Porting cell number............ - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 2019-06-11, 06:05 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 161
Porting cell number............

If I port my cell # from one provider to another is it legally implied that I am cancelling service from the first provider and therefor do not need to contact them to officially cancel the service?
north49 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 2019-06-11, 06:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 78
I ported my cellphone number from Fido to TELUS back in 2011. If it didn't change since then, the porting will trigger a service cancellation on your old mobile carrier.
Ed7789 is online now  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 2019-06-11, 07:23 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,579
Quote:
and therefor do not need to contact them to officially cancel the service?
Correct. Cancelling with the current provider may cause issues with number porting so do not cancel.
ExDilbert is online now  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 2019-06-12, 08:21 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,721
correct, porting the number also cancels the "existing" wireless line automatically. They keep emphasizing to NOT contact your original provider when you are bringing the number to the new provider, as sometimes certain changes to the account will prevent the number from being ported so that is why they expressingly tell you not to contact the original provider. This happened to my friend, he explained to them he wanted to leave his "exisitng" provider and i dunno what he specifically said but they put a cancellation order on his line, and when he went to his new company and tried to port the number, the port failed, cus the pending cancellation does not allow the port to go thru, so he simply removed the cancellation request which he should not have done in the first place and then re-requested the port on his new provider, and voila, it worked. lessons learned for my friend, but i already knew this as I worked in porting and told my friend not to make these mistakes but he did not listen
17671 is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 2019-06-12, 02:09 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bruce County, ON
Posts: 1,251
I ported my Bell landline to a Koodo cell phone just over a month ago. It automatically canceled the Bell account.

The only thing that was a pain was Bell took a month to revise my billing statement - originally charging me for a month of service they didn't provide, then a month later the bill reflected the actual cost of a few days of service - so just be careful to only pay what you truly owe.
Inglewood is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 2019-06-12, 02:32 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 81
Within two days of leaving Fido(Rogers) for Public Mobile(TELUS) they called to beg me to come back.
Discount on a plan, plus cash towards a new phone.
Anything to keep their statistics up.
zapattack is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 2019-06-12, 05:57 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 161
Fido was(is) a real pain in the neck. 16 months after I moved my service to a non-Rogers company they were still calling me and asking why I had switched !!!!!
north49 is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 2019-06-12, 07:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 1,867
Yep. This also works for pay as you go accounts, although sometimes those are problematic to port. I had one on Koodoo, and Eastlink needed a couple of tries to port it. Once it went through, it immediately cancelled the Koodo end.
Tridus is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 2019-11-27, 08:55 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vinegar Hill, Sony KDS50A2000, Samsung LNT4061, NB 3.0, PS3, TT GO730, BB Q10
Posts: 434
Quote:
correct, porting the number also cancels the "existing" wireless line automatically. They keep emphasizing to NOT contact your original provider when you are bringing the number to the new provider, as sometimes certain changes to the account will prevent the number from being ported so that is why they expressingly tell you not to contact the original provider.
And yet I have given "strict" instructions to my current mobility provider that this # cannot be ported unless I come to a brick and mortar store and provide two pieces of ID verifying it is me as more and more one hears about the all too common number porting/sim swap fraud. This is a minor inconvenience when considering the mess that could happen.
Rouge21 is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 2019-11-27, 01:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,579
I sometimes contact the existing provider in order to verify the information that is required by the new provider. Things like account number are not always evident, especially with PAYGO. Some providers use the telephone number (not good as it is easily acquired information) and others create a number that may not be known as no paper billing is done.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 2019-11-27, 01:08 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vinegar Hill, Sony KDS50A2000, Samsung LNT4061, NB 3.0, PS3, TT GO730, BB Q10
Posts: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by ExDilbert View Post
and other create a number that may not be known as no paper billing is done.
For BM you can create a 4 digit code from within your online BM account that one should be asked for when speaking with a rep.
Rouge21 is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 2019-11-27, 01:17 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,579
An account PIN or password should be standard for all wireless providers. That makes it less trivial to hijack someone else's phone number.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 2019-11-27, 06:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vinegar Hill, Sony KDS50A2000, Samsung LNT4061, NB 3.0, PS3, TT GO730, BB Q10
Posts: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by ExDilbert View Post
An account PIN or password should be standard for all wireless providers. That makes it less trivial to hijack someone else's phone number.
It isn't unusual for a Mobility rep, contacted by phone, to allow a port, often ignoring some of the security measures associated with the account.

(I dont believe a PIN is required on an account).
Rouge21 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome