OTA NETWORK Status: Citytv, OMNI - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #61 of 376 (permalink) Old 2011-09-20, 11:53 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 49
I have horizontal line break ups with CHNM-DT Vancouver (ie OMNI) every few minutes. I am not having problems with CKVU (ie CITY).

I'm not having problems from other DTV stations also broadcasting from Seymour Mountain, except CIVI-2-DT Vancouver (CTV 2) [horizontal line break ups], which is well documented on this forum to have a problem. All of the Seymour Mountain signals are 10/10 according to my TV.
rimor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 376 (permalink) Old 2011-09-20, 12:36 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, On
Posts: 248
Smile Omni1 psip

Here in London I am getting the psip info on City and Omni2 but Omni1 is saying "no information available". Does anyone know if they are still working on getting the psip data for Omni1 London? I am now getting psip data on 7 out of 10 digital channels. Just missing Omni1, CHCH and Sun. Things are defintely looking up.
Bark64 is offline  
post #63 of 376 (permalink) Old 2011-09-20, 02:48 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 5,032
Bman72s, I see this issue as well (Toronto CITY, OMNI 1 & 2). At first I attributed it to the low power and temporary location on the lower FCP building.

Now I'm beginning to suspect that something is up at the transmit site...

Roof-top mounted Antennas Direct DB8e & C5, Channel Master 7777 preamp, Siemens surge protection. TiVo Roamio DVR
Jase88 is offline  
 
post #64 of 376 (permalink) Old 2011-09-20, 03:21 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 910
This momentary breakup/pixelation, mainly on City, even before the analog shutdown, is annoying as heck and something that I also have experienced all along.

Back then, I attributed it to the poor signal 3-4/10. Now, all 3 Rogers channels are 10/10 and those breakups are still there. Actually, I noticed some breakups on Global as well.

I may tone down the signal as I use both preamp and distro amp but I have > a dozen devices

LG55LW5000/DenonAVR791/MirageOMD5+Nanosat+MM8/ClearStream2/CM7778+3414
OptomaHD33/YamahaRXV1075/KEF3005/Velo15"
PPL4GOLF is offline  
post #65 of 376 (permalink) Old 2011-09-20, 03:26 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 5,032
I don't believe this is a local signal reception issue. I'm about 100km away from the transmitter, and I'm not over-amplifying signals. As it appears to be impacting those within LOS and at the edge of the coverage footprint, I would tend to suspect the issue is at the source.

Roof-top mounted Antennas Direct DB8e & C5, Channel Master 7777 preamp, Siemens surge protection. TiVo Roamio DVR
Jase88 is offline  
post #66 of 376 (permalink) Old 2011-09-20, 03:31 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 256
Ok so it isn't just me. I have an original CM4221 with a CM 7778 preamp located in Markham. It has worked really well up until this summer. A tweak of the antenna solved all problems except this one which may be associated with the transition to DTV. I think I will wait until these channels switch to the Tower before I try and sort things out. Thanks for the responses. I feel better knowing it isn't just me.
Bman72s is offline  
post #67 of 376 (permalink) Old 2011-09-20, 04:06 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Milton, ON
Posts: 117
I've also seen this on City and I'm only about 2 km from FCP. I'm not really noticing it on the Omni's but it's possible I haven't been watching those channels as often. My City signal was always perfect pre-transition..
JJMoney is offline  
post #68 of 376 (permalink) Old 2011-09-20, 04:09 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 5,032
I've sent off an email to: [email protected]i.rogers.com
Let's see if they respond. Their website also lists a number you can call (1-855-DTV-5050). Unfortunately my VOIP provider doesn't like this number...

I recall a similar issue with Global a while back, and it turned out to be an issue with their PSIP generator. Not sure if this is the case with the OMNI's and City.

Roof-top mounted Antennas Direct DB8e & C5, Channel Master 7777 preamp, Siemens surge protection. TiVo Roamio DVR
Jase88 is offline  
post #69 of 376 (permalink) Old 2011-09-20, 06:56 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: St Catharines
Posts: 1,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jase88 View Post
I would tend to suspect the issue is at the source.
I agree.

Same problems with CITY and not OMNIs in St Catharines.
All 3 signals are 100% and 30+ dBs.
dsspredator is offline  
post #70 of 376 (permalink) Old 2011-09-20, 11:20 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto/Etobicoke - Bloor/Royal York/Queensway/Islington
Posts: 1,598
Question Toronto - moving from FCP to CN Tower

This is from the pre-transition thread post 155:

Quote:
Our plan is to transmit all 3 stations from FCP in Toronto starting Sept. 1, OMNI 1 ch. 47, OMNI 2, ch. 51 and CITY ch.44. This is only for a short time until about mid Oct when all three signals will broadcast from the CN Tower
Mid-October is coming up fast. Any of you guys (like Roger1818 ) with contacts at Rogers hearing anything about actual dates yet?

A-D DB4e & CS5, CM 4221 & 7778, TiVo Premiere & Roamio
El Gran Chico is offline  
post #71 of 376 (permalink) Old 2011-09-21, 12:57 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,600
Quote:
Does anyone know if they are still working on getting the psip data for Omni1 London?
Don't know about London, but noticed both OMNIs from Toronto have EPG info now.
They rarely come in here in Buffalo, so I just noticed it this evening. Pleasantly surprised.
Takes a very strong "event" for CITY to overcome the local adjacent RF 43 of WNED here,
so I haven't seen that one in a while.

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is offline  
post #72 of 376 (permalink) Old 2011-09-23, 04:12 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: derry + winston Mississauga
Posts: 1,653
Still seeing that brief glitch on all the Rogers OTA signals.Occurs every minute or so.Its clearly a broadcaster problem.

Attic CM 4248 at Buffalo,M4 at Buffalo.VHF yagis at Toronto .
rob50312 is offline  
post #73 of 376 (permalink) Old 2011-09-23, 04:37 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 5,032
Signal issue: CityTV OMNI 1 & 2

It has been an exercise in futility for me to get an answer from City TV and OMNI regarding this issue. I've called, sent emails, etc. Every time their staff transfer or refer me to their DTV transition hotline, which simply provides information on the digital transition.

I suppose we'll just have to wait it out....

Roof-top mounted Antennas Direct DB8e & C5, Channel Master 7777 preamp, Siemens surge protection. TiVo Roamio DVR
Jase88 is offline  
post #74 of 376 (permalink) Old 2011-09-24, 12:57 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 85
Rogers OTA errors

Just wanted to add another vote on this front. I took a look at the 3 Rogers stations today and I'm seeing the breakups everyone else is seeing. Symptoms are a bit different on the 3 stations.

CFMT/OMNI 1 RF47 - 47.1
Steady strong signal for me (95/100 bars, 29-31dB SNR)
Some minimal audio and video glitches, but no signal issues at all. No Errors reported by the Signal Diagnostics on my TV.

CJMT/OMNI 2 RF51 - 69.1
Steady medium signal for me (55/100 bars, 22-24 dB SNR)
Strangely this station comes in with no errors or signal breakup at all for me.

CITY RF44 - 57.1
Steady medium signal for me (56/100 bars, 23-24 dB SNR)
This is the worst of the bunch for me. Mild video/audio breakups, but a LOT of it. For this station, my TV Signal Diagnostics reports about 40 to 50 errors every time there is a breakup, but the signal level stays constant.

I have to agree with Jase88 and think this is something to do with the Signal before it even makes it out to the transmission tower, probably at PSIP Insertion.

Chimney mounted CM4228 UHF Antenna with CM7778 preamp - Sony KDL-46XBR4/Hauppage HVR-1600/Tivo HD
scruffy416 is offline  
post #75 of 376 (permalink) Old 2011-09-24, 01:06 PM
Corporate Supporter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rice Lake near Bewdley
Posts: 638
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Gran Chico View Post
This is from the pre-transition thread post 155:



Mid-October is coming up fast. Any of you guys (like Roger1818 ) with contacts at Rogers hearing anything about actual dates yet?
Industry Canada site says January people so it’s a ways off.

60' Delhi tower,91XG,Y13-10,DB8,Tin Lee Traps,CM9521A,CM7777,CM7000,Winegard RC-1010 & HDA200,Samsung 32 LCD,2 WTV950Q

Twinntech supports Digital Home
wilspin is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome