OTA Station Status: Toronto, Hamilton - Page 98 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 29Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1456 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2019-10-05, 11:34 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Glen Allen, Ontario
Posts: 38
I noticed this as well last night, however my reception problems (a random blackout of signal every 3-4 seconds while at over 80% signal) were also fixed at the same time, so I suspect they were having issues with it.
daggry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1457 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2019-10-05, 08:22 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: St Catharines
Posts: 1,298
CHCH changed something?

PSIP is working and my old sharp TV is good.

What about the TIVOs out there?
dsspredator is offline  
post #1458 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2019-10-05, 08:26 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Glen Allen, Ontario
Posts: 38
Just checked and it's back to 11 with psip again. Had been showing 15-3 still around 4pm today.
daggry is offline  
 
post #1459 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2020-01-03, 01:59 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Milton, ON
Posts: 125
Didn't see any posts here on this, but it looks like the Rogers channels went to back-up power at some point.

City 57 has been mostly out for me over the past couple weeks, only occasionally locking in strong enough to pixelate, most of the time not locked in at all. It looks like both Omni's are operating weaker as well (I never stop on 40 or 47 so it's hard to gauge a difference), but everything else (from TO or elsewhere) seems to be fine.
JJMoney is offline  
post #1460 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2020-01-03, 03:22 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rockwood, ON
Posts: 733
Noticed the same thing over here, all CN tower channels in the repack band 38-51 suddenly became weaker on December 9. Rabbitears shows STAs for the Rogers channels but not for CIII: https://www.rabbitears.info/market.php?mktid=63, though CIII is clearly affected as well. I'm assuming it has to do with preparing for Phase 10 of the repack in May.

mich.g.pan likes this.

36' HD8200U-KT200-HDHR#1067A7DF / 33' DB8e-CM7777-HDHR#1067A183
285 digitals
orbot is online now  
post #1461 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2020-01-03, 05:22 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 1,014
If there is any kind of maintenance to the CN tower, then the power is cut back for the safety of the workers.
mich.g.pan likes this.

OTA, CM4221HD, 3410 amp, 4 way split, HW-150 PVR.
FTA, Openbox S9, 33” dish, PLL LNBF. Stab 90HH.
Jorgek is offline  
post #1462 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2020-03-08, 09:34 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
Hi Orbot,

i tried to find the signal strength chart info that you posted.
I live in Niagara and some CN tower signals are noticeably weak.
GLobal-41
City-57

Where can I access that chart?

Also, have you noticed any signal strength changes lately?

thx
Mich
mich.g.pan is offline  
post #1463 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2020-03-08, 11:53 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rockwood, ON
Posts: 733
Unfortunately still no change in signal strength for Omni2/Global/City/Omni1 after 3 months. Here are the links for the signal charts of my antennas over at RabbitEars:

DB8e pointed at Buffalo: https://m.rabbitears.info/index.php?...1067A183&tno=0
HD8200U pointed at Cleveland: https://m.rabbitears.info/index.php?...1067A7DF&tno=0

That's over the last hour (you can change the time duration in the drop-down box at the top and press "Go"). Click the callsigns to see the full signal graphs. Click the RabbitEars logo at the top and then click "Live Bandscans" to see the full list of participating tuners (green is active, red is inactive).
mich.g.pan likes this.

36' HD8200U-KT200-HDHR#1067A7DF / 33' DB8e-CM7777-HDHR#1067A183
285 digitals
orbot is online now  
post #1464 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2020-03-08, 12:48 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
Thank you Orbot !
mich.g.pan is offline  
post #1465 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2020-03-09, 10:24 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Hamilton Mtn.
Posts: 61
CTV2 Barrie CHCJ-Hamilton display to 3.1

Is it possible for CHCJ (RF-35) to have a display channel of 3.1?

Is it a cost/logistic issue?
go4it is offline  
post #1466 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2020-03-09, 10:35 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,763
It could display 3-1 if there is no PSIP (or your TV fails to decode it for some reason), and it happens to be defined as Program 3 in the mux. If it was defined as Program 4 in the mux and had no PSIP it would display 4-1, so on. It's sister repeater in Font Hill shows up as 42-1, and is defined as Program 1 in the mux though.
The PSIP at FontHill is working though too.

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is offline  
post #1467 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2020-03-10, 06:05 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: derry + winston Mississauga
Posts: 1,678
Reqarding CKVP repeater moving to RF 29 phase 10,has WDTB on RF 29 gone off the air ??

Attic CM 4248 at Buffalo,M4 at Buffalo.VHF yagis at Toronto .
rob50312 is offline  
post #1468 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2020-03-10, 07:24 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,763
Nope, and I have not heard of / seen any plans for it to do so...
It is a LPTV class station so it is not involved in the repack.

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is offline  
post #1469 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2020-03-10, 08:33 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by go4it View Post
Is it possible for CHCJ (RF-35) to have a display channel of 3.1?

Is it a cost/logistic issue?
@go4it , if you are asking why they don't purposely send the same virtual channel on the repeaters as the main signal, it's probably to avoid confusion in people's TV sets, so they are certain which signal it is that they are receiving.

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome