CraveTV streaming service - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 42Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 437 (permalink) Old 2016-01-15, 03:36 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 140
Quote:
Now if they include first run or exclusive series and newer HBO shows then that is a different story.
First run would be nice, but I would settle for 1 season behind instead of 3 for series Bell Media shows on its own channels.
Titanium48 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 437 (permalink) Old 2016-01-15, 10:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 2
Unhappy I can't even sign up

Guys, I can't even sign up for an account. The password never gets accepted. I followed the rules that they mention but it is never accepted! I've tried so many kinds of passwords. Just doesn't work. Has anyone really signed up successfully yet without having a tv provider?
Photocyborg is offline  
post #18 of 437 (permalink) Old 2016-01-16, 12:27 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 221
I had password problems too. I changed it completely to 11 characters with exactly one Capital and exactly one special character and nine randomly selected lower case characters. That one worked.

Andy K.
andyk is offline  
 
post #19 of 437 (permalink) Old 2016-01-16, 06:05 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 2
Thanks. You didn't use a number? I just tried what you said, no dice. Web services are so broken sometimes man. I tried on 3 different browsers, 3 different machines 3 different email addresses and dozens of various rule-following passwords. It's just simply broken.
Photocyborg is offline  
post #20 of 437 (permalink) Old 2016-01-16, 09:37 PM
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 205
Signed up yesterday. Like the catalog for $8/month. What I had really been waiting to see was the stream quality. I run Netflix though a variety of devices to my 65 in Bravia and get a spectacular solid high quality stream. Crave so far is very poor in comparison. E.g. I tried to watch the Billions preview last night and at best (when it wasn't buffering) I was getting a soft 480p image. Actually the ads for Billions on my Shaw cable feed were much higher quality than the actual program on Crave. We'll see if it gets better, but if it doesn't, I'm gone.
thegiffer is offline  
post #21 of 437 (permalink) Old 2016-01-17, 03:53 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 221
Sorry - I did use one number so one less lower case character. The special character was an & . Sounds like I was lucky to get them to take it. Hope you can get in.

Andy K.
andyk is offline  
post #22 of 437 (permalink) Old 2016-01-17, 12:56 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Victoria BC
Posts: 156
Would have tried Crave but no Roku support. Strange as Roku is still the most used streaming device
out there. No Roku...no Crave...
Acer77 is offline  
post #23 of 437 (permalink) Old 2016-01-17, 04:44 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 466
I managed to login, after a few trials, trying different passwords. Something is definitely wrong with their system.

Also, when I tried to subscribe, I realized that their subscription page is not secure, so I decided not to go for it yet. They'd better fix these things, if they want to attract more customers.
DonR is offline  
post #24 of 437 (permalink) Old 2016-01-18, 01:21 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,965
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegiffer View Post
Crave so far is very poor in comparison. E.g. I tried to watch the Billions preview last night and at best (when it wasn't buffering) I was getting a soft 480p image.
This is what's keeping me from subscribing. I'd love to rewatch the Sopranos and the Wire, and I'd happily pay the $8 for at least a couple of months to do so, but not if the streaming is bad. I don't need it to be blu-ray quality, but at least roughly the same as a cable TV image, to my untrained eye. Bad interfaces and especially bad quality streams will keep me far away. There are just too many other options and it's not essential content for me.

We'll see if it gets better, but having used many of their websites/apps over the years, I don't have much faith it'll ever be outstanding. I don't think many of the Canadian media companies (or, to be fair, many of the old guard media companies in the US too) really get how important subtleties like interface design are to uptake of their products.

Rules of the Forum | DHC Help Desk
DHC now supports Tapatalk for mobile devices!
TorontoColin is offline  
post #25 of 437 (permalink) Old 2016-01-18, 09:27 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 27
im a cable cutter with netflix, now shomi(free with my rogers cell) now trying Crave. Great content, but same issues as Shomi...no Roku App, less than stellar interface, android apps are also soso

chuck
chuckchef is offline  
post #26 of 437 (permalink) Old 2016-01-20, 01:47 PM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 14,623
Quote:
Originally Posted by buckycat View Post
I'll wait for PS3/PS4 support before trying it.
I noticed the new CraveTV boilerplate at the end of this press release says:
Quote:
CraveTV will soon be available via select game consoles.
whereas the CraveTV FAQ said "Coming Soon: Xbox ONE and more." There may be hope.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #27 of 437 (permalink) Old 2016-01-20, 09:27 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Thornhill, Ontario
Posts: 455
Crave TV on a Minix Neo 8H

Just signed up for Crave TV. I have a Playstation 3, WDLive, Minix Neo 8H Android box and a Rogers 8300HD PVR. The only device compatible currently is the Minix Neo 8H. I downloaded the app from Google Play and did the install and signup. Tried Smallville Season 1 Episode 1. Picture was full 16X9 but was soft and exhibited a stutter constantly. Like it would freeze for an instant once per second. Anyone else using an android TV box and getting similar results? The Faq states the quality is based on my internet speed and display device. I have 250 down/10 up internet and the Minix is 4K enabled. So why stretched SD with a stutter?

Last edited by snorlax; 2016-01-20 at 09:49 PM.
snorlax is offline  
post #28 of 437 (permalink) Old 2016-01-21, 11:44 AM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 14,623
CraveTV doesn't support Android TV boxes directly. Here are a couple of excerpts from their FAQ that apply:
Quote:
Which devices does CraveTV support?
<snip>
Android tablets and smartphones running version 4.0+
Quote:
How much bandwidth will I use while streaming video on CraveTV?
This will depend on the device you are accessing CraveTV with. If on a mobile device, then it can range from 0.2GB to 0.9 GB per hour. However, on many connected devices (AppleTV, Chromecast, etc.), the range of HD streaming rates are between 0.9GB to 2.4 GB per hour.
My guess is that your Android box is being treated like a mobile device and not getting an HD stream. Do you still get a stutter if you stream CraveTV on your PC?
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #29 of 437 (permalink) Old 2016-01-21, 05:23 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Minot, North Dakota
Posts: 1,598
I want to see a CraveTV button on my next TV remote & UHD - BD Player remote.
Blackloz is offline  
post #30 of 437 (permalink) Old 2016-01-23, 04:10 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Thornhill, Ontario
Posts: 455
Just tried it on my PC at work. Windows 7 on a 1 gig/sec connection. Still 16 x 9 SD but the stutter is less noticeable. Does anyone know anyway to convince a streaming source that my android TV box isn't a smartphone? An app perhaps?

Rogers Employee. My posts should not be considered as coming from an authorized corporate source.
snorlax is offline  
Reply

Tags
bell media , cravetv , hbo canada , schedule , showtime , starz

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome