed it wouldn't support it and since I could only find a Flash Audio stream of the Edge I was a little worried.

I realise it's only one speaker but she's not really an audiophile, the music will only be on in the background/not very loud, it's going to be used in a med/smallish room and the display will allow her to monitor her facebook page (scary I know).

Cheers and thanks for the info!
notsure is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 2010-01-11, 07:31 AM
apn
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 569
No problem.

It was also playing on my Boom (i.e. 2-speaker Radio), so there will be no problems w/ the (1-speaker) Radio.

I can't be sure, but you might be confusing a flash player (or plugin) used to stream CFNY to your computer. Some stations use this approach to display advertising, but they're using standard audio streams for the sound. However, some apparently use actual Flash Audio too, and the latter is not supported on SB.

Generally speaking, most/all stations listed on radiotime http://radiotime.com/Index.aspx (>100K stations globally) will be fine for playing on SB.

Good Luck.
apn is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 2010-01-11, 09:02 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,991
Thumbs up

I also found this link which seems to be based on your link but with specific info for the Sqeezebox.

Thanks again, going to be placing my order soon.
notsure is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 2010-01-20, 05:56 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,991
Finally received the radio and everything works as advertised.

Got it connected wirelessly, did the firmware update and turned it over to my wife.

So far it's perfect for what she requires. The rechargeable battery pack and remote should make it even better once they are available.

I may just get another one to use as a clock/radio for the bedroom. The ambient noises would be the perfect "white noise" generators.
notsure is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 2010-01-20, 07:55 PM
apn
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 569
Congrats on your first of hopefully many Squeezeboxes

My 2nd Boom (received @ Christmas) is installed as a clock radio in the master bedroom. It works great (caution: no battery backup though) and I'm currently enjoying Radio Paradise as a sleep aid (via the sleep timer) and wake up.
apn is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 2010-01-21, 06:30 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 138
I've got a SqueezeBox Classic connected to my shelf system. I control it through squeezebox server. I'm thinking a SqueezeBox radio might be nice for the bedroom.
spec seven is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 2010-01-22, 06:09 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,991
I'm still impressed with the radio so far (even though technically it's not mine!).

We've only had it a few days but it's on it's second s/w update. I'm guessing the code isn't very mature yet (you have full access to it if you enable ssh) but it only takes a few minutes to update and you are back in business.

Maybe if I can find a red one I'll get another one and swap it with my wife's.
notsure is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 2015-01-26, 08:20 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
I've been listening to the edge 102.1 (CFNY) for years on my Logitech squeezebox. I have it set to one of the preset buttons. HOWEVER just this month, recently, the stream has stopped working... 404 Not Available. http://opml.radiotime.com/Tune.ashx?...partnerid=16&s
Tormen is offline  
Reply

Tags
squeezebox

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome