Xplornet installation help please - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 2010-02-26, 09:48 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 10
Xplornet installation help please

Hi. My brother recently left the province and I have moved into his house. He told me to go ahead and use his internet but I think somthing might be missing.The motorola expediance OSU is outside with a cable coming into the house.Is there anything else or does this just plug into the computer?


Thanks Barbara

Last edited by Playboy_Bunny; 2010-02-26 at 10:09 PM.
Playboy_Bunny is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 2010-02-26, 10:43 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 3,255
just plug it in to your Ethernet card and get ready for some really slow internet

There is no modem used.

Licenced HVAC TECH: "Without seeing your problem i can only offer suggestions, no warranty is included with my advice"
TKG26 is offline  
post #3 of 26 (permalink) Old 2010-02-27, 10:50 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 10
What is an ethernet card? and where does it go?
Playboy_Bunny is offline  
 
post #4 of 26 (permalink) Old 2010-02-27, 11:03 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 5,399
it's port looks like a phone port but a little bigger

It should be on your computer



You will only see the silver and the port and the status lights
DSgamby is online now  
post #5 of 26 (permalink) Old 2010-02-27, 01:32 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 10
Thank you for the pic DSgamby.

Do you think my brother would still have it on his computer? He took his with him :~(
Playboy_Bunny is offline  
post #6 of 26 (permalink) Old 2010-02-27, 01:35 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 5,399
If it is 10 years or younger, then it should be there.
DSgamby is online now  
post #7 of 26 (permalink) Old 2010-02-27, 01:54 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 10
I see a place to plug the ethernet connection into on the back of my computer, but there are no light by it or on the back of it at all. It looks nothing like what you have in the picture. On the back of mine the whole center is a silver plate with the ethernet, usb and other connecter ports (like for the printer and such).
Playboy_Bunny is offline  
post #8 of 26 (permalink) Old 2010-02-27, 01:55 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 5,399
some might not have the lights.

As long as you have the port and it works, that is all the is needed
DSgamby is online now  
post #9 of 26 (permalink) Old 2010-02-27, 02:38 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 10
I'm still not getting it working. I went on the xplornet site and it says there is an ac adapter that the cable coming in the house plugs into... does it need that to work?
Playboy_Bunny is offline  
post #10 of 26 (permalink) Old 2010-02-27, 02:42 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 5,399
I guess

I don't have Xplornet.
DSgamby is online now  
post #11 of 26 (permalink) Old 2010-02-27, 02:58 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 10
Thank you for trying to help me DSgamby!
I wonder if anyone out there could tell me what all I do need to get this xplornet up and going.
I'm on very slow dialup right now. It's very frustrating!!
Playboy_Bunny is offline  
post #12 of 26 (permalink) Old 2010-02-27, 03:07 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Guelph
Posts: 1,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Playboy_Bunny View Post
I'm still not getting it working. I went on the xplornet site and it says there is an ac adapter that the cable coming in the house plugs into... does it need that to work?
I believe that the Xplornet antenna is phantom powered. So somewhere there is a power supply plugged into the wall and a wire from that which is into a gadget that is inline with the Ethernet cable. IIRC it has to be the correct way around to send power upto the antenna but not down to the PC. The "ac adapter" is a Y shaped thing with female coax ( I think) on one end, the antenna end, and a female RJ45 on the other end ( the PC end) the wire to the wall wart comes off the middle of it. I helped a friend install one a year back so this is all from memory.
timlocke is online now  
post #13 of 26 (permalink) Old 2010-02-27, 03:15 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 10
Thank you Tim. Do you know where I would find one of those inline gadge things?
Playboy_Bunny is offline  
post #14 of 26 (permalink) Old 2010-02-27, 03:44 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 3,255
SORRY... Tim is correct. We had an inline power source when we had xplornet... i forgot about that. you will be SOL without that power adaptor

Licenced HVAC TECH: "Without seeing your problem i can only offer suggestions, no warranty is included with my advice"
TKG26 is offline  
post #15 of 26 (permalink) Old 2010-02-27, 04:27 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jupiter Probe
Posts: 235
Link to Xplornets power over Ethernet adapter page.

Top picture.
http://www.xplornet.com/support/troubleshooting.aspx

Traffic management policy. quoted speeds on their main page are 'burst' speeds.
http://www.xplornet.com/legal/xplorn...nt-policy.aspx
Alternate is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome