National Geographic HD and Showcase HD - Page 6 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #76 of 151 (permalink) Old 2007-01-02, 09:45 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 4,127
Has anyone noticed that both National Geographic HD and Showcase HD seem to have some audio distortion just after each commercial break.
bigoranget is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #77 of 151 (permalink) Old 2007-01-02, 10:35 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 89
I was disappointed in Blazing Saddles & Seven. I don't think they were HD, they weren't very sharp.
Haven't spent much time on National Geographic but Showcase is too pink/purple and the black level is off.
A&E had a rough HD startup too but looks ok now, I'm confident they'll get these looking better in a few weeks.
lasertoronto is offline  
post #78 of 151 (permalink) Old 2007-01-03, 11:01 AM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,197
Re: Audio distortion on NGHD.

I was watching an interesting show last night about the building of the new Airbus 380 on NG and as you said, when they resumed the programme after a commercial the sound distortion was intense. After four minutes of this, I switched to another channel.
I have Shaw Cable here in Burnaby and I see you live in Hamilton so I think the problem must be at the source.
MAXAM is offline  
 
post #79 of 151 (permalink) Old 2007-01-07, 07:34 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 366
i PVR'ed Insect Wars and finally got around to watching it. holy crap, it's interesting stuff... a platoon of 20 giant wasps taking out an entire colony of bees numbering in the thousands... a species of ant that survives by stealing larvae of another species of ant and making them slaves from birth... a rogue female queen ant wannabe that infiltrates a lair, kills the queen and takes the entire colony for her own... all in HD!

ironically, i watched this the same day i watched Ant Bully on HDDVD :P
riceman is offline  
post #80 of 151 (permalink) Old 2007-01-08, 09:58 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,109
I watched the Insect Wars too. It was fun. NatGeo has had a lot of other interesting HD programmes I've recorded and watched in the last couple of weeks.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #81 of 151 (permalink) Old 2007-01-08, 07:02 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 189
Are NG and Showtime on Bell ExpressVu? I can't seem to find them on my machine.
DigitalCanadian is offline  
post #82 of 151 (permalink) Old 2007-01-08, 07:26 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Woodstock, Ontario
Posts: 1,234
No they are not and many of us are lobbying to keep them off.
Lindsay649 is offline  
post #83 of 151 (permalink) Old 2007-01-08, 07:40 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 189
"keep them off" are you serious or was that a joke

Bell should offer those for no extra charge, no?

I want to see Weeds in HD and cool documentaries other than the DiscoveryHD offerings, why what's wrong with having these extra channels?
DigitalCanadian is offline  
post #84 of 151 (permalink) Old 2007-01-09, 06:24 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,210
HD changes at Videotron on February 7:

The present HD Extra package ($5.99) which includes FOXHD, TSNHD, RSNHD, CityHD, GlobalHD, will join a whole bunch of new Astral HD channels in the list of available HD channels (Canadian and US) and this will cost $2.99/month for all HD clients.

I will use my $3.00 saving towards getting a new package which will include National Geographic and DiscoveryHD for $3.99/month.

Yesterday's advice letter (received from Videotron) to all HD Extra package clients was so new that CSR was not aware that National Geographic is coming!

Samsung LN52B750, SVS PB12-ISD, Harmony One, HD-A1, BDP-1400, Oppo DV-970HD, Yamaha RX-V371
mfabien is offline  
post #85 of 151 (permalink) Old 2007-01-09, 09:27 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 24
I'm not sure Videotron's letter means they will offer the NG HD channel. Here's the wording

"We would like to remind you that the Discovery channel is also available in high definition. For as little as $3.99 more a month, you could take advantage of programming that deliveres big, with National Geographic documentaries and shows on various cultures, nature and the ideas that have shaped our past and those that will influence our future."

They mention NG documentaries on Discovery, not a National Geographic HD channel.
mvrana is offline  
post #86 of 151 (permalink) Old 2007-01-11, 11:12 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Rogers OTTAWA
Posts: 18
Nat Geo HD pic impressive!

When the channel first went to air it didn't have much HD content but lately their prime time schedule has been airing alot of HD. I checked out a doc. on extreme skiing in Alaska last night and was very impressed with the 1080i feed. Of all the HD feeds, I think it is 2nd only to HDNet.
Bruin4877 is offline  
post #87 of 151 (permalink) Old 2007-01-13, 01:41 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Just from watching NGHD it looks like this is either very good widescreen picture or very poor HD, either way it is much better then watching ScoreHD.
frankthetank is offline  
post #88 of 151 (permalink) Old 2007-01-14, 06:11 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,210
mvrana,

You are quite right. It is DiscoveryHD who on occasion will transmit NG documentaries. My hope has no foundation, I'm afraid.

Samsung LN52B750, SVS PB12-ISD, Harmony One, HD-A1, BDP-1400, Oppo DV-970HD, Yamaha RX-V371
mfabien is offline  
post #89 of 151 (permalink) Old 2007-01-14, 11:10 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,307
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lindsay649 View Post
No they are not and many of us are lobbying to keep them off.
So are you going to back up your claim or leave us in the dark or do I call BS?
HT gearhead is offline  
post #90 of 151 (permalink) Old 2007-01-14, 06:17 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 189
still no Showcase-HD or NatG-HD on Bell.

Do I even need to bother calling customer service, will they have an answer when they'll show up on Bell?
DigitalCanadian is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome