Help! Need TV guide!! - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 5Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 109 (permalink) Old 2015-05-23, 01:28 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,025
Help! Need TV guide!!

I hope this is the right place to put this it's about finding shows.

Zap2it is broken their search doesn't work for a couple of weeks now. I mean their classic view their new view has search but it lists things all confusing, like the next two eps of Game of Thrones are listed backwards with the second one first.

I looked for other Cdn listings on newspaper websites and there the same Zap2it or another one that doesnt even say which ep is airing just "Game of Thrones" and something about winter and Westeros. Well we knew that for five years!

Please does any body know of a good listing??
Bayguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 109 (permalink) Old 2015-05-23, 02:15 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 432
Smile Vancouver Sun TV Listings

We use the zap2it Classic version. I noticed that the search box doesn't work. It has always been flaky.

I logged on and looked at the HBO-only listing, found "Game of Thrones" and clicked on the show. That method of search was successful and listed showings in correct chronological order.

Maybe the problem is that I removed FLASH from my computer, but I don't think it likely.

Use the Vancouver Sun newspaper's TV listings for Shaw Direct using Vancouver postal code V6C 1T2

http://www.vancouversun.com/entertai....html#f=search
RuralRouter is offline  
post #3 of 109 (permalink) Old 2015-05-23, 02:38 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,025
Hi, RR, oh hey thanks for the tip. Yes I see what you mean if you click on the show name you get the old style times. Well it still means you have to find the show in the first place but at least then you can see the other times. Thank you!!

As for the Vancouver Sun thats the one I found that doesn't show any ep names! Grrrrr!!
Bayguy is offline  
 
post #4 of 109 (permalink) Old 2015-05-23, 03:47 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 14,630
I noticed that the Zap2it search was broken on the classic view about a week ago, but the new view works.
Quote:
their new view has search but it lists things all confusing, like the next two eps of Game of Thrones are listed backwards with the second one first.
The new view lists the dates for each episode. Once you realize that, it works OK. If you want to find the oldest episode, you have to start reading at the bottom.

Here are a few other guide suggestions:

1. http://www.canada.com/entertainment/...ex.html#f=grid (same as Van. Sun) (guide data by tvmedia.ca)

2. http://www.tvpassport.com (guide data by tvmedia.ca) (old-style interface)

3. http://www.msn.com/en-ca/tv/tv-listings (uses Rovi guide data)

4. http://www.tvguide.com/listings/ (you have to change provider and choose "outside the U.S.")

5. http://titantv.com (U.S. listings, but can be customized for Canada IIRC)
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #5 of 109 (permalink) Old 2015-05-23, 03:54 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 432
It is unfortunate that "Game of Thrones" is not listed as one of Ross' premium movie picks that usually show episode names and dates.

Does HBO Canada and HBO USA have the same sked?

Try Xfinity TV Listings:
http://tvgo.xfinity.com/watch/Game-o...39104573745112
RuralRouter is offline  
post #6 of 109 (permalink) Old 2015-05-23, 04:36 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,025
Thanks Dr. Dave yeah I guess i could read backwards but also they don't even give the channel numbers! I remember one HBO but sometimes we have to watch another HBO later. I kinda looked at the others but couldn't find Shaw on all of them or even Canada, and MSN didn't even say when GOT was on or what station. Gosh how can this be so hard for them to get right???
Bayguy is offline  
post #7 of 109 (permalink) Old 2015-05-23, 04:37 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,025
US and Cdn are sort of the same sked but not entirely, also we don't just want to find GOT we want other shows. I guess we'll just find the show in the listings and click on it to see all the times it will be on. I wonder whetehr Click TV will ever put back the search.
Bayguy is offline  
post #8 of 109 (permalink) Old 2015-05-23, 06:36 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 14,630
I just sent Zap2it an email using the "Help" button on the web site which links to: mailto:[email protected]?subject=Zap2it Classic Grid.

Hopefully that will get someone's attention after the long weekend. I saw some posts on their Facebook page about the search being broken, but I don't know if they read those or not.

All the links have Canadian listings, except TitanTV, which requires that you add Canadian stations by call sign (that was about 5 years ago when I last played with it.)

I just noticed that TVGuide only lists providers where they have a contract for their STBs, so they have Shaw Cable, but not Shaw Satellite.

MSN shows the next airing "Next episode airs May 24 at 12:00 AM on HBO Canada HDTV (West)" and if you click on Seasons & Episodes, it will show one airing for each episode, but not each repeat airing, which is probably what you are looking for. It shows the channel name, but not the number.

So far I haven't found a better online guide, so I'll just stick with Zap2it Classic and work around the search problem until they fix it.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #9 of 109 (permalink) Old 2015-05-23, 07:38 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,025
Thank you Dr. Dave we wrote to them I hope they fix it soon.

Please everybody who uses Zap2It write to them with the email Dr. Dave posted!
Bayguy is offline  
post #10 of 109 (permalink) Old 2015-05-24, 08:33 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Thornhill
Posts: 1,021
I do not know what classic view vs new view is, but I have been using Zap2it for a few years and adapt to each of their changes.

After logging on and selecting TV Listings, there is magnifying glass icon at the top right. Clicking it brings up a search box. Type Game of Thrones, select "See upcoming episode list" to get the info. The screen presented had four tabs: All, Free, New, and Upcoming.

"All" shows everything for the selected season in episode sequence, and the latest episodes that do not yet have a broadcast date are shown with today's date. This is misleading until you understand that this is what is done.

Badguy: is this what you see or am I missing something?
Bplayer is offline  
post #11 of 109 (permalink) Old 2015-05-24, 08:52 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 432
Red face Moving from "Classic" to "New"

We have our doubts about the publishers of "Classic" zap2it fixing it. We suspect that their coding efforts will be on discovering and fixing bugs in the latest "New" version of zap2it.

I decided to transfer my "favorites" on Classic to the "New" version.

It must be noted that Shaw Direct, for some strange reason, maps the same channel with two different channel numbers – by example: WDIV Digital is listed as channel 320 and 558. Selecting either channel number on the TV will provide the same content, WDIV.

Anyway, I clicked on the "New" zap2it little cog icon to "Set My Preferences". The standard (as far as I was concerned) 300 series was not on the "Available" list. A 500 series replaces the 300 series for most channels.

I went back to "Classic" and graphic snipped the list of favorites into single file and printed it. I then went to zap2it "New" and manually searched the "available" list column for the names of channels and moved them to "favorites" column.

I was so surprised when I got out of "Set Preferences" to see on the normal channel listings webpage that all of the duplicate 500 series were converted to the standard 300 series. Weird, but I'm glad that the listings page uses the 300 series!

We will see how the "New" zap2it works out.
RuralRouter is offline  
post #12 of 109 (permalink) Old 2015-05-24, 10:48 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 432
The "New" zap2it after doing a search on a single episode will show future times and channel names, but NOT channel numbers.

That is a bummer since I long ago made an Excel workbook with macros that use channel numbers to add channel names with the numbers. Hard to explain, but it would be easier in my case to have both channel names and channel numbers associated with episodes listed in a search.
RuralRouter is offline  
post #13 of 109 (permalink) Old 2015-05-24, 10:52 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 432
Bplayer, there is an link on the "New" zap2it to the "Classic" version. It is located on the second row down from top on the right side of the page. The name of the link is "SWITCH TO CLASSIC VIEW".
RuralRouter is offline  
post #14 of 109 (permalink) Old 2015-05-24, 11:16 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 14,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bplayer View Post
I do not know what classic view vs new view is, but I have been using Zap2it for a few years and adapt to each of their changes.
The "new view" was introduced in April 2014 with a tablet-friendly layout. After a lot of negative feedback, Zap2it brought back the old layout as an option and called it "classic view". See the following thread for more info.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show....php?p=2081122
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #15 of 109 (permalink) Old 2015-05-24, 12:28 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,025
Hi Bplayer yes I guess once you get used to the listings being backwards it isn't too bad, but they dont have channel numbers. Also if you want to know which ones are new it used to say NEW in the list now you have to click on the New and then it only gives the first new showing anywhere in the country. Like on Shaw Direct we get HBO Canada East and West and it doesn't give the time for HBO West even though its new there too.

p.s. maybe some people think I'm a badguy but mostly I'm a Bayguy b'cuz of where we live.
Bayguy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome