TMN Go launched - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-02-27, 08:15 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 130
TMN Go launched

TMN Go Launched with Cogeco And Bell as the first providers
proudcanadian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-02-27, 10:20 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,192
More providers to come...

http://www.newswire.ca/en/story/1121...their-iphone-i

Quote:
TMN GO is currently available in Eastern Canada to customers of Bell Fibe TV, Bell Satellite TV and Cogeco Cable, with Rogers launching the service in the coming weeks and additional television providers expected to join shortly thereafter.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-02-28, 04:47 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia(Maestro whole home PVR with two terminals)
Posts: 951
Although Eastlink is not offering this at the present time, I do have a question, and it is regarding closed captions. Are there any provisions for enabling closed captions while using this service?
David1953 is offline  
 
post #4 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-02-28, 06:17 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 29
I don't see how they're going to get many people interested if only cable subscribers that have a cable package that includes HBO can get it.(at a fee on top of their cable bill)
Jim9guitars is offline  
post #5 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-02-28, 09:23 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Yes, Closed Captioning can be enabled on the service.
ScottATN is offline  
post #6 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-02-28, 09:25 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Also, there is no additional fee for TMN GO (not sure Jim if that's what you were suggesting) -- it is free with a subscription.
ScottATN is offline  
post #7 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-02-28, 09:51 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia(Maestro whole home PVR with two terminals)
Posts: 951
That's good news, ScottATN, and hopefully, Eastlink will eventually jump on board.
David1953 is offline  
post #8 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-02-28, 05:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottATN View Post
Also, there is no additional fee for TMN GO (not sure Jim if that's what you were suggesting) -- it is free with a subscription.
I didn't realize that, but most of the negative feedback I've seen criticized the fact that people can't get just TMN GO without the cable package like you can with Netflix.
Jim9guitars is offline  
post #9 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-02-28, 05:47 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 121
I have two relatives, one with Cogeco and the other with Bell. Neither subscribe to these channels but I'd be interested in paying their costs in order to get access. Anyone know how this would work? It looks like it is cheaper with Cogeco I think. $12 per month as opposed to about $20 with Bell.
johnvan is offline  
post #10 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-02-28, 06:13 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burlington, ON
Posts: 590
No Android? Phenomenally stupid move, TMN!
CenturyBreak is offline  
post #11 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-02-28, 06:22 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 138
TMN Go

Why isn't this smart phone app available to Shaw Direct customers? Apparently Bell and Cogeco offer it.

Last edited by 57; 2013-02-28 at 09:36 PM. Reason: Moved to existing thread.
mrbean5411 is offline  
post #12 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-02-28, 07:21 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 121
I read Android and xbox apps should be out within the next 6 months.
johnvan is offline  
post #13 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-02-28, 07:27 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burlington, ON
Posts: 590
Okay... less stupid move!
CenturyBreak is offline  
post #14 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-02-28, 09:35 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,192
mrbean5411 As discussed in this thread, SD hasn't the rights yet. See link in post 2

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #15 of 78 (permalink) Old 2013-03-01, 10:59 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 989
How is authentication done?
XM4243 is offline  
Reply

Tags
tmn

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome