OTA Station Status: Toronto, Hamilton - Page 11 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 29Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #151 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2011-05-29, 10:17 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto: Danforth/Coxwell
Posts: 55
Maybe I'm being too optimistic, but El Gran Chico was successful in getting CTV to fix something, so I'm hopeful!
HoserHead is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2011-05-29, 11:01 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 738
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Gran Chico View Post
...
CITY (found a reference to March 1, 2003)
CBLT (Wikipedia says March 5, 2005)
CFTO no idea
CBLFT no idea
CKXT no idea
From memory, CBLFT went on air at about the same time as CBLT, and CKXT DT went on air at the same time as the analog signal when the station began broadcasting.

CDTV worked with CITY to put a test transmitter on air using the CITY frequency. The transmitter became the CITY DT station after the test period ended. I think the CDTV test period started as early as 2001 but I don't have any documentation.
GeorgeMx is offline  
post #153 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2011-05-30, 06:55 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: St Catharines
Posts: 1,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by HoserHead View Post
I'm going to try calling the CTV switchboard tomorrow to see if I can reach someone in the broadcast engineering department to get the audio streams labelled correctly.

Can you also let them know the 6 pm news only has LEFT audio.
dsspredator is offline  
 
post #154 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2011-05-30, 05:16 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Stouffville
Posts: 316
I've noticed that CFTO problem, and have also had a problem with CBLT for the last while.

The audio on CBLT is fine during all (?) other programs, but as soon as HNIC comes on, the center channel disappears. This leaves the broadcast with ambient crowd noise, and no broadcaster's voices. If I switch to the secondary audio, which is labelled as Spanish, then I get English stereo audio with commentary.
x4mer is offline  
post #155 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2011-05-31, 08:15 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: derry + winston Mississauga
Posts: 1,677
CFTO-DT Descriptive Audio Problem

Hoserhead I have noticed the CFTO-dt descriptive audio comes on everytime I tune CFTO on my Panasonic plasma.Have to manually select audio track 1.Audio track 2 is the default.Emailing CFTO about problems does not results

Attic CM 4248 at Buffalo,M4 at Buffalo.VHF yagis at Toronto .

Last edited by rob50312; 2011-05-31 at 08:23 PM. Reason: more
rob50312 is offline  
post #156 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2011-06-01, 11:47 AM
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brampton, Ont
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob50312 View Post
Hoserhead I have noticed the CFTO-dt descriptive audio comes on everytime I tune CFTO on my Panasonic plasma.Have to manually select audio track 1.Audio track 2 is the default.Emailing CFTO about problems does not results
i can confirm this, i have a Sharp Aquos and CFTO always defaults to audio 2. This is a
pain, i always have to manually switch it to to audio1 to get DD 5.1 from my sound
system. Until your post, i thought there was some quirk with my TV ...thanks
arrow201 is offline  
post #157 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2011-06-01, 12:53 PM
HWP
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toronto, East York (Greenwood & Mortimer)
Posts: 1,180
I have the same symptom on my Vizio TV with City TV Toronto periodically. I never thought to complain about it. I just switch off descriptive video.

OTA, Winegard HD7679 UHF&VHF-high Antenna, CM7778 pre-amp
CM Rotator, CM3218 Splitter, TiVo Premier, HDHomeRun
HWP is offline  
post #158 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2011-06-01, 05:14 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Whitby
Posts: 2,815
Same thing.
I realized it was a problem with their stream (and not just having the streams backwards - i.e. DV primary audio and english secondary) when I played back a recording on my computer.

It's only for certain programs (those with DV available), too. (for obvious reasons)
recneps77 is offline  
post #159 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2011-06-05, 11:30 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto/Etobicoke - Bloor/Royal York/Queensway/Islington
Posts: 1,607
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob50312 View Post
Hoserhead I have noticed the CFTO-dt descriptive audio comes on everytime I tune CFTO on my Panasonic plasma.Have to manually select audio track 1.Audio track 2 is the default.Emailing CFTO about problems does not results
Here's what TSReader shows:

Channel 4
Service Name: CFTO-HD
TSID: 17315 (0x43a3)
Channel Number: 9.1
Carrier Frequency: 626310000
Modulation Mode: ATSC (8 VSB)
Source ID: 1
Channel ETT: address
Descriptor: ATSC Service Location Descriptor
Service Location Descriptor:
PCR PID 0x0041
Stream Type 0x02 (MPEG-2 Video) ESPID = 0x0041 Language =
Stream Type 0x81 (AC-3 Audio) ESPID = 0x0044 Language = eng
Stream Type 0x81 (AC-3 Audio) ESPID = 0x0045 Language = eng


Elementary Stream PID 68 (0x0044) AC-3 Audio
AC3: Bitrate 384 Kbps Sample Rate 48 KHz
AC3: Mode complete main Coding 3/2 5 L, C, R, SL, SR
Descriptor: Registration Descriptor
Format identifier: 0x41432d33 (AC-3)
Descriptor: ATSC AC-3 audio Descriptor
ATSC AC3 Descriptor
Descriptor: Stream Identifier Descriptor
83 .


Elementary Stream PID 69 (0x0045) AC-3 Audio
AC3: Bitrate 384 Kbps Sample Rate 48 KHz
AC3: Mode complete main Coding 2/0 L, R
Descriptor: Registration Descriptor
Format identifier: 0x41432d33 (AC-3)
Descriptor: ATSC AC-3 audio Descriptor
ATSC AC3 Descriptor
Descriptor: ISO639 Language Descriptor
Language: eng
Audio type: visual impaired commentary
Descriptor: Stream Identifier Descriptor
8d .

A-D DB4e & CS5, CM 4221 & 7778, TiVo Premiere & Roamio
El Gran Chico is offline  
post #160 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2011-06-16, 08:55 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hamilton: Garth and Rymal
Posts: 600
CHCH down?

8:55pm

Anyone else notice that both analog (RF11) and digital (RF18) CHCH signals are down? Suntv on 15.1 gone also...but that's pretty typical. CTS on 36.1 is still up and running so it's not the complete tower.

I've never had CH down...wondering if something has happened.

Mayhem Creations-"The Art Of Emotional Creation"
sites.google.com/site/maycreates/Home -for viewing all my DIY projects
Marbles_00 is offline  
post #161 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2011-06-16, 09:03 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Belleville ON
Posts: 1,865
95.3 MHz FM is also down... Got completely zilch on my trusty Grundig G8...

Antenna work?

Cameron

DAB listener 12/2003-11/2011 (DAB Off-Air since 11/2011)
HD radio Listener since 06/2010
CamDAB is offline  
post #162 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2011-06-16, 09:36 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hamilton: Garth and Rymal
Posts: 600
Also SUNTV analog on RF45 down too. I thought tower work as well, but CTS is still up.

Mayhem Creations-"The Art Of Emotional Creation"
sites.google.com/site/maycreates/Home -for viewing all my DIY projects
Marbles_00 is offline  
post #163 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2011-06-16, 11:33 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Belleville ON
Posts: 1,865
95.3 FM, CH11 (VHF analogue), are both blowtorch powered. :-)

I don't think CTS is in that category, and it's antenna might be at a different level...

Haven't checked the CH transition thread yet...

Heading there now... :-)

Cameron

DAB listener 12/2003-11/2011 (DAB Off-Air since 11/2011)
HD radio Listener since 06/2010
CamDAB is offline  
post #164 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2011-06-16, 11:54 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 5,046
Concurred: SUN TV 15 digital & 45 analog, CHCH analog & digital (11 & 18 respectively), are down.

From CHCH's Facebook page: Our main transmitter in Stoney Creek is down. But we're still up on some carriers - and we're working to get stories on our website ASAP

Roof-top mounted Antennas Direct DB8e & C5, Channel Master 7777 preamp, Siemens surge protection. TiVo Roamio DVR
Jase88 is offline  
post #165 of 1469 (permalink) Old 2011-06-16, 11:59 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dunnville, Ontario on the Grand River, North shore Lake Erie
Posts: 2,410
Also a messsage posted on twitter
Quote:
CHCHTV CHCH
Our main transmitter in Stoney Creek is down. But we're still up on some carriers - and we're working to get stories on our website ASAP
4 hours ago

3D SSH III with ZZ4 refl. http://imageshack.us/user/jmsdigital
ota_canuck is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome