Does Fiber to the Home have to be buried? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 2011-07-03, 04:30 PM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Does Fiber to the Home have to be buried?

The discussion always comes up about Fiber to the Home (FTTH) and how expensive it is to retrofit a neighbourhood.

Sorry for the newbie question but what I'm wondering is "Does Fibre Optic Cable have to be buried?"

In neighbourhoods such as mine where the wires are strung from telephone poles, could you not string fibre optic cable too?

My guess is no since they probably would have done it already but just wondering.

Thanks in advance



hugh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 2011-07-03, 04:43 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Calgary/Mesa
Posts: 403
I've seen fibre from a pole feed down to a DSLM. Wiremonkey could defiantly add to this.
mellaby is offline  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 2011-07-03, 04:51 PM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
The reason I ask is cost. It seems to me that if you could string fibre optic cable to homes, the cost would be a small fraction of burying it.



hugh is offline  
 
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 2011-07-03, 09:21 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Calgary/Mesa
Posts: 403
Here in Calgary were mostly buried cable other than the fibre build out to the JWI's. We have some overhead in the older districts but most have been buried cable for decades. Wiremonkey has mentioned that all new subdivisions are fibre which is great, but our fibre feed Jwi's (DSLAMs) are provideing great internet speeds.
mellaby is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 2011-07-03, 10:00 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,605
The problem is not stringing the cable. The problem is when the cable is CUT! You can't just splice fibre optics cable. The fibres have to be welded back together, and the tolerances are extreme to say the least.

Underground, no problem; the cable is completely protected. Above ground however, all it takes is a single too-tall vehicle to ruin everyone's day.
Francois Caron is offline  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 2011-07-03, 10:57 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 757
Hugh, you should be able to find a bunch of info for the MTS FiON project in Selkirk, Manitoba. They basically replaced the copper infrastructure with fiber to the home, and I bet the majority of it is aerial! I've heard talk of squirrel chews already being a problem, so I guess its trial by fire.
Macman is offline  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 2011-07-04, 08:04 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sault Ste. Marie, On
Posts: 129
The problem is not so much poles vs underground, its the costs. On average it costs about $25,000/km, but some km could cost you $15,000 and others $40,000. Underground depending on where you are can be pretty expensive because you need special equipment like directional bore equipment...
jb_008 is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 2011-07-04, 08:07 AM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Quote:
The build-out of FTTH in the region can be completed quickly and economically because it is served largely by "aerial" infrastructure - above-ground wiring on utility poles - making the cost per home passed competitive with FTTN (Fibre-to-the-node).
Thanks Dr. Dave. That answers the question!

I can see how maintenance being higher when you use the Aerial route but I was just curious about whether it was doable.



hugh is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 2011-07-04, 01:21 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: TELUS tech in the Fraser Valley, B.C.
Posts: 548
Aerial also has the logistcal issue of wrecking out the old plant (copper) and placing the new fiber, all while trying to keep the connection to customers maintained. On joint use poles there are other stakeholders to consider especially if the pole is found to be structuaraly unsound and requires replacement.

For underground in most cases the ducts are already inplace and can be reused. Direct buried drops to homes and buildingsd are an issue that only digging can naddress. Once they are dug up a conduit is installed so future issues are very simple to address.

The entry to the house is also changed with fiber transitioning to the copper inside wire of your home somewhere inside the house (heated area with power available) instead of in an outdoor mounted NIB on the side of the house. That means several hours of tech visit in some cases to mount all the gear and get a fiber to that point inside the house.

I install and repair FTTH. All of my work has been underground fed to this point. Most greenfield some brownfield upgrade from copper.

- another TELUS tech
Wiremonkey is offline  
post #11 of 20 (permalink) Old 2011-07-04, 06:47 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Whitby
Posts: 2,815
Quote:
Originally Posted by Francois Caron View Post
The problem is not stringing the cable. The problem is when the cable is CUT! You can't just splice fibre optics cable. The fibres have to be welded back together, and the tolerances are extreme to say the least.

Underground, no problem; the cable is completely protected. Above ground however, all it takes is a single too-tall vehicle to ruin everyone's day.
I would imagine wires are far more likely to be cut/nicked/damaged by people digging without doing a locate than on overhead (happens more than you think! Sometimes even when they DO have a locate in place, lol).
The overhead wires here have never been cut/damaged by tree limbs/etc in the last 20 or so years.

The cable has been cut many, many times, however
(it's underground - i don't think rogers ever did above ground cabling, did they?)
recneps77 is offline  
post #12 of 20 (permalink) Old 2011-07-04, 07:45 PM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Quote:
i don't think rogers ever did above ground cabling, did they?
In my neigbourhood, cable is strung from poles.



hugh is offline  
post #13 of 20 (permalink) Old 2011-07-04, 07:54 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincoln.NB Pop 492,823
Posts: 6,434
In Oromocto, aka the model town, most of its wires are buried. Cable tv is also buried but that was done before ROGERS bought it from SHAW who had bought it fron Fundy Cable.

As to answer if FTTH is in ground or not, I'd be surprised since most underground cabling had been done over 50 years ago.

Maybe a resident from there might be able to tell us.

Home Theatre: Yamaha HTR-6190, Klipsch Speakers, SANYO PLV-Z4, TOSHIBA HDDVD, LG BD555C, Cerwin Vega HTS12 Sub, VIP2300, XBox 360, HTPC.
Danster is offline  
post #14 of 20 (permalink) Old 2011-07-05, 04:31 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Whitby
Posts: 2,815
Quote:
Originally Posted by hugh View Post
In my neigbourhood, cable is strung from poles.
Interesting.
Wonder why they buried it here then.. Everything else is on the poles except cable, lol.
recneps77 is offline  
post #15 of 20 (permalink) Old 2011-07-05, 04:35 PM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
When was your house built?



hugh is offline  
Reply

Tags
ftth

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome