turning computer into media center - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 2009-04-05, 04:17 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 23
turning computer into media center

I have a computer with a hd graphic card and a harmony h659 remote. I just want to be able to change songs in my windows media playlist with my harmony remote. How do i do this ?
hookup11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 2009-04-05, 04:58 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Whitby
Posts: 2,815
You will need a USB IR-receiver and software so that your computer can receive the harmony's signals and translate that into computer commands.
I don't have any recommendations at the moment, never dealt with this kind of setup (most people just get an MCE remote, which includes the required hardware/software if applicable)
recneps77 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 2009-04-05, 07:11 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 23
what do i have to buy to make my xp desktop computer a media center, i have a surround sound card and a graphics card separate. Do i just purchase a program and the remote?
hookup11 is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 2009-04-05, 07:14 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Whitby
Posts: 2,815
It's probably easiest/cheapest to just get an MCE remote package.
Just search at any electronics/computer retailer for "MCE remote" and you should get lots of hits.
IR remotes are line of sight only, where as RF remotes give you more flexibility as they can go through objects (often more expensive, though)
recneps77 is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 2009-04-05, 08:53 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,334
It all depends on how you define Media Center. Most would also include a TV tuner in the mix so that you can also have TV on your PC. You can buy a TV tuner bundled with the MCE remote, and sometimes it is on sale for less than $50. If your PC is running Vista HP (or better) or XP MCE then you have the software that you need.

If you want to learn more about Media Center PCs, or Home Theatre PCs (HTPCs) check out my story posted in this thread.
Wayne is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 2009-04-06, 12:27 AM
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 273
what version of Windoze do you have - you may have Media Center capability already...

if not, you still have a few options...
KingBuzzo is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 2009-04-07, 10:22 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 23
i just have windows xp which i don't think has the media center on it.
hookup11 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome