CraveTV streaming service - Page 30 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 45Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #436 of 458 (permalink) Old 2019-05-15, 11:45 AM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 14,783
@andyk I've posted this several times:

https://twitter.com/CraveHelp/with_replies

Unfortunately, they didn't seem to realize that Crave had an outage, so they posted lots of replies that were totally useless.

I also happened to see that the Xbox One has been added to the devices that support 1080p, which now includes iOS, Android, Chromecast, Apple TV 4, Apple TV 3, Samsung TV and Amazon FireTV.
Dr.Dave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #437 of 458 (permalink) Old 2019-05-15, 04:14 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 223
Thanks Dr Dave. I don't use Twitter much. I checked Crave Help but missed the "With Replies" section completely.

Andy K.
andyk is offline  
post #438 of 458 (permalink) Old 2019-06-01, 04:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 12
Not sure if this has been addressed, but it's frustrating that Crave will hold Billions until the 9pm air time, when Showtime allows their app users in the US to watch it online starting at 12:01 am that same day. Would be nice to be able to watch it then.

I'm not certain but it sounds as though they do this for all their shows.
Bluefan75 is offline  
 
post #439 of 458 (permalink) Old 2019-06-12, 11:36 AM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 14,783
Crave is Now Available on Android TV

The Crave app is now available to download in the Google Play Store and can be accessed on Android TV devices including Sony Android TV, nVIDIA Shield and Xiaomi Mi Box 3.

With the addition of Android TV, Crave is now available directly to Canadians at Crave.ca, through participating television providers, on iOS, Android, Apple TV, Samsung Smart TVs, Xbox, and Amazon Fire TV, with additional platforms in development and coming soon.

----

In case anyone is wondering "Crave app is not yet available on Roku TV. We hope to have it available soon." (https://twitter.com/CraveHelp/status...21412953575429)
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #440 of 458 (permalink) Old 2019-06-12, 12:21 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto - Rogers 8300HD PVR
Posts: 3,587
I'm hoping for Roku soon. Crave on my Amazon Fire stick is so very flakey. I've been catching up on older Big Bang episodes lately ... it always minimize the picture and tries to jump to the next episode about a minute before the credits even start, so you miss the last scene, unless you are quick on the remote.

Also seems that I have to reauthorize it from my PC or phone 2-3 times a week. And very annoying to browse/search and find the last episode I watched compared to Netflix and even Prime (on Roku).
metalhawk likes this.
nfitz is online now  
post #441 of 458 (permalink) Old 2019-06-12, 01:59 PM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 14,783
Quote:
I've been catching up on older Big Bang episodes lately ... it always minimize the picture and tries to jump to the next episode about a minute before the credits even start, so you miss the last scene, unless you are quick on the remote.
Can you turn off autoplay? It might be something weird with the way the episodes are edited, since the last scene only lasts about a minute after the last commercial break on TV. Maybe Crave thinks it's skipping the closing credits.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #442 of 458 (permalink) Old 2019-06-12, 09:25 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 7,829
I have autoplay disabled on Android. Not sure about other platforms. It makes it a pain to play the next episode though.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #443 of 458 (permalink) Old 2019-06-13, 12:02 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 149
FireTV Stick & Crave= Problems?

Is anyone else having a problem with the Amazon Firetv stick and Crave streaming service logging out on its own? Tired of going to my laptop and re-entering the 5 digit code.
nfitz likes this.
north49 is offline  
post #444 of 458 (permalink) Old 2019-06-13, 01:56 PM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 14,783
@north49 I moved your post to this thread since it seems to be specific to the Crave app. You can contact Crave at:

https://twitter.com/CraveHelp/

The first thing they usually recommend is restarting the device.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #445 of 458 (permalink) Old 2019-06-13, 03:39 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 149
@ Dr. Dave..........funny that I do not have this problem with Netflix or Amazon Prime........
north49 is offline  
post #446 of 458 (permalink) Old 2019-06-13, 04:37 PM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 14,783
@north49 that's why I thinks the problem is specific to Crave and that you should contact then if restarting your device doesn't help.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #447 of 458 (permalink) Old 2019-06-13, 09:11 PM
Premium Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 746
Quote:
Originally Posted by north49 View Post
Is anyone else having a problem with the Amazon Firetv stick and Crave streaming service logging out on its own?
Yes, same here. I "reactivated" again just now but will try restarting the device next time.

I am not on Twitter so can't seek help there.

The Crave app on the FireTV stick also often fails to show the Closed Captions when watching multiple TV episodes. I turn CC on, it works for one episode, then the CC fails to show on the following episode, even though the CC is turned on in the settings. I have to start a different series or a movie to get the CC working again, then go back to the series I was watching.

There are several other issues I have had to workaround as well.

So, for me anyway, Crave is really kinda clunky on the FireTV stick.
nfitz likes this.
Exid0r is online now  
post #448 of 458 (permalink) Old 2019-06-13, 09:56 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto - Rogers 8300HD PVR
Posts: 3,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by north49 View Post
Is anyone else having a problem with the Amazon Firetv stick and Crave streaming service logging out on its own? Tired of going to my laptop and re-entering the 5 digit code.
Yeah, I mentioned it above. It's some kind of new behaviour ... or is it perhaps not a coincidence it started when I factory reset the forever-crashing Fire Stick - seems I have to do it every other time I use it lately.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Dave View Post
Can you turn off autoplay? It might be something weird with the way the episodes are edited, since the last scene only lasts about a minute after the last commercial break on TV. Maybe Crave thinks it's skipping the closing credits.
Oh, that's a good idea ... hadn't thought of that.

Now where's that setting on a Fire Stick ... edit - not only can't I find that setting on the Fire TV Crave app - I can't find ANY settings. And the thing logged out yet again ...
nfitz is online now  
post #449 of 458 (permalink) Old 2019-06-14, 09:15 AM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 14,783
There is also a Contact link at the bottom of the Crave web page for people that don't use Twitter. It's a good idea to let them know about bugs, so they pass them along to the developers, especially the more obscure ones like closed captioning disappearing on autoplay.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #450 of 458 (permalink) Old 2019-06-14, 04:21 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 469
I don't think this has to do anything with Fire Stick. I've had this same issue on my Apple TV a number of times. Typically, I have to go to my computer and enter that 5-digit code, very often more than once. Quite frustrating, for sure. It has to be something with Crave, which I find to be the poorest software, regardless of the platform you use.
DonR is offline  
Reply

Tags
bell media , cravetv , hbo canada , schedule , showtime , starz

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome