Surge Protector vs UPS? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 2006-07-06, 04:02 PM Thread Starter

Surge Protector vs UPS?

I am not a complete newb when it comes to home theatre but have very little experience with protectors and electricity in general... besides using my fair share.

A recent storm blew the VGA out on my computer, the VGA adaptor and video 2, 3 and DVD on my receiver.

I had what I thought was a decent surge protector but apparently it was a glorified power bar. I have read many of the threads regarding UPS and protectors but still feel as though I am missing something.

My understanding to this point is that the higher the joules rating the better the protection.

I think I would like to get a UPS that provides great surge protection while offering me the chance to continue running everything in a short outage. I was looking at two products on tigerdirect.ca.

Tripp Lite 8-Outlet / 1200VA / 700Watt / SmartPro Digital UPS
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...Tab=2&NoMapp=0

and Tripp Lite / HT1010SAT3 / Protect It! / 10 Outlets / Surge Suppressor
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...4910&CatId=232

The surge protector power bar has a joules surge rating of 3345 while the UPS only has 480. Why is the UPS rated so much lower? What is adequate protection?

Can I combine the two and run the UPS through the surge protector?

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 2006-07-07, 12:47 PM
dc

What does "running everything" mean? Consumer level UPS's are not meant to provide long-term backup power. They are only meant to give you enough time to perform a controlled shut-down (ie 5 or 10 mins.).

It's not a good idea to plug more outlets into a power bar or UPS. You could easily exceed the rated amperage in such a situation.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 2006-07-07, 01:07 PM Thread Starter