Windows 7 Media Center in Canada (ATSC, QAM, Logos) - Page 31 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 6Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #451 of 495 (permalink) Old 2016-03-13, 05:18 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 15
I don't see option for editing my previous post. Anyways it looks like my model is exactly the same as 1212 but I don't see that abbreviation anywhere on the box.

I am OK by having ability to record just one program at the time. We are not watching live TV ever - so that's fine. More troubling will be finding out if I will be able to record one program from Hauppauge and other from HDHomeRun at the same time since I did notice some conflicts in last 2 years using the Shaw's PVR (recording two programs that over lap).
darkesha is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 495 (permalink) Old 2016-03-14, 02:00 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 16,052
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkesha View Post
I don't understand - the 5Vdc should be same on way or the other. There should be nothing too smart with their own power supply ? My friend who borrowed me this box couldn't find the PS though.
What were you planning to use for a PS? I don't have this box so I don't know if it has a standard connector. A 5 volt 2 amp PS should work, by I don't know if the electronics on the PVR are especially sensitive to clean power.

I have a Hauppauge 2250 dual tuner internal card and have no trouble recording 2 programs at once with WMC in Windows 7 or 8.1. If I have a third program overlapping by a minute, WMC will delay the start of the third program until one of the previous programs finishes recording.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #453 of 495 (permalink) Old 2016-03-14, 04:11 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 15
I will have to source my basement power supply / cabling storage for a compatible connector + power. Then I will see if it works and how stable it is. I believe nothing should burn out since I wouldn't over voltage it but if things aren't stable I would suspect the power is first to blame. Connector is standard round one, but you know how there is bunch of different thickness ones - I will just have to find a right one.

All I want is to be able to get my wife functionality she is used to. As far as I am concerned the OTA recording and HDHomeRun is more than enough for our household.
darkesha is offline  
 
post #454 of 495 (permalink) Old 2016-03-14, 04:42 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 16,052
Guide Updates Stalled - Daylight Saving Time

NOTICE TO ALL MEDIA CENTER USERS

I noticed that the WMC guide has stopped updating. This happens every time we switch to or from DST. Don't waste time troubleshooting your system - the problem is at the Microsoft server. They usually fix this a few days before the guide data runs out.
Wheelman likes this.

Last edited by Dr.Dave; 2016-03-14 at 06:43 PM. Reason: Clarification
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #455 of 495 (permalink) Old 2016-03-14, 06:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 15
I struggled so much trying to get my WMC to keep updating (since my tuner wasn't compatible with digital OTA signal according to MS). It would work once I set it up but then it would download 2 weeks worth of EPG and never do it again. In two weeks I would have to blow the WMC out and set everything up again. Finally it worked when I modified host file (and who knows what else I did to get it to work).

I also had problem with WMC reverting back my strip setup. I had to disable folder's (where this data is held) write permissions to everybody including Admin. Now I can't really open it, but my customized menu strip looks the way I want it.
darkesha is offline  
post #456 of 495 (permalink) Old 2016-07-31, 02:51 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 16,052
I just wanted to let everyone know that Microsoft is having a widespread problem with their WMC guide data again and there is an existing feedback report on their connect site. My guide data stops at Aug. 8 at 7PM. I think you have to be logged in to their connect site to see the following link.

https://connect.microsoft.com/site11...etails/2987359
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #457 of 495 (permalink) Old 2016-08-03, 11:33 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 16,052
The guide is updating again. I now have data until Aug 15.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #458 of 495 (permalink) Old 2016-09-23, 01:22 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 16,052
Microsoft is having another problem with guide data - confirmed at https://connect.microsoft.com/site1145/Feedback. My guide stops at Thursday, Sept. 29.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #459 of 495 (permalink) Old 2016-09-24, 11:08 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 16,052
Guide data is working again.

I had done a bunch of checking when my guide wasn't updating because I had applied the Win 10 Anniversary Update and had used a backup program to transfer all my series recordings from Win 8.1 to Win 10. I thought I had screwed something up and it turned out it was all Microsoft's fault again.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #460 of 495 (permalink) Old 2017-03-13, 01:14 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Toronto
Posts: 88
Hey all, apologize if this is an oft asked question but I can't seem to zero in on the exact approach I should attempt.

After some antenna tweaking, WBXZ has become 24/7 reliable reception. Using the MC hack in this thread, all my channels are populated with guide data save for WBXZ and subs. Is there a magic bullet to get that guide data without losing others (postal code hacks, etc?)

I'm located in Toronto, and also get Batavia WPXJ 100% stable; I don't want to lose that data with a virtual move closer to where the WBXZ data comes in.

Thanks!


*EDIT*

2 more semi OT questions (sorry!)

CHCH has a psip mismatch which is breaking reception in MC. I can get it in WinTV though. Why? I thought that had something to do with the actual tuner? Is there a workaround for this? (I have also scanned in 15.3 which Tivo users manually add to make it work, I think), but no dice.

Also, it seems WNYB has dropped .3 and .4 subchannels? If so, why during a re-scan, do they not only come in, but also have guide data?
kidvegas is offline  
post #461 of 495 (permalink) Old 2019-12-29, 01:18 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 16,052
Microsoft is discontinuing guide data for WMC effective January 1

Plan for change: Windows Media Center Electronic Program Guide retiring in January 2020

"Starting in January 2020, Microsoft is retiring its Electronic Program Guide (EPG) service for all versions of Windows Media Center. To continue receiving TV Program Guide information on your Windows Media Center, you’ll need to configure an alternate TV listing provider."

Apparently Microsoft issued warnings starting in Sept., but I missed those since I'm running a modified version of WMC that works on Windows 10. The timing seems to coincide with end-of-life of Windows 7. Windows 8.1 extended support continues until 2023, but those people like myself that paid for Windows 8 Pro to get WMC support and guide data are partially out of luck. I guess Microsoft decided there weren't enough of us to continue maintaining the guide data servers.

I'd like to continue using WMC to record from my antenna, at least for the rest of the broadcast season. I might reevaluate over the summer, now that the attraction of the "free" guide data is gone and Windows 10 integration is a little tricky.

Possible solutions if anyone is interested:

1. EPG123 - The alternate TV program guide provider for WMC
Seems to be widely recommended. Program is free, but requests a donation. Uses Schedules Direct as a source of guide data, which costs $25 U.S./year. Schedules Direct is available for non-commercial software and licences the data form Gracenote (Zap2it.)

2. zap2xml is a command line script that connects to a Zap2it or TVGuide web page to scrape the listings. Program is free, but requests a donation. Data is free, but it's not as efficient as Schedules Direct and is not an authorized use of the web pages. I'm not sure how easily it integrates into WMC.
morningwood likes this.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #462 of 495 (permalink) Old 2019-12-29, 05:41 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,334
I switched from using WMC to SageTV about a dozen years ago as Sage supported HD tuners like the Hauppauge HD-PVR and WMC didn't for many years after that. I would suggest taking a look at SageTV. It become Open Source a few years ago and is still somewhat supported. And lots of people are selling used SageTV extenders or you can use AndroidTV devices like the Nvidia Shield as a client. With SageTV you use Schedules Direct as the source.
Wayne is offline  
post #463 of 495 (permalink) Old 2020-01-02, 11:03 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 826
NextPVR

A year ago I tried to Kodi with NextPVR but couldn't get it to work. Maybe I've been more motivated since the end of WMC. So far, NextPVR + Zap2xml has been a less functional, but satisfactory replacement. It works quite well without the Kodi or another fancy front end.

I think that the WMC hack I'm using has prevented any Win10 updates since my original install of v1703. Or, it could just be a problem with my Dell Studio XPS 8100. Anyways, the Creator's edition is past it's end-of-life support so I want to upgrade the OS which will probably kill the WMC hack.

It bothers me to scrape Zap2It for the EPG. But I am a cheap bastard. Normally, nextPVR updates the guide every night. I setup a separate task to run Zap2xml every 5 days to politely limit the number of requests. Hopefully the sudden influx of WMC orphans doesn't spur then to shutter their service.

Sony Bravia XBR 55X900F, Vizio SB3651, Dell Studio XPS 8100, AMD 5450, 2 Hauppauge HVR-2250, ASUS BC-12B1ST, Windows 10
Michael DeAbreu is offline  
post #464 of 495 (permalink) Old 2020-01-03, 12:19 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Montréal : Milton-Parc
Posts: 57
Dr. Dave, thanks for the update. I wouldn't have known otherwise. Bummer that they're ending the EPG, as I still really like being able to use WMC on my Windows 10.

I got my install setup from this great site and it's been working fine:

https://www.windowsmediacenter.fr/

It's a French site that has an automated English translation available, but since it's machine-translated it's often a little weird, so it's much better if you can read it in French.

One thing I'm not completely clear about is how to use EPG123. It's free, apparently, but relies on a paid subscription to Schedules Direct? How does that work?

http://epg123.garyan2.net/

In the meantime I'm relegated to using WMC like a VCR of old. I +Add Recording, then select Channel and Time. It does work, though. You just have to know when and on what channel your show is.
morningwood is offline  
post #465 of 495 (permalink) Old 2020-01-03, 10:00 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 16,052
I installed the latest Windows 10 release from Microsoft in a new partition and installed the V13 patches and listed workarounds a couple of days ago. WMC works as good as ever, just no guide info.

@morningwood Schedules Direct supplies guide data to dozens of free and open-source programs. The data is licensed from Tribune Media (aka Gracenote/Zap2it) and you set up an account directly with Schedules Direct. 7-day trial, 2 months for $6 or 1 year for $25. You can then use the data in any approved program including EPG123.

The developer (garyan2) of EPG123 also developed a Zap2XML interface, but decided not to release it on ethical grounds. He is, however, working on a generic XMTV program that can feed EPG123. Here are the latest comments.

https://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums...2391&start=220
Dr.Dave is offline  
Reply

Tags
wmc

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome