OTA NETWORK Status: Corus, Zoomer, Pattison, Independents - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 246 (permalink) Old 2011-09-05, 04:04 PM Thread Starter
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Arrow OTA NETWORK Status: Corus, Zoomer, Pattison, Independents

This thread carries on from the previous CHCH, CHEK, Corus, Zoomer, Pattison, Independents: DTV Transition Status thread, which is now closed.



stampeder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 246 (permalink) Old 2011-09-07, 03:08 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 410
Question Stoney Creek transmitter audio peculiarity

Has anyone else noticed how the audio stream from the main Hamilton CHCH transmitter (channel 11.1) now seems really tinny or hollow? It kind of sounds like you're listening with a long piece of pipe coupled to your ears. It does not sound like this on Bell TV's channel 218; I presume they have a direct fibre feed from CHCH.

Maybe nobody's made mention of it since so few people can actually receive the DTV channel anymore on VHF?
mr.eous is offline  
post #3 of 246 (permalink) Old 2011-09-07, 04:17 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North of the Lake
Posts: 123
I just called CHCH and was told "they are going to be looking for more power" from the switchboard operator.

I assume that they need to apply to the CRTC and the FCC to boost power.
If so, shouldn't we be able to check the validity of this online?
Digital_Frank is offline  
 
post #4 of 246 (permalink) Old 2011-09-07, 05:54 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: King George, VA
Posts: 358
CHCH will have to conduct an engineering analysis in order to gauge how much power to ask for and reach interference agreements, if required, with other broadcasters before filing anything.

OTA, it's a beauty way to go!
Dave Loudin is offline  
post #5 of 246 (permalink) Old 2011-09-07, 06:06 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North of the Lake
Posts: 123
CHCH was @ 60kw digital on RF18 and are now @ 6kw on RF11.
They had 325kw on RF11 when they were broadcasting in analog.
Do they still need to do a study?
Digital_Frank is offline  
post #6 of 246 (permalink) Old 2011-09-07, 06:11 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Craig Henry (Greenbank/Hunt Club), Nepean, ON
Posts: 3,220
Yes, any change in parameters requires an Engineering Brief to be submitted to Industry Canada to change the broadcasting certificate.

In addition, the application to the CRTC for an amended broadcasting license will usually need proof that the intended market area is not covered properly by the current parameters, and that the station is sufferring economically because of it.
tvlurker is offline  
post #7 of 246 (permalink) Old 2011-09-07, 06:13 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Craig Henry (Greenbank/Hunt Club), Nepean, ON
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital_Frank View Post
If so, shouldn't we be able to check the validity of this online?
Eventually. It takes time. As Dave says, the Engineering Briefs will have to be completed before anything can be filed with Industry Canada or the CRTC.

And just because something has been filed, does not necessarily mean that it is publicly available yet.
tvlurker is offline  
post #8 of 246 (permalink) Old 2011-09-07, 06:14 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North of the Lake
Posts: 123
I assume that this will take months not weeks.
I hope they are applying for more power.
Digital_Frank is offline  
post #9 of 246 (permalink) Old 2011-09-08, 09:50 AM
Premium Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3,741
Is there a CRTC/IC mechanism that allows for "emergency" power boosts on short notice, as has been done by the FCC?
downbeat is offline  
post #10 of 246 (permalink) Old 2011-09-08, 10:48 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: King George, VA
Posts: 358
Urgent requests still require some sort of analysis to justify them. The applicant also has to show either that they will not create problems for others, or that they have coordinated with potentially affected parties and all agree to accept whatever interference results. The example filing I have been citing from WUSA, Washington, DC, included an interference agreement between them and two other stations. The agreement was easily reached because all parties realized that the level of interference was way overstated (cash also helps.)

This is a rare, but not unique, situation in broadcast allocation management. Prior to the mid 60s, the rules for FM allocations in the US produced stations too close together for the ERPs used.

OTA, it's a beauty way to go!
Dave Loudin is offline  
post #11 of 246 (permalink) Old 2011-09-08, 11:45 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 295
We live in a world of studies, Frank. Maybe they'll do a study to see if a study is needed.
Schmerpy is offline  
post #12 of 246 (permalink) Old 2011-09-08, 11:49 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Craig Henry (Greenbank/Hunt Club), Nepean, ON
Posts: 3,220
Schmerpy, if your reception of some other station suddenly deteriorated because Global was not forced to prove they wouldn't unacceptably interfere with your other desired station, you might feel differently about the need for proper studies.
tvlurker is offline  
post #13 of 246 (permalink) Old 2011-09-08, 04:32 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 295
But the proposition doesn't make sense. CHCH always operated on Channel 11 with 325kW power. To suggest that going from 6kW to, say, 50kW will now cause problems doesn't make sense. I don't think any new stations broadcasting on Channel 11 have popped up within 100 miles.

The need for studies is sometimes defeated with simple logic, but there are those who always seem to be on a mission to prove the obvious.
Schmerpy is offline  
post #14 of 246 (permalink) Old 2011-09-08, 04:40 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Craig Henry (Greenbank/Hunt Club), Nepean, ON
Posts: 3,220
The rules have changed since the original VHF allocations were made. Back then, most VHF-Hi stations went for the maximum (325 in the Canada, 316 in the US), whereas now, you have to prove your coverage area, and IC won't let you exceed a 90 km or so radius.
tvlurker is offline  
post #15 of 246 (permalink) Old 2011-09-08, 04:45 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: St Catharines
Posts: 1,282
WBRE RF 11 WILKES-BARRE PA 30. kW
WPCW RF 11 JEANNETTE PA 30. kW

Based on FCC data these are the closest RF 11s and both are 5X the power of CHCH.
dsspredator is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome