Global GO and Chromecast - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 23 (permalink) Old 2019-05-14, 12:06 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto - Rogers 8300HD PVR
Posts: 3,597
I noticed Global TV was added to Roku today (Monday)!
nfitz is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 23 (permalink) Old 2019-05-15, 07:50 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Calgary Area
Posts: 2,443
Yes... added the channel but with mixed results. Trying to activate it for live streaming and more significantly to unlock older content gives me the error (on the computer activation page): "Sorry you're not subscribed to this channel". Guess I need to subscribe to some streaming option as well as have the channel through my cable provider (and of course OTA).

Update: yes I signed into the globaltv website using my cable credentials prior to getting the error.

Last edited by North_of_Calgary; 2019-05-15 at 08:08 PM.
North_of_Calgary is offline  
post #18 of 23 (permalink) Old 2019-05-15, 07:54 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 234
I originally posted this, wow it was so long ago but I since bought a Roku, Apple TV and Firestick so I gave the Chromecast to a friend.i did not remember my old login details.
wmjfoley85 is offline  
 
post #19 of 23 (permalink) Old 2019-05-16, 09:12 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 234
Tried to activate it on my Roku with my iPhone it wouldn’t work so then I tried my Android tablet instead. Worked like a charm. And yes you do need to have the channel through your cable provider. Kind of stupid in my opinion. Took it off Firestick.
wmjfoley85 is offline  
post #20 of 23 (permalink) Old 2019-05-16, 09:30 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 7,924
Quote:
And yes you do need to have the channel through your cable provider.
This is an ad supported network that receives no money from BDUs for carriage. There is no reason for OTA networks to make this a requirement since they do not benefit financially. It may even be hurting the networks financially due to lower viewer numbers. However, their parent companies who own BDUs have a financial interest in forcing Canadians to subscribe to BDUs. It's just another example of how concentration of ownership in the broadcasting industry is hurting consumers in Canada.

To see how this could be done in the public interest, look at Freeview NZ and Freeview UK. Instead, the CRTC lets Canadian corporations profit by gutting and shutting down their OTA operations.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #21 of 23 (permalink) Old 2019-05-16, 12:47 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto - Rogers 8300HD PVR
Posts: 3,597
Seemed to work fine on my Roku using my Rogers Cable credential ... though I only tested watching live, and recent stuff. I'll try testing by digging into the archives.

Yeah, seems odd to requiring that you need cable TV credentials to watch live - with commercials - when you can just use OTA.

Perhaps time to write some comments to CRTC on upcoming Corus renewals ...

Edit - Yeah, no problem watching archived programming after signing on through Rogers.
nfitz is online now  
post #22 of 23 (permalink) Old 2019-05-16, 01:01 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 7,924
I think that Shaw's LTSS program should be extended indefinitely and made mandatory for all BDUs. If the UK and NZ can do it, so can Canada.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #23 of 23 (permalink) Old 2019-05-16, 08:49 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Calgary Area
Posts: 2,443
I sign into the GlobalTV site using my Shaw credentials but still can't activate. Any Shaw cable customers here that have activated the GlobalGo channel on the Roku successfully?
North_of_Calgary is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome