Conan to air on TBS in November - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #31 of 83 (permalink) Old 2010-04-16, 04:15 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 5,036
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoothfonzo View Post
We used to get WTBS until a few years ago, when they decided to rebrand the cable version of TBS to PeachtreeTV. I think that's what happened. And in the process it lost much of the TBS programming.
Peachtree is the local Atlanta OTA station, and "TBS" is now an American cable network. We unfortunately only get "Peachtree" through most if not all providers in Canada.

Roof-top mounted Antennas Direct DB8e & C5, Channel Master 7777 preamp, Siemens surge protection. TiVo Roamio DVR
Jase88 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 83 (permalink) Old 2010-04-16, 07:51 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sudbury, Ontario
Posts: 253
Yeah, how unfortunate. And according to Wikipedia:

Quote:
Peachtree TV says it has no plans to broadcast the new Conan O'Brien program scheduled to debut on TBS in November 2010, meaning the series will not air in Canada, where O'Brien has a following, unless another channel picks it up.
Smoothfonzo is offline  
post #33 of 83 (permalink) Old 2010-04-17, 02:18 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,152
What about getting a satellite dish?
HDTV101 is offline  
 
post #34 of 83 (permalink) Old 2010-04-17, 02:32 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,605
Is TBS available FTA? If not, a satellite dish won't do you any good.

Hold on a second. What if my channel carried the show?

Excuse me while I attempt something completely insane.
Francois Caron is offline  
post #35 of 83 (permalink) Old 2010-04-17, 07:17 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,152
It's on FTA in the Philippines ...

http://wapedia.mobi/en/TBS_(TV_network)

HDTV101 is offline  
post #36 of 83 (permalink) Old 2010-04-17, 09:52 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Calgary, Shaw Digital HD Plus, 3416 & Expander
Posts: 6,315
I still think the original licence for TBS Superstation should have superseded the Peachtree transition, and we should still get TBS instead.

I'm really sick of Canadian TV
JesseJ is offline  
post #37 of 83 (permalink) Old 2010-04-17, 12:23 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Nova Scotia *Eastlink HD DVR (Motorola 6416 III)
Posts: 938
The reason we had WTBS (now PeachtreeTV) before was because you don't require CRTC authorization to carry a US OTA station, the same can't be said for TBS the cable network, which would be blocked because it is too much of a competition (same deal with USA network)

RCA 26" HDTV - (ATSC/QAM Tuner) - 720p/1080i
leaffan1967 is offline  
post #38 of 83 (permalink) Old 2010-04-17, 02:13 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Calgary, Shaw Digital HD Plus, 3416 & Expander
Posts: 6,315
You are incorrect. CRTC must approve all channels. Thats why we have Spokane and Seattle in the Mountain time zone, and not reasonable stations like Denver or Salt Lake.
JesseJ is offline  
post #39 of 83 (permalink) Old 2010-04-17, 02:24 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Calgary, Shaw Digital HD Plus, 3416 & Expander
Posts: 6,315
the CRTC site is down

this was google cached
http://74.125.155.132/search?q=cache...&hl=en&ct=clnk

Quote:
Turner stated that the change would be a "mere renaming of the existing television station that will not have any impact on the nature of the service, or the technical characteristics of the WTBS signal" and suggested that the Commission may wish to note the change when it next revises its lists of eligible satellite services (the Lists). Turner noted that it would "advise the Commission as soon as this change has officially occurred."
Obviously that is incorrect. They have a total different scope in programming.
JesseJ is offline  
post #40 of 83 (permalink) Old 2010-04-20, 01:45 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sudbury, Ontario
Posts: 253
I don't remember, but did WTBS ever have the same programming as TBS? Cause all I remember is that it was a much better channel than Peachtree is now.
Smoothfonzo is offline  
post #41 of 83 (permalink) Old 2010-04-20, 03:16 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: West
Posts: 510
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoothfonzo View Post
I don't remember, but did WTBS ever have the same programming as TBS? Cause all I remember is that it was a much better channel than Peachtree is now.
yeah I agree with you. What exactly was the difference between WTBS and TBS?
Were/are both channels available in Atlanta?
CastleRockDays is offline  
post #42 of 83 (permalink) Old 2010-04-20, 09:17 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 689
Only difference was the commercials...Atlanta vs national.
kirjtc2 is offline  
post #43 of 83 (permalink) Old 2010-04-22, 12:27 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Brunswick - Shaw Direct
Posts: 3,150
There was one other minor difference, WTBS aired E/I programming on Sunday mornings because OTA stations have to, TBS didn't I don't think. WTBS also aired a couple local shows that didn't air on TBS. Otherwise the programming was identical.
NB Josh is offline  
post #44 of 83 (permalink) Old 2010-05-28, 05:31 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 5
Smile CTV to Air the Conan O'Brien show:)

TORONTO — Conan O'Brien's new show has found a Canadian home.

A source tells The Canadian Press that the comedian's upcoming late-night program will air on CTV.

The show will originate from U.S. network TBS.

O'Brien hosted NBC's "Tonight" show for six months but left the network after he was asked to move his time slot to accommodate Jay Leno.

The new show will air four nights a week.

CTV is scheduled to reveal its fall lineup next week.
JustMoi is offline  
post #45 of 83 (permalink) Old 2010-10-06, 08:16 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 5,408
Promo for show
DSgamby is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome