OTA Station Status: Lk. Ontario North Shore, Syracuse, Utica - Page 10 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #136 of 149 (permalink) Old 2013-07-22, 04:51 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 5,031
We can no longer receive CKWS at our trailer 60km north of Kingston (we could watch a mildly snowy analog signal previously). I've sent an email to the station reporting such. Hopefully they can increase ERP at some point in the future.

Roof-top mounted Antennas Direct DB8e & C5, Channel Master 7777 preamp, Siemens surge protection. TiVo Roamio DVR
Jase88 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #137 of 149 (permalink) Old 2013-07-25, 09:09 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Downtown Toronto near Bloor and Jarvis
Posts: 47
Ckws has transitioned to digital on channel 11.1. You will need a digital adapter or a new tv to receive the signal.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
oblender is offline  
post #138 of 149 (permalink) Old 2013-08-03, 08:59 AM
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Peterborough, ON
Posts: 59
Cloyne now HD

TVO Cloyne is now in 1080i HD on ch. 44.
Andysradio is offline  
 
post #139 of 149 (permalink) Old 2014-05-25, 10:41 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Richmond Hill, ON
Posts: 433
Anyone notice that CHEX has changed their PSIP data to show as CHEXHD now instead of CHEX-DT?

Looks like it happened between May 20th and 21st

DB4e | CPA19 | 2 x HDTC-2US | Mac Mini | EyeTV 3
My scanning and reporting scripts here
905shmick is offline  
post #140 of 149 (permalink) Old 2014-05-26, 09:37 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hastings,ON,Canada
Posts: 121
I didn't notice it had changed,but,it still says "CHEXDT" in the actual programming data,and it's high time they had program info!

If it wasn't for the fact that I'm using a Tivo box,I wouldn't even be able to record of their channel!
itpro007ca is offline  
post #141 of 149 (permalink) Old 2015-04-22, 06:11 AM
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Newmarket, On (Bathurst/Keith)
Posts: 110
Is anyone else having problems with CFTO-DT54 RF35 near Peterborough? Both the signal strength and signal quality (from an HDHR4) have been consistently about 70% since at least Monday evening. However nothing is being decoded. The stream info isn't being displayed in the HDHomerun Config. (gui) program either. This station is normally 24/7 for me. Does anyone have contact info for the station?

Regards,

Hugh
hdixon is offline  
post #142 of 149 (permalink) Old 2015-05-20, 07:16 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 58
With CTV taking over CHEX and CKWS there won't be a snowy picture anymore. But no CBC for our area.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=238809

David

Last edited by stampeder; 2015-05-21 at 02:37 AM. Reason: link to existing Forum thread fixed
Greenish Apple is offline  
post #143 of 149 (permalink) Old 2015-06-14, 11:10 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Belleville. Ontario
Posts: 790
When are they supposed to transition to CTV? What will happen to the CJOH transmitter in Prince Edward? Stupid, not having a CBC in this area. Closest one will be in Toronto....out of OTA range here.

Winegard PR8800, YA1713, Zenith7777 Preamp, 42" Aquos 120hz, Samsung UP5000 Blu Ray/HDDVD, C/Ku Band, Directv H21, 22.
PrinceLH is offline  
post #144 of 149 (permalink) Old 2015-06-15, 04:13 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Craig Henry (Greenbank/Hunt Club), Nepean, ON
Posts: 3,213
The first line in the link Greenish Apple posted said:

Quote:
It was just announced that CKWS and CHEX will be offering CTV programming August 31.
tvlurker is offline  
post #145 of 149 (permalink) Old 2015-07-23, 09:50 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brighton, ON
Posts: 394
Syracuse broadcasts HSN on 3 channels.

RF22 WTVU - 22.2 in HD
RF40 WIXT - 40.2 in HD
RF51 WSHU - 51.1 in SD (This being their original channel and it has no subs, but is in SD.)

Does this not seem a bit odd?
Brightonian is online now  
post #146 of 149 (permalink) Old 2019-07-30, 10:48 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 316
Can anyone verify that WSTM and WCNY have moved to their new channels as scheduled? WSTM was scheduled for 10AM, while WCNY did not announce a time but they share equipment, so I would assume it's the same.

- Trip

RabbitEars.Info
Comments are my own and not that of my employer (the FCC) or anyone else.
Trip is offline  
post #147 of 149 (permalink) Old 2019-07-31, 12:48 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brighton, ON
Posts: 394
WSTM Syracuse no longer on RF24, just RF19 now.
WCNY vacated RF25, now on RF20.
Brightonian is online now  
post #148 of 149 (permalink) Old 2019-07-31, 05:35 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 316
Thanks!

- Trip

RabbitEars.Info
Comments are my own and not that of my employer (the FCC) or anyone else.
Trip is offline  
post #149 of 149 (permalink) Old 2019-07-31, 10:13 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,597
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brightonian View Post
Syracuse broadcasts HSN on 3 channels.

RF22 WTVU - 22.2 in HD
RF40 WIXT - 40.2 in HD
RF51 WSHU - 51.1 in SD (This being their original channel and it has no subs, but is in SD.)

Does this not seem a bit odd?
In Buffalo, WPXJ carries QVC, and so does WBXZ. Those shopping channels pay the broadcasters to broadcast it for them. If they are willing to pay multiple broadcasters, who are we to say what is odd? We aren't paying the bills for them.

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome