National Geographic HD and Showcase HD - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #61 of 151 (permalink) Old 2006-12-21, 04:17 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,331
Well that's better although I do get the CW lineup OTA from Buffalo which is preferrable as I can record it in HD on my HTPC.
Wayne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 151 (permalink) Old 2006-12-21, 08:23 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 37
man! when is it gonna come to Illico!

As someone else said, 75% of my TV watching is Showcase (or a showcase related channel)....cant wait!
GooseMan is offline  
post #63 of 151 (permalink) Old 2006-12-24, 08:16 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bowmanville
Posts: 4,049
I PVRed Caddyshack last night on Showcase HD. I haven't watched it yet but it is 16x9. Never seen it 16x9 on TV before.
otown47 is online now  
 
post #64 of 151 (permalink) Old 2006-12-24, 08:55 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 410
I watched a little part of it last night.To me it did not look hd.
digihd is offline  
post #65 of 151 (permalink) Old 2006-12-24, 11:44 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,307
Still nothing here on Bell. That's a switch. Because of the CRTC's boneheaded policy about only 5% original HD content I'm concerned that we will end up with more faux HD channels like the original Discovery HD before they went full time.
HT gearhead is offline  
post #66 of 151 (permalink) Old 2006-12-24, 11:48 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Carleton Place, Ontario, Rogers Cable
Posts: 1,748
... and the sound was in "centerized 3.1".

SA9865HD; Panasonic TH-50PZ850; Denon AVR-X4000; Tannoy: Arden, S8C, S8LR; SVS 16-46PC+; Oppo 971; Harmony 659/680
jlet is offline  
post #67 of 151 (permalink) Old 2006-12-24, 12:10 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,995
No no no. The CRTC says that the HD version of the SD channel must have 95% of the same programming as the SD version. There is no 5% HD limit.
TJ77 is offline  
post #68 of 151 (permalink) Old 2006-12-24, 09:25 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 4,128
National Geographic has quite a bit of HD content (way more then the Discovery Pretend HD we had before). I'd say about 50% of the programming is HD (possibly more).

Showcase on the other hand has far less. Most HD programming is in primetime only but again it has way more HD then the original Discovery HD.

I'm looking forward to the next wave of channels from Alliance Atlantis.
bigoranget is online now  
post #69 of 151 (permalink) Old 2006-12-25, 02:10 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Calgary, Shaw Digital HD Plus, 3416 & Expander
Posts: 6,315
Quote:
I haven't watched it yet but it is 16x9. Never seen it 16x9 on TV before.
What does this mean?
JesseJ is offline  
post #70 of 151 (permalink) Old 2006-12-26, 11:02 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,112
Just to check I recorded 6' Under the other night. It was windowboxed instead of filling the screen...

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #71 of 151 (permalink) Old 2006-12-26, 12:48 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 4,128
I was pleasently surprised to see "A Time to Kill" in HD. I wonder if "The Client" and "The Pelican Brief" will be in HD as well too.
bigoranget is online now  
post #72 of 151 (permalink) Old 2006-12-26, 01:27 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Woodstock, ON (Rogers IPTV, LG OLED55C7P))
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigoranget View Post
I was pleasently surprised to see "A Time to Kill" in HD. I wonder if "The Client" and "The Pelican Brief" will be in HD as well too.
No such luck. What a waste!
new2digital is offline  
post #73 of 151 (permalink) Old 2006-12-30, 11:51 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Calgary, Shaw Digital HD Plus, 3416 & Expander
Posts: 6,315
Don't know if Blazing Saddles is in HD, but man-o-man it sure looks good. It looks like the remastered version I have on DVD, just alot better. No artifacts or dust or dirt or anything. Great movie too.
JesseJ is offline  
post #74 of 151 (permalink) Old 2006-12-31, 01:11 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Calgary, Shaw Digital HD Plus, 3416 & Expander
Posts: 6,315
SE7EN is also in HD. Very Cool.
Both movies are presented in 16x9. They are 2.35 on DVD.
JesseJ is offline  
post #75 of 151 (permalink) Old 2006-12-31, 02:45 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 366
is it just me or are the black levels on Showcase HD waaaaay to light? i mean it's not a few programs here and there, but it's pretty much all the time. i have to set my tv's brightness almost max left to compensate.

Seven's broadcast was good, but by no means excelent. better than HDnet movies but not close to TMN.

i put the SD DVD in to compare, and i must say, that Seven's Platinum Series DVD is very very nice.
riceman is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome