PVR with component inputs that records HD! - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 2008-01-08, 11:49 AM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,331
PVR with component inputs that records HD!

Here is a link to a PVR that has component inputs and can capture video at 480i to 1080i http://www.gefen.com/kvm/product.jsp?prod_id=4306. The product sells for $999. The product is somewhat weird as it touts recording to an SD card or an 80 GB hard drive - how much HD could you fit on either, unless it uses a more efficent CODEC like an MPEG-4 variant.

Does this now mean it is practical to capture component inputs? If a stand-alone device sells for under $1000 then couldn't a PC based version of this card be able to sell for somewhat less? Could this replace an analog capture card (say a Hauppauge PVR-150) in an HTPC system and allow capture of HD from component cables?
Wayne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 2008-01-08, 11:55 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oshawa
Posts: 175
FYI: we need more info

if someone at CES can run over to the Hauppage booth and ask about this comment coming from some folks @ Sagetv that are there.

"a super-prototype new HD capture product: the HD-PVR (tentative name). Tentative price: $250. Captures full 1080p over the analog hole, so no DRM issues."

And for that price its much cheaper and ewho knows if its PCI or PCI-E
tbusa is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 2008-01-08, 11:57 AM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,331
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbusa View Post
"a super-prototype new HD capture product: the HD-PVR (tentative name). Tentative price: $250. Captures full 1080p over the analog hole, so no DRM issues."
That would be fan$%^^tastic!!!
Wayne is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 2008-01-08, 12:52 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Richmond Hill, ON
Posts: 692
Just FYI,

I was browsing a site and came across this:
http://www.cty.ca/details.asp?pid=2680

If you look at one of the pictures of the back, it shows a set of Component Video Inputs (and a separate set of Component Video Outputs). On another site (for a different store), I found text saying that it could record in HD, but otherwise, I can't find any info on this even on the manufacturers site.

ZIO makes media players similar to the Mediagate ones where you add your own hard disk.

If only wishing made it so.
GQUEUE is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 2008-01-08, 05:57 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 86
It's actually a Hantech product - ZIO must be in partnership with them or something. Here's the manufacturer's link:

http://www.hantech.ca/product/produc...ateid=00020001

This looks like a neat box - would love to see a real user report on it.

Cheers,
The REAL Joe
therealjoeblow is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 2008-01-09, 09:38 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Richmond Hill, ON
Posts: 692
I believe ZIO is a sub-brand of Hantech.
GQUEUE is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 2008-01-10, 04:22 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,331
Hauppauge HD-PVR

Hauppauge has announced this product. It will have an IR blaster, have an MSRP of $249 and be available Q1-2008.

As the kids say these days w00t!
Wayne is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 2008-12-20, 03:47 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Waterloo On
Posts: 39
Does the Hauppauge 1212 HD PVR have a hard drive in it and what is the capacity

Deltafin
deltafin is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 2008-12-20, 04:59 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,331
Quote:
Originally Posted by deltafin View Post
Does the Hauppauge 1212 HD PVR have a hard drive in it and what is the capacity
No it is a tuner device that must be attached to a PC. To be used to its utmostit needs to be used with software such as SageTV, MythTV, GBPVR, etc.

There are several other threads on this subject here.
Wayne is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome