TCM HD Blackout - Page 6 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #76 of 91 (permalink) Old 2013-02-27, 06:02 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,109
Interesting as this argument is, it should be in the other thread if you wish to continue it, link below. Let's get back to the topic of blackouts, which is what this thread is supposed to be about.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=125622

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #77 of 91 (permalink) Old 2013-06-29, 07:26 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 114
Thumbs down

We finally get TCM HD on Shaw Direct and many of the good movies are been Blacked out on the HD version,but ok to watch on the standard definition channel of TCM.
There not true HD,but only up converted by TCM.
So why would Shaw Direct or TCM black them out if they have not been remastered to true HD?
Really disappointed with this whole saga.
Romany is offline  
post #78 of 91 (permalink) Old 2013-06-30, 02:03 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 988
TCM doesn't like to publicly admit their movies are not true HD and prefer to have people believe they really are. So the Canadian holders of the HD rights to certain movies still insist TCM blacks them out. They're blacked out on all Canadian providers.

You're right, technically they probably shouldn't be blacking them out because they're not true HD, but TCM and Canadian rights holders don't care what we think.
VuMax is offline  
 
post #79 of 91 (permalink) Old 2013-06-30, 03:48 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,334
The movies on TCM SD is a feed specifically for Canada and when a blackout occurs on the HD channel it's a different movie airing that doesn't have Canadian rights. The HD feed is the U.S. feed, why they don't provide a Canadian HD feed is likely due to cost maybe so I guess it's easier to just black it out than substitute it for another movie that has Canadian rights.
thenewdc is offline  
post #80 of 91 (permalink) Old 2013-06-30, 08:44 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Minot, North Dakota
Posts: 1,598
Are you sure the feeds are different? Whenever I see the blackout message it prompts me to go to the SD channel to watch the same movie that is not blacked out.
Blackloz is offline  
post #81 of 91 (permalink) Old 2013-06-30, 09:00 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,000
This issue is $$$ TCM doesn't want to pay for the HD rights to certain movies to other Canadian holders to which they don't have the rights to ion Canada PLAN & SIMPLE.

Its not just on SD that there blacked out. Bell FIBE & TV, Rogers and the others have it Black out as well. So if you really want to see the movie watch it in SD? If not OH Well you SOL.

1,2,3 Come Party With Me 3,4,5 Kept The Spirit Alive 1,2,3 I'm Feeling So Free 3,4,5 Keep The Party Alive
MCIBUS is offline  
post #82 of 91 (permalink) Old 2013-07-01, 02:39 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,334
I have access to the U.S. feed through slingbox. When their is a blackout on the HD channel the SD Canadian feed is airing a different movie than what's on the U.S. SD feed. The HD feed is the American feed being blacked out because they don't provide a Canadian HD feed with a different movie on it. This could change at some point
thenewdc is offline  
post #83 of 91 (permalink) Old 2013-08-15, 05:50 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Marystown, NL
Posts: 580
TCM Blackout in Effect

Movies are being blacked out on TCM HD but not on the TCM SD channel, during these blackouts the words "Blackout in Effect" appear in the guide.

Anyone know why that is?

Last edited by 57; 2013-08-15 at 08:15 PM. Reason: Moved to Existing Thread
Doppelganger399 is offline  
post #84 of 91 (permalink) Old 2013-08-15, 06:08 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: halifax,nova scotia
Posts: 117
some TCM programs are not licenced for distribution in Canada thus the blackout on HD; SD is licenced thus the program is shown on those channels in Canada.

commish
COMMISH is offline  
post #85 of 91 (permalink) Old 2013-08-15, 06:11 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Marystown, NL
Posts: 580
OK thanks.
Doppelganger399 is offline  
post #86 of 91 (permalink) Old 2013-08-15, 06:11 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia(Maestro whole home PVR with two terminals)
Posts: 946
This happens quite frequently, and is a rights issue, where TCM does not have the rights to carry the HD movie in Canada. My understanding is that the TCM SD is a feed designed for Canadian audiences, with alternative programming airing instead of the movie for which there are no Canadian rights. The HD version is strictly a US based feed, hence it is necessary to black out any programming that does not have rights to be carried in Canada
David1953 is offline  
post #87 of 91 (permalink) Old 2013-11-11, 06:17 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 195
Local Blackout in Effect

Last week I attempted to record several movies on Channel 1248 - TCMHD.
Two of them recorded the full time a blue screen saying "Local Blackout in Effect". Others recorded just fine.

The two that screwed up were:
An American in Paris on Monday, 4 Nov 7:00 pm
The Last Time I Saw Paris Sunday, 3 Nov 11:00 am.

Does anyone know why this would happen?

Dave S.
dschell_2000 is offline  
post #88 of 91 (permalink) Old 2013-11-11, 07:03 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,109
Your post was moved to this existing thread on the topic. Check out earlier posts.

On Rogers these programmes where TCM doesn't have HD rights for Canada show up as "Blackouts".

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #89 of 91 (permalink) Old 2013-11-11, 07:31 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 195
Thanks, 57. I had no idea that this was not an MTS problem.

If the law requires that a given movie be blacked out, then it should be marked as such in the guide. Then a person could actually program their PVR to record something else (such as the same movie on an SD channel).

Dave S.
dschell_2000 is offline  
post #90 of 91 (permalink) Old 2013-11-11, 07:32 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,109
You need to contact MTS about this since most providers do show proper blackouts in their IPGs for TCMHD. This has been going on for 4 years - per this thread, although MTS may not have had TCMHD for that long...

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome