Vudu blocking VPN and Proxy services - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 2013-05-22, 09:28 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 265
Vudu blocking VPN and Proxy services

Vudu has started blocking VPN and Proxy as of 10 days ago. They no longer allow VPN and proxy to connect to their service.

I am using a VPN service and both, my Roku and Sharp tv Vudu apps, report a failed connection. Sharp with code 1:200 and Roku with ' country setting usa does not match location nil'.

Anyone else experience this ? Who still have access?
andrela is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 2013-05-22, 09:37 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,991
Which service are you using? Unotelly is not reporting any issues with Vudu... I am unable to check since I don't have a Vudu account.
notsure is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 2013-05-22, 10:34 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 265
I am using strongVPN. You do not need an account to check; If you start the app, it will report it right away. If it works, you should be able to see 'sample' videos.
andrela is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 2013-05-22, 11:03 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,991
Yea well, I also only have an apple tv which doesn't have vudu.
notsure is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 2013-05-22, 11:35 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 265
Bummer

Just tried on ipad and it ask to sign in. Well, hard to say if it works.

I don't miss the Vudu as such. More missing the vudu apps on the Tv. I hope the other streaming services will not follow suit.
andrela is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 2013-05-23, 08:09 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,991
Contact your provider and let them know of your issues accessing vudu.

I know mine is very very responsive to this sort of thing.
notsure is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 2013-05-24, 02:24 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kanata, Ontario.
Posts: 462
I just tried it and everything was fine from a PC and a Roku3 - I'm using Unblock-US. If nothing else works for you, maybe do a free trial with Unblock-US to see if that helps.

I know that a while ago VUDU started blocking the PS3 client if you weren't using a US Playstation Network account, but those are free, so worst-case you have to set your console to US and then sign up for a US PSN account and use that when you're accessing VUDU.

Adventures in Canadian Cord Cutting: http://www.canadiancordcutting.com/

Last edited by TorontoColin; 2015-02-17 at 06:13 PM. Reason: affiliate links
rosenqui is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 2013-05-25, 12:58 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 265
Thanks. Nice to know that unblock-us is working. My ps3 has a cdn account so no access to vudu to try it.

I might try it when I will have a few minutes
andrela is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome