Shaw Gateway: Code Update 7.1.7 (Please see post #1) - Page 6 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #76 of 94 (permalink) Old 2018-06-18, 05:04 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 228
to get installer menu:

go to settings

down to channel list but don't enter it

hit back; next; back; next

brings up portal; right button to see gateway screen

I have 7.14.75 firmware 17.8 product family

Think it's a update to VOD - see https://community.shaw.ca/docs/DOC-15391 from https://community.shaw.ca/community/...pdates/content

Andy K.
andyk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #77 of 94 (permalink) Old 2018-06-18, 07:38 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs, ShawXG1 Gateway & 5 Portals, 2x Harmony One
Posts: 3,659
Whole new kettle of fish

The update does a lot more than change the way it looks. More info as I get details. So far the biggest thing I have noticed is that it has damaged my Extender drives. I just swapped out one of them in the RAID array and now that it has rebuilt itself, I'll swap the other one and start over.

Maybe it's a coincidence but I've come to find these things are seldom that.

I'm actually thinking this Update should have it's own new thead.

If you can then do rather than not. You're your own worst enemy. They're parking their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
post #78 of 94 (permalink) Old 2018-06-19, 01:51 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 67
Finally found procedure in one of the forums.

Not sure if this already existed, but portal status is also included in Installer Menu.

You now get Series and Episode for most programs.

Guide populates slightly faster than previous version, which slowed it down inexplicably.
I think it defaulted the sound output to Stereo instead of Dolby/Dolby D+.

Any idea why big blue power button flashes rapidly when pressed?
It does appear to turn off if you select red.
zapattack is offline  
 
post #79 of 94 (permalink) Old 2018-09-01, 01:28 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 84
There was an update on my gateway a couple of days ago.

anyone knows what exactly was updated?
Classy1 is offline  
post #80 of 94 (permalink) Old 2019-02-28, 04:33 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Interior
Posts: 1,774
Got an update on Feb 27 to 7.14.162
Change in the menus display. Simpler icons, clearer text.
Is most of the cable programming still 1080i or is some now 1080p??
Is there discussion somewhere on this update?
gzink is offline  
post #81 of 94 (permalink) Old 2019-02-28, 09:22 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,112
Quote:
Originally Posted by gzink View Post
Is most of the cable programming still 1080i or is some now 1080p?
All broadcasting is still 720P or 1080i. This may be changed by your box to output 1080p, however, the only programming available from Shaw at 1080P is on-demand. See the following FAQ:

https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/30-...v-formats.html

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #82 of 94 (permalink) Old 2019-02-28, 10:17 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 228
andyk is offline  
post #83 of 94 (permalink) Old 2019-02-28, 04:07 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Interior
Posts: 1,774
Thanks guys

To quote...This update enhances the overall interface including the Guide, PVR List, Browse Banner and Menus on your Gateway set-top box.
Yes some improvement but the main icons are a step backwards ..circles with an r for recorded? Really? Is that representing film canisters?
gzink is offline  
post #84 of 94 (permalink) Old 2019-03-04, 10:09 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Abbotsford, BC
Posts: 40
Gateway update

From the pictures they use as examples, it appears that movies, kid's shows, sports, etc. will no longer be colour coded. That would be a downgrade for me. I haven't had the update happen on my machine yet so we'll see.
RickyCV is offline  
post #85 of 94 (permalink) Old 2019-03-05, 06:58 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Interior
Posts: 1,774
I hadn't noticed but you are right. There is NO colour coding. That was extremely useful to me. Sports/Movies.
I'll have to check the movies list but it used to have every movie whether we had the channel or not so that was extremely useless. It does appear one step forward and 6 back.
Does any systems person at Shaw know what they are doing???
Easy on the eyes and half as useful. Now that is INDEED an UPGRADE(NOT).
gzink is offline  
post #86 of 94 (permalink) Old 2019-03-05, 02:18 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 67
Upgrade steps started at 2:00AM and finished by 4:00AM

Movies, sports, kids shows all color coded.
zapattack is offline  
post #87 of 94 (permalink) Old 2019-03-16, 01:49 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 1
I've got my update here in Edmonton and the guide is not color coded. What I miss is the new episodes of shows was usually in a different color which made it easy to see.

BTW, what is the 'shelf life' of the Gateways, I've made mine installed in 2011 and I worry that when the Gateway decides to stop working I wont have any TV to watch :-(
hdguy2019 is offline  
post #88 of 94 (permalink) Old 2019-03-16, 02:32 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Interior
Posts: 1,774
Sure miss the colour.
Maybe there's a smoky haze in Vancouver which gives the colour there.
gzink is offline  
post #89 of 94 (permalink) Old 2019-03-17, 10:10 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 67
Second post got lost.
First update did not change visual appearance.
There was a second, separate update (24 hrs later on my logs) that changed colors and layout.
zapattack is offline  
post #90 of 94 (permalink) Old 2019-04-03, 03:08 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 128
My wife watches 20x more TV than me and hates the new Gateway guide.
I love it. Stupid me, I always found it confusing which channel was currently selected due to all the colours on the screen.
Now it's nice and simple but I have a feeling anyone that watches tv regularly might find it lacking information.

By the way, I heard a couple months ago Shaw testing a totally new system by Arris.
Where can I find any discussion, even rumours, of this? Seems like very little action on Shaw at this site these days.

Only other site I found was the Shaw Community forums and I doubt there would be much in sneak peak reports on Shaw's own site.

Thanks
LD500 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome