What Canadian telecom companies are doing to help customers during COVID-19 - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 20 (permalink) Old 2020-03-26, 01:31 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: North York
Posts: 2,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by gzink View Post
Makes a lot of sense to provide free bandwidth consumption with free services but then from what I saw Netflix and Amazon may be downgrading their paying customers to less than HD to preserve capacity. Really?
In Europe, at the request of the EU. Haven't heard about any company doing the same in Canada.
NeilN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 20 (permalink) Old 2020-03-26, 10:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,579
Quote:
Shaw Direct sent me a nice email saying they’re just too busy to answer our phone calls or chats,...
They aren't the only company not answering the phone or chats. I'm running into others. There is a message on Rogers web site saying the call centre is overloaded so log in and use the web site for account management. Oops, it looks like their web site is overloaded (again) and I can't login. Their web site has had issues for years. The only thing that ever worked well with Rogers was calling their CSRs. At least I'm getting the free previews ok.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #18 of 20 (permalink) Old 2020-03-28, 10:48 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,176
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by gzink View Post
Quote:
Makes a lot of sense to provide free bandwidth consumption with free services but then from what I saw Netflix and Amazon may be downgrading their paying customers to less than HD to preserve capacity. Really?
In Europe, at the request of the EU. Haven't heard about any company doing the same in Canada.
It's here now.

Netflix reduces video quality in Canada to lower internet bandwidth use
gzink likes this.
JamesK is online now  
 
post #19 of 20 (permalink) Old 2020-03-28, 11:33 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 16,371
The article also mentions that Crave plans to temporarily reduce to 720p.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #20 of 20 (permalink) Old 2020-04-01, 10:41 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 1,867
I can't seem to get anything better than 720p out of Disney+ either, although I can't tell if that's a bandwidth restriction or some issue with my TV not playing nice.
Tridus is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome