In HD: Lost Season 5 Discussion - Page 4 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #46 of 276 (permalink) Old 2009-01-28, 11:02 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 89
Oh the rage the RAGE! I was so PO when it dropped... frantically checking the SD stations, too late.

I'm recording the western feed also.
disco277 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #47 of 276 (permalink) Old 2009-01-28, 11:16 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Brunswick - Shaw Direct
Posts: 3,150
Sorry I meant 'A', not CTV. I don't have HD so it doesn't really make a difference to me. Now I see where everyone is coming from. I actually forgot that CTV doesn't have it anymore, I was just so used to it airing there.

Where did the Global simsub cut in?
NB Josh is offline  
post #48 of 276 (permalink) Old 2009-01-28, 11:31 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Windsor, ON
Posts: 1,326
For us, Persona cut it right when Daniel untied Charlotte's hands, It's set to record at 12:00 for us from the Seattle feed. We get three "A" feeds in our timeshift package up here - Atlantic, Ottawa and Barrie. (3 of those and only one CBC, go figure. But that's for another thread. ) I'll probably set it on one of those for the rest of the season.
denben73 is online now  
 
post #49 of 276 (permalink) Old 2009-01-30, 07:34 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kanata, ON, Rogers Digital
Posts: 1,669
Mine cut out right after Locke tols Richard his birthdate. I recorded a west (SD *ARGH!*) feed to catch the rest.

I am ticked off with Rogers because of this. With the "inconsistent program titles" issue and, now, this, I want west-coast HD for free.
wprager is offline  
post #50 of 276 (permalink) Old 2009-01-30, 10:41 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Markham, ON
Posts: 317
For the second week in a row, I am experiencing picture/sound dropouts during certain scenes on Rogers HDABC channel. It appears to happen right at commercial breaks and and the 'LOST' title. Anything we can do other than recording the West Coast feed?
rvs007 is offline  
post #51 of 276 (permalink) Old 2009-02-04, 10:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rvs007 View Post
For the second week in a row, I am experiencing picture/sound dropouts during certain scenes on Rogers HDABC channel. It appears to happen right at commercial breaks and and the 'LOST' title. Anything we can do other than recording the West Coast feed?
I've had the same issue as you described.
However, I can live with that. What REALLY gets under my skin is that I set it to record to 10:05 since last week it didn't end at 10:00.
So this week I'm watching it, again recorded, and OF COURSE if FING stops at 10:00 again so I missed the end of the show 2 weeks in a row.
I didn't have this issue when it was played on CTV, (angry face)!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Silent_Sound is offline  
post #52 of 276 (permalink) Old 2009-02-05, 08:01 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Scarb
Posts: 2,782
Same thing happened to me. I set the recording to go to 10:05 and it stopped at 10:00. Lucky for me I recorded Life on Mars at 10 so I just started watching that recording to catch the end of Lost. I always record both east and west HD feeds of Lost, because I can never trust the east coast feed.

They'll probably reair this weeks episode next week, like they've been doing so far this season.
sleemo is offline  
post #53 of 276 (permalink) Old 2009-02-05, 04:23 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bolton, ON
Posts: 645
Did anyone else hear an issue with the audio in last night's episode? I recorded/watched the ABCHD (Seattle KOMO) airing and found that the centre channel was missing most of the treble or mixed improperly as the front left/right channels.

Just wondering if it was a network issue or a provider issue (Shaw).
mark is offline  
post #54 of 276 (permalink) Old 2009-02-05, 05:33 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,293
I noticed that the voices seemed to have too much bass with the Seattle HD feed as well. I could still hear OK, but it was just different from the other shows I was watching. Perhaps someone who watched the Eastern feed could chime in with their observations.

For those of you with simsub issues, I would phone your provider and complain. They shouldn't be cutting off the last 2 minutes of the previous show. If they can't delay the simsub time for 2 minutes, then they shouldn't be allowed to simsub that hour.
jumpy27 is offline  
post #55 of 276 (permalink) Old 2009-02-05, 06:15 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Yellowknife, NT
Posts: 706
Mark, I had the exact same thing on Bell Expressvu 9242 on the ABC East feed.

I even removed my Amp and Centre Channel to make sure the cat did not somehow dislodge the wires walking behind

I ended up watching the epsiode in 6 CH stereo to make it sound 1/2 decent.
mrhooie is offline  
post #56 of 276 (permalink) Old 2009-02-07, 12:53 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 218
thank god for bittorrent. i just downloaded the latest version to get the last 2 minutes.

i think we should put the pirates in charge of the tv stations - they actually give a **** about the shows and would put in the time necessary to make sure the guides are correct and shows are labelled properly and that there are no drop-outs etc. funny how the amateurs do a better job than the professionals.

john
urbanlegend is offline  
post #57 of 276 (permalink) Old 2009-02-07, 08:06 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary
Posts: 731
For amateurs - it's passion, for professionals - just another job.
753951 is online now  
post #58 of 276 (permalink) Old 2009-02-11, 08:03 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Burlington
Posts: 648
Check your PVR's!

Just checked my Bell PVR and it was set to skip Lost tonight because the guide data said the original air date was yesterday.
ryoung is offline  
post #59 of 276 (permalink) Old 2009-02-11, 09:05 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Grimsby, Ont.
Posts: 3,231
On my 9242, ABCEHD says 11-02-09 which is correct. However, ABCWHD says 10-02-09 which is wrong.

-Mike

Sony XBR65X930D | Denon AVR-X1300W | BELL Fibe | Panasonic DMP-UB900 4K | XBOX One X
scrooloose is offline  
post #60 of 276 (permalink) Old 2009-02-11, 09:09 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,927
My 9200 had the skip on ABCEHD. I was happy I saw it...
jayoldschool is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome