Windows 7 Media Center in Canada (ATSC, QAM, Logos) - Page 21 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 6Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #301 of 495 (permalink) Old 2012-10-10, 09:58 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 162
I just added CTV TWO at 42.1 in Media Center. But can't find the guide info for it. Can anyone tell me how to add the TV guide of CTV Two in Media Center? Thanks.

Marantz NR-1608, LG 55UB9500 4K LED 3D TV, JBL HLS820, Klipsch Quintet III, Monster Cable THX subwoofer.
lunear is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #302 of 495 (permalink) Old 2012-11-11, 06:56 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by lunear View Post
I just added CTV TWO at 42.1 in Media Center. But can't find the guide info for it. Can anyone tell me how to add the TV guide of CTV Two in Media Center? Thanks.
+1 on adding TV guide.
rmsingh is offline  
post #303 of 495 (permalink) Old 2012-11-16, 03:59 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmsingh View Post
+1 on adding TV guide.
I don't know what you meant. I tried to add guide in "edit channels", but can't find the channel name for CTV TWO in guides.

Marantz NR-1608, LG 55UB9500 4K LED 3D TV, JBL HLS820, Klipsch Quintet III, Monster Cable THX subwoofer.
lunear is offline  
 
post #304 of 495 (permalink) Old 2012-11-16, 09:46 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,130
Perhaps you need to change your guide? I used the code for my local analog cable company and mapped them to my digital OTA channels. The other option is to contact zap2it.com and ask them to add the channel to your current line-up. There is a submit link on their site somewhere.
j0dest3r is offline  
post #305 of 495 (permalink) Old 2012-11-17, 12:23 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 16,073
@lunear, I'm not familiar with the channels in southern Ontario, but it looks like 42.1 is a rebroadcast of CKVR. I took a look at Zap2it and CKVR shows up as 3.1.

Under "Edit Channels", click on 42.1 and "Edit Listings", choose CKVR and "Copy".

Edit: There seems to be some confusion if it's really 42.1 or 42.2 so if you didn't add the channel by doing a channel scan and you have problems, you should delete it and then choose "Scan for more channels".
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #306 of 495 (permalink) Old 2012-11-30, 12:39 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 162
I just upgraded to Windows 8 Pro with Media Center. Magically, Media Center Picked up channel 40.1 (OMNI-2) without problem Not sure if it's WIN8 or OMNI2 station fixed this problem. But finally the last problem of Media Center has gone.

Marantz NR-1608, LG 55UB9500 4K LED 3D TV, JBL HLS820, Klipsch Quintet III, Monster Cable THX subwoofer.
lunear is offline  
post #307 of 495 (permalink) Old 2013-01-02, 10:36 AM
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orleans, ON
Posts: 1,251
For Ottawa using the standard USA setup using zip code 13662 (Massena), I notice several channels guide info not being updated, even though the zap2it website shows information on these channels. I got reports from 2 other users that this is happening to them too. I use Windows 8 and a friend uses Windows 7 media center.

zap2it lists them as:
11.1 CHCHDT1
14.1 CJMTDT2
24.1 CICOD24
60.1 CFMTDT2
65.1 CITYDT3

the antenna catches the signal fine, this is just an issue with the guide info being empty for these channels.
flavoie is offline  
post #308 of 495 (permalink) Old 2013-01-05, 02:23 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Missing guide data

I'm also having missing guide data in the K-W/Guelph area. In my case, I'm missing CIII-DT 41.1 and 41.2. I think it has been a couple of weeks since it began showing "No Data Available". I'm using an American zip code for my ATSC tuner that contains guide data for the Canadian channels I receive. Anyone know what happened?
fengshui is offline  
post #309 of 495 (permalink) Old 2013-01-05, 02:45 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Nepean, ON
Posts: 373
It's a microsoft problem. The same issue affected UK users but it has been resolved. It had to do with MS taking over the listings from another company or MS's lease running out with that company. I don't think the same circumstances apply to Canada.
The EPG issue is that Canadian channel listings are not updating in US locations. They are updating for Can locations.
You might try a solution I offered here:
http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show...4&postcount=19

Or wait it out (or use another media center app)

Srvr:ASUSF1A75-VPro,RadHD6000,A6-3670K,WD2TB,W7Ult
NPVR,5.1,2xHaup2250MC,ATI650,CM7777,WGHD8800,5clts
OTAJuncqui is offline  
post #310 of 495 (permalink) Old 2013-01-05, 03:43 PM
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Russell, Ontario
Posts: 113
It isn't just Canadian channels that are not updating, for 13662 zip code for example CBS and PBS wnpi are not being updated, and some Canadian channels are being updated, CBC and all of the French channels are being updated.

CM4221HD + CM7777 Preamp
jihenry is offline  
post #311 of 495 (permalink) Old 2013-01-05, 04:34 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
I suppose I can wait it out to see if the situation changes. Not really keen on manually updating the guide. I'm currently using 14301 (Niagara Falls), but I was previously using 14172 I think. Both had the same problem. I've checked the complete guide listing and the only other channels without data are:

35.1 - CHCJ-DT
67.2,3,4 - WBBZ-DT
26.2 - WNYB-DT

So it's not just affecting some Canadian channels, but also some American sub-channels too. But I don't know what how long those channels have been without listings since I don't get those channels and don't include them in my list. Also, it appears that zap2it is still supplying the guide, so it doesn't sound like the same problem as in the UK.
fengshui is offline  
post #312 of 495 (permalink) Old 2013-02-06, 02:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by fengshui View Post
I'm also having missing guide data in the K-W/Guelph area. In my case, I'm missing CIII-DT 41.1 and 41.2. I think it has been a couple of weeks since it began showing "No Data Available". I'm using an American zip code for my ATSC tuner that contains guide data for the Canadian channels I receive. Anyone know what happened?
Has anyone got the guide working for Global (CIII-DT 41.1 and 41.2). This was updating fine untile several weeks ago, but now it shows no data available. I thought it might be a temporary glitch, but it has not resolved itself. Is there a way to manually import the guide for just these channels
aalim2 is offline  
post #313 of 495 (permalink) Old 2013-02-06, 02:40 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Milton, ON
Posts: 704
The EPG issue has been discussed in this thread: http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=158742

Long story short, I've updated the hack to help you work around it.
http://experts.windows.com/w/experts_wiki/133.aspx

-Pete
pnear is offline  
post #314 of 495 (permalink) Old 2013-02-07, 09:54 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 162
Pnear, I used your method, but still get no guide for Global (41.1). I am in Toronto.

Marantz NR-1608, LG 55UB9500 4K LED 3D TV, JBL HLS820, Klipsch Quintet III, Monster Cable THX subwoofer.
lunear is offline  
post #315 of 495 (permalink) Old 2013-02-11, 08:44 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by pnear View Post
The EPG issue has been discussed in this thread: http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=158742

Long story short, I've updated the hack to help you work around it.
http://experts.windows.com/w/experts_wiki/133.aspx

-Pete
Thanks Pete, I ran the new script and it worked beautifully.
aalim2 is offline  
Reply

Tags
wmc

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome