Official A&E HD Programming and PQ Discussion Thread - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 212 (permalink) Old 2006-09-01, 11:39 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Oakville, Cogeco
Posts: 3,210
A&E HD? With only 65% HD programming, and eventually only 80 or 90%. Thanks Cogeco for hustling to get SUNTV HD on before all the HD channels people actually want.
asif9t9 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 212 (permalink) Old 2006-09-02, 12:19 AM
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,275
A&E HD is in test mode only. They do not start broadcasting officially until September 4th. Maybe a schedule will be available at that time.

WOW TV is here! NTSC RIP!
Shaw Direct/Bell TV/Telus Optik
HiDefBob is offline  
post #18 of 212 (permalink) Old 2006-09-02, 08:30 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bowmanville
Posts: 4,044
Really crappy PQ this morning. Is there actual HD programming or is it all upconverted?
otown47 is offline  
 
post #19 of 212 (permalink) Old 2006-09-02, 08:37 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincoln.NB Pop 492,823
Posts: 6,434
Is it just in NB or does the sound seem to be delayed quite a bit? It almost looks like we are watching an old translated martial arts movie.

Home Theatre: Yamaha HTR-6190, Klipsch Speakers, SANYO PLV-Z4, TOSHIBA HDDVD, LG BD555C, Cerwin Vega HTS12 Sub, VIP2300, XBox 360, HTPC.
Danster is offline  
post #20 of 212 (permalink) Old 2006-09-02, 10:19 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,076
I also saw the sound out of synch by quite a bit. I also saw that they were sending improperly encoded DD5.1 sound, but mostly I just saw commercials when I surfed by. I'll have to record a programme so that I can comment further.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #21 of 212 (permalink) Old 2006-09-02, 11:18 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Stittsville, Ont.
Posts: 18
Holy Logo

Man that has to be the biggest logo I've ever seen. Even bigger that Discovery HD.
mcolterm is offline  
post #22 of 212 (permalink) Old 2006-09-02, 11:35 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Prince Edward County
Posts: 264
Yep, noticed a slight delay in audio when watching + agree these guys should get a prize for the largest logo! (I sure hope they downsize it).
pshine is offline  
post #23 of 212 (permalink) Old 2006-09-02, 11:51 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bowmanville
Posts: 4,044
So has there been any HD yet...or will there be?
otown47 is offline  
post #24 of 212 (permalink) Old 2006-09-02, 11:51 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,076
I see they're airing the movie Flight 93 in HD later this week. I went on IMDb because I thought this was just out in the cinema, but that was United 93...

http://www.imdb.com/find?s=all&q=flight+93

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #25 of 212 (permalink) Old 2006-09-02, 02:38 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Waterloo On
Posts: 39
Just switched to A&E HD Ch533 on Rogers,stretched picture and the audio is dropping in and out causing my 3806 to go crazy!!

Deltafin
deltafin is offline  
post #26 of 212 (permalink) Old 2006-09-02, 06:03 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo, Rogers
Posts: 536
Quote:
Originally Posted by deltafin View Post
the audio is dropping in and out
hmm, I've seen a few posts about poor audio but I've been suffering from major macroblocking rendering this channel unwatchable. I've tried several times since this channel came up and it is always bad for me.

Like deltafin, I'm in Waterloo so I wonder if it's just me with the poor video? My signal strength is +9.
JoeSoap is offline  
post #27 of 212 (permalink) Old 2006-09-02, 06:17 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 26
FYI, A&E in HD on Rogers Cable is part of the Specialty Package that you pay $5.95 more for.
And it will air 65% of The same programming as A&E Standard Def. Will.

And no plans for it to be avail. in Newfoundland anytime soon!!

Still working on a clever signature!!!
Sweet is offline  
post #28 of 212 (permalink) Old 2006-09-02, 08:15 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Moncton, New Brunswick :: Bell Aliant FibreOP TV
Posts: 699
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeSoap View Post
hmm, I've seen a few posts about poor audio but I've been suffering from major macroblocking rendering this channel unwatchable. I've tried several times since this channel came up and it is always bad for me.

Like deltafin, I'm in Waterloo so I wonder if it's just me with the poor video? My signal strength is +9.
Bear in mind this channel doesn't officially launch until Monday.

...so it could go poof ... all cleared up lol.

Last edited by Kloraff; 2006-09-02 at 08:22 PM.
Kloraff is offline  
post #29 of 212 (permalink) Old 2006-09-02, 08:37 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by tijean66 View Post
Equator ? Rush ? Oasis ? Treasure ? Who really watched these boring channels ???
HD showdown maybe but so damn boring.

Where is SPACE ??

A&E must be a joke, not HD but a SD feed and it's stretch, beurk !
From what I can see, I think that A&E HD is a mix of HD&stretched SD. This is especially noticable in the comercials. I guess they thought it would look better then flipping back and forth. I guess time will tell if people like it or not.

Glenn
FuzzyQball is offline  
post #30 of 212 (permalink) Old 2006-09-02, 08:40 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by scrooloose View Post
Well, there is no 'SPACE' HD channel yet! I'd like to see one too but it doesn't exist.

At least give A&E HD a chance to fail before you declare it a joke. It's only been one day.

I for one am happy Bell is providing all the HD channels available, even if I don't watch them all. I like the choice.

-Mike
I am not so sure about the others, but I think I will be watching a bit of A&E HD!

Glenn
FuzzyQball is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome