OTA Station Status: Montreal, QC, Northern NY & VT - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 7Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #61 of 3399 (permalink) Old 2006-10-27, 11:47 AM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Also i noticed a tad nicer colors on the WCAX broadcast of CSI last night compared to my CTV simsub over the Boston CBS on ExpressVu.
OTA HD's picture quality is superior to satelllite HD by a long shot and easily noticeable. If your HDTV is properly configured/calibrated the improvement is amazing. OTA HD is also better than cable HD, but you have to have pretty excellent gear to really tell.



stampeder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 3399 (permalink) Old 2006-10-27, 02:34 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Laval, Quebec
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by stampeder View Post
OTA HD's picture quality is superior to satelllite HD by a long shot and easily noticeable. If your HDTV is properly configured/calibrated the improvement is amazing. OTA HD is also better than cable HD, but you have to have pretty excellent gear to really tell.
I can't disagree with that, but I think you also have to take into consideration the original source broadcast.

I notice a very siginificant drop in quality when a US channel is simsubbed with Global on Express Vu, and sometimes with CTV as well, but less so. My Express Vu delivers the Boston US networks (East coast feed) and therefore it's hard to compare OTA to satellite because the OTA I recieve is from Burlington VT not Boston MA.

While I do believe the gain in quality is there, my greatest reason for OTA HD is to finally be done with the terrible simsubbing on Express Vu!
post #63 of 3399 (permalink) Old 2006-10-27, 05:03 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
I can't disagree with that, but I think you also have to take into consideration the original source broadcast.
Yes I was... Check out the Pros & Cons of OTA thread in the main OTA Forum for better details about the picture quality improvements of OTA. Nice that you see the difference.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=32200

We'll return this thread to being about signal reception.



stampeder is offline  
 
post #64 of 3399 (permalink) Old 2006-10-28, 11:30 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 133
Foxfan do you know when NBC, FOX, ABC will hit the air also. Since you seem to have good insight.

Oh and there's something funny if i tune my tuner to channel 14 i get 70% of signal strength but with nothing playing on it what could that be.

thanks guy's

Last edited by WatchmaN; 2006-10-28 at 11:44 AM.
WatchmaN is offline  
post #65 of 3399 (permalink) Old 2006-10-28, 12:17 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Montreal
Posts: 226
Is WCAX off at this morning? I still get 74 for WETK but I get 0 for WCAX. Also, is WPTZ transmitting yet? I do not get a signal for it, but then again I do not have a VHF antenna only a UHF one.

Home is where the Theatre is!
distox is offline  
post #66 of 3399 (permalink) Old 2006-10-28, 04:19 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sherbrooke, QC
Posts: 205
Confirmed - WFFF-DT Fox HD now OTA in S. Quebec

WFFF-DT Fox 44 Burlington VT just started on UHF-43 but the signal is a bit low, especially for me in Sherbrooke, QC.

WPTZ-DT is still testing the signal on UHF-14 but nothing is broadcast.

Kaphyr
http://illico2.tripod.com/
Kaphyr is offline  
post #67 of 3399 (permalink) Old 2006-10-30, 11:40 AM
Kro
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: St-Eustache, UFH=CM-4221, VHF=10y13s, CM-7778
Posts: 390
TV guide +

Anyone is using TV Guide + ? I wonder if and when the new HD channel will be listed. (If you don't know what it is then you should check that when you buy your next TV it's a must have with OTA.)
Kro is offline  
post #68 of 3399 (permalink) Old 2006-10-30, 01:24 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Hi Kro, if the stations are correctly sending PSIP info in their digital data streams you will have a built-in guide already in your ATSC tuner.



stampeder is offline  
post #69 of 3399 (permalink) Old 2006-10-30, 02:25 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Montreal
Posts: 46
Kro or WatchmaN, are you getting wfff(43)? I get wcax(53) and wetk(32) at 77% but no fox. Are you moving your antenna to get it? Mine is fixed.
I am just south of you in Pointe-Claire.
Ettisl is offline  
post #70 of 3399 (permalink) Old 2006-10-30, 03:56 PM
Kro
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: St-Eustache, UFH=CM-4221, VHF=10y13s, CM-7778
Posts: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ettisl View Post
Kro or WatchmaN, are you getting wfff(43)? I get wcax(53) and wetk(32) at 77% but no fox. Are you moving your antenna to get it? Mine is fixed.
I am just south of you in Pointe-Claire.
They are all on Mt. Mansfield, so no you don't have to turn your antenna. Fox is not at full power yet or using a temporary antenna (Don't know wich is true). I currently can Lock Fox but I have to raise the amplification.
Kro is offline  
post #71 of 3399 (permalink) Old 2006-10-30, 04:05 PM
Kro
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: St-Eustache, UFH=CM-4221, VHF=10y13s, CM-7778
Posts: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by stampeder View Post
Hi Kro, if the stations are correctly sending PSIP info in their digital data streams you will have a built-in guide already in your ATSC tuner.
I don't get usefull information, I get "Title not available" if it 16:9 or 4:3 that's it. and that's for all dt channels (CBC ,PBS, SRC, FOX, CBS) . Anyway I hope that TV Guide on Screen will start listing those soon.
Kro is offline  
post #72 of 3399 (permalink) Old 2006-11-03, 08:09 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 133
Ok here's another questions for people who are using titan tv, why is it that WCAXDT does not list programs that are in HD all other station are listed right but not this one. Here's how it is listed on my titan tv WCAXDT1 7.1 (53) how's your's listed if you have HD programing listed right.
WatchmaN is offline  
post #73 of 3399 (permalink) Old 2006-11-03, 04:41 PM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Shore of Montreal
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by yipikyer View Post
I don't if i expressed myself correctly or not. WNVY didn't came in in Laprairie, just WCAX. I had to go to the border to capt it with my portable's antenna.
Its alright, my mind was asleep when I read you message (arent it always on Fridays?). My brain interpreted your «but still i was able to get channel 3 easily in La Prairie» as Channel 3 = WVNY while it is WCAX booo!

I hope I will have time to continue my testing over the week-end with all the things to do around the house before the first snow!
TheIceMaster is offline  
post #74 of 3399 (permalink) Old 2006-11-04, 08:42 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 172
WVNY reception problem

How many people in this forum having problem with WVNY?

The reason i ask, is that i'm in direct contact with them. Hopefully we'll be able to do something together. Is there a way to have like a poll so people can put their vote in. I've seen it but don''t know how to do it.

thanks
yipikyer is offline  
post #75 of 3399 (permalink) Old 2006-11-04, 08:57 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 133
You already know but I'm having problem, actually I don't have a problem, I'm not getting it at all.
WatchmaN is offline  
Reply

Tags
ota , wcax

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome