TiVo HD XL comes with 1TB hard drive - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 2008-09-04, 09:00 AM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
TiVo HD XL comes with 1TB hard drive

the TiVo HD XL. The new TiVo is a near twin of the existing TiVo HD, but for three changes: it's got a much larger 1 terabyte hard drive (enough capacity for 150 hours of HD programming); it's THX-certified; and it includes the premium TiVo backlit remote. The package costs $600--about the price that the TiVo Series3 was going for, and twice that of the "standard" TiVo HD. As with any TiVo, of course, you'll also need to budget money for a subscription fee: $13 a month, $129 a year, or $399 for the lifetime of the box

from CNET Crave post

and the following is a link to a review from PC Magazine if you are interested.

PC Magazine Review




hugh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 2008-09-04, 01:22 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 55
CableCARDS

CableCARDS =

When will they ditch the CableCARD requirement. I'm not giving up hope that someday they will or at least release a model where we can use your service providers.
duck99 is offline  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 2008-09-05, 01:16 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,452
TiVo won't, until there is something else to build to.
There are other discusstions about Cablecard in Canada.
classicsat is offline  
 
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 2008-09-05, 04:54 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by classicsat View Post
TiVo won't, until there is something else to build to.
Sure about that? There has been some rumblings about Tivo creating an HD unit that could be used with both DISH and DirecTV. Certainly those same units could then be used in Canada with satellite or cable HD receivers as well.

Think about all the DISH and DTV customers that Tivo is missing out on. They must be thinking about a way to get to them as customers too. Canada would follow hand in hand with whatever they come out with.
TheIgster is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 2008-09-06, 06:30 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 194
Well, that sucks for us here in Canada then because they won;t be releasing a unit that could be used here.
TheIgster is offline  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 2008-09-12, 05:18 PM
arminia is offline  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 2008-09-12, 06:25 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,112
A few comments regarding the CBC article, post 7.

1. Although there are some less expensive TiVo HD recorders, the ones that are similar to the $600 Cable PVRs are not really any less expensive, especially when IPG fees are factored in.

2. CableCARD was forced onto the providers in the US. Had that not been the case, the situation in the US would likely have been the same as here.

3. CableCARD was not introduced into Canada since it wasn't two-way and bombed in the US with extremely low penetration - see the CableCARD thread in this forum.

4. SD TiVo may have a larger following in the US, but it was introduced there much earlier than in Canada.

5. Digital channel penetration in Canada is much higher than in the US, and since the TiVo is kludgy to use with digital, not many people have used it and use the service provider's PVR.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 2008-09-13, 10:36 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 194
Well, my ONLY comment on the CBC article is this is EXACTLY what happens in Canada due to the CRTC and monopolies. The consumer suffers and competition cannot compete because they can't even be on the same level.

This does nothing but line the pockets of big business here in Canada and hurt us, the consumer.
TheIgster is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 2008-09-13, 12:03 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,112
Actually, it's exactly the opposite. In the US there was government intervention to force CableCARD onto the Cable service providers and TV manufacturers, therefore all television customers ended up paying a lot more for many TVs for several years, due to mandatory CableCARD. Only a very small percentage of the people ever used this expensive mandatory (and outdated since it's one-way) technology. Very few people are mourning the loss of CableCARD.

Tru2Way may be a different matter, but we'll see about that.

Further discussion about CableCARD and Tru2Way should be in the respective threads, since this thread is supposed to be about the new TiVo.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #11 of 20 (permalink) Old 2008-09-13, 01:11 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 194
Not sure I underarstand your take on this 57. Tivo HD cannot be used in Canada. It can't be used because there is no way to get the signal through the HD unit WITHOUT cablecard. Since this was not adopted by Canadian cable companies, this in fact made it so there is no competition because the end user needs to purchase their HD PVR from the cable company and cannot use a third party PVR. That was my point.

I don't understand why they simply cannot release an HD Tivo that allows you to connect an HDMI cable or component cable from the HD cable box through to the Tivo like you do to your HDTV right now. Then let the Tivo change channels on the HD STB like it does not with an IR blaster and connect the Tivo to your HDTV using either HDMI or component.
TheIgster is offline  
post #12 of 20 (permalink) Old 2008-09-13, 01:23 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,112
TheIgster Two things.

1. In post 10 I was talking about the fact that it was government intervention that forced the US cable companies and TV manufacturers to include CableCARD (at very high consumer cost, especially for consumers that had no use for it). Had it not been for the US Government, CableCARD would have been a non-starter. Aren't most of the people in this forum usually advocating against this sort of intervention? You mentioned the CRTC in post 9 and I thought you wanted them to stay out of the "marketplace". The CRTC did stay out of the marketplace, hence no CableCARD in Canada.

Quote:
...connect an HDMI cable or component cable from the HD cable box through to the Tivo...
The stream is too large (over 1 Gb/sec to record and needs to be encoded. TiVo doesn't encode, it records bit for bit the MPEG stream of 19.4 Mbps maximum (almost a factor of 100 less information). Also, DRM makes this unlikely to be a "starter" in a mass-market device.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #13 of 20 (permalink) Old 2008-09-13, 01:41 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 194
Well, this is one instance where intervention by the CRTC might have been a good thing because we could have had cablecard and thus more choices when it comes to HD PVR's over what the cable companies offer.

I love my SD Tivo. Simply wish there was a way to have an HD Tivo because in the not to distant future, my SD Tivo will be useless with more and more HD coming.
TheIgster is offline  
post #14 of 20 (permalink) Old 2008-09-13, 03:59 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,293
Quote:
Originally Posted by 57 View Post
The stream is too large (over 1 Gb/sec to record and needs to be encoded. TiVo doesn't encode, it records bit for bit the MPEG stream of 19.4 Mbps maximum (almost a factor of 100 less information). Also, DRM makes this unlikely to be a "starter" in a mass-market device.
What do you mean by saying that the stream is too large (over 1GB/sec)? With TheIgster's setup you would only be recording one channel at a time which would be maximum 19.4Mbps.
jumpy27 is offline  
post #15 of 20 (permalink) Old 2008-09-13, 04:27 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,112
An HDMI or CV stream that TheIgster wanted to record is over 1 Gbps, not maximum 19.4 Mbps which is the QAM stream. That's why an encoder would be required (not on current recorders and not cheap if you want good quality).

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Reply

Tags
tivo

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome