Power Bar (UPS, Surge, Etc) Info and Discussion - Page 15 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #211 of 247 (permalink) Old 2012-08-26, 11:15 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,280
SatTv1994 I assume you're talking about changing the battery in the APC UPS? What is the model number? You could order a battery from APC (or elsewhere online) and change it yourself, however, I find that replacement batteries in Canada are often as expensive as a new UPS, if you watch for the sales and then you have a new UPS.

If you're talking about a battery in the 921, sorry, no idea.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 247 (permalink) Old 2013-05-19, 04:30 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,280
Just thought I'd pass on some experience I've had over the years with my APC UPS. Overall, very satisfied.

APC BF250, Purchased 1997. Replaced battery in 2012. Used on upstairs PVR, eHDD
APC BF350, Purchased 2002. Something wrong with it after 2 years. Replaced no charge by APC with BF500 below.
APC BF500, Replacement 2004. Replaced battery in 2012. Used on basement electronics.
APC BX1000, Purchased 2005. Still on original battery. Used on desktop computer, weather station.
APC EX750. Purchased 2011. Still on original battery. Used on Basement PVR, eHDD, cable amp.

There are many other items plugged in to the "surge only" side of these UPS, but I'm not going to list all those items.

The APC BF250 from 1997 "blew up" at 2AM this morning "ZZZZZZZTT - Poof - electrical smell". I looked at the electrical board and it was very black. I'll keep my eyes open for a big sale, as I have for all the previous purchases, no rush to replace this one. I'll probably be able to pick up something for around $50 or less. I purchased the replacement batteries in the US online for very little money in 2012.

UPS for Less in Markham usually has good pricing - refurbs and batteries.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #213 of 247 (permalink) Old 2013-10-21, 04:01 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 152
APC recalls millons of 8 Series and 7 Series Surge Strips

If you happen to still have any APC 8 Series or 7 Series surge strips manufactured before 2003 - you might be able to have them replaced due to this massive recall:

http://recall.apc.com/en

Models affected:
8 Series 7 Series
NET8 NET7
NET8N NET7T
NET7T-C PER7
PER8T PER7C
PER8TR PER7T
PER8TR-CN PER7T-CO
PER8TVR PER7T-U
PER8XTV PER7TX137
PRF8T2 PER7-U
PRF8TT PER7X148
PRO8 PRF7
PRO8T2 PRF7T
PRO8T2C PRO7
PRO8T2MP12 PRO7C
PRO8T2MP12B PRO7T
PRO8TV
PRO7TX183
wz286t is online now  
 
post #214 of 247 (permalink) Old 2013-11-10, 10:10 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Toronto, Rogers Cable, SA8642, Panasonic 58VT25, Oppo BDP-83, Denon AVR3311Ci
Posts: 39
Power Bar (UPS, Surge, Etc) Info and Discussion

57, you have had better luck than I with those. My second APC XS900 in eight years quit today, constantly going into overload mode even when nothing is drawing power through it. Mainly use it as a UPS for an iMac and connected NAS.

First one needed a battery replacement much earlier than expected and then got fried in an electrical storm. The current one's death is a little more mysterious. Out of warranty, to add insult to injury.

Would love to switch to another brand, given little love from APC.
gabbleratchet is offline  
post #215 of 247 (permalink) Old 2014-02-02, 04:41 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: S.W. Ontario
Posts: 1,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by nfitz View Post
The only time I've ever had a surge problem, is during a lightening strike. When I took the TV into the shop, they said it was pretty clear from the damage, that the lightening had travelled down the Rogers cable.
Some years ago I had a lightning strike that destroyed some stereo equipment, phone, TV and other stuff. Everything was replaced by insurance and the adjuster suggested I install a whole home surge protector which they were selling at cost. I did this. It even included connections for phone and cable. A few years later when I had a Rogers tech in to diagnose poor signal, he said the surge protector isn't needed for the cable because Rogers already provides all the grounding and protection necessary. After that I bypassed the surge protector. I've had lots of power outages and flickers, but no serious damage, except once I lost all my recordings on an SA8300SD.

Is there an inexpensive UPS that's recommended for a PVR? I have a $200 one on my PC, but that would be overkill.
oldyellr is offline  
post #216 of 247 (permalink) Old 2014-02-02, 05:26 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,280
UPS can usually be found for around $50 on sale for 350-500VA units. Here's a good website too:

http://www.upsforless.ca/

UPS discussions moved to this thread.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #217 of 247 (permalink) Old 2014-02-02, 05:38 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,568
I have heard mixed things on the needing of SURGE on the cable line.

I think while Generally you should be ok... I have seen it fry a cable modem before.
Actually then took out the network card as well on the PC it was connected to.

May depend, on how your lines are.
"isn't needed for the cable because Rogers already provides all the grounding and protection necessary" as oldyellr said..
The rogers line, SHOULD be grounded outside the house. Normally in the rogers connection box that is by your power meter.. there should be a connector in there, which is grounded, usually to the outside of the power meter.

Now, if this isn't present... then much more of a chance, etc.

GDKitty
Rogers Ignite Xi6, LG 47LV5400 LED TV, Yamaha
gdkitty is online now  
post #218 of 247 (permalink) Old 2014-02-02, 06:30 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,017
^^^^
I saw one installation where the ground wire was just wrapped loosely around a painted conduit. So, make sure your ground is properly connected and, if not, call to have it done properly. All utilities are supposed to be properly grounded at one common point with a short, direct ground connection.

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now  
post #219 of 247 (permalink) Old 2014-02-03, 03:32 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,776
I have always dealt with Excess UPS. They have solid pricing and if you are in the GTA, you can just go on over to their location near York University and you can get a unit on the spot, have a unit serviced, etc. I had an old 350 Energiser brand, they said when they opened it up, it didn't look good, and gave me a new 500 since they said it was the same cost as putting the battery into the 350, so I was ahead and they had another happy customer. Many years of great service and use several UPSs I have had them service over the years on all my PVRs...

And if you have cash with you, then you may find yourself getting a better deal...
alebowgm is offline  
post #220 of 247 (permalink) Old 2014-02-03, 06:07 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,280
I checked several replacement batteries and UPS For Less in post 216 are significantly cheaper, almost half the price. I cannot comment on quality. (For example RBC32) They are located in Markham.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #221 of 247 (permalink) Old 2014-02-03, 06:12 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,776
I haven't had issues with the quality at Excess. Many of my batteries have lasted 5+ years.
alebowgm is offline  
post #222 of 247 (permalink) Old 2014-02-03, 06:15 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,280
My run-lengths are discussed in the following Post:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show...14#post1608514

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #223 of 247 (permalink) Old 2014-03-01, 10:25 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Toronto, Rogers Cable, Cisco 8642HD PVR
Posts: 2,357
I just took hold of an APC BR1500G BACK-UPS RS 1500 (10-outlet / 865 Watts / 1500 VA / Input 120V / Output 120V). Was getting sick and tired of the odd power blip shutting down my PC, NAS and networking gear. 5 of the outlets provide battery backup and surge protection, the other 5 provide surge protection only.

Product info: http://www.apc.com/products/resource...%201500&xtcr=4

Got it on amazon.ca for under $200 with free delivery. Nice price. Still need to setup the PowerChute software.

Sharp AQUOS Quattron LC-70LE732U + Cisco 9865HD | Panasonic TC-P42U1 1080p + Cisco 4642HD | BlackBerry Z10 / PlayBook
shabbs is offline  
post #224 of 247 (permalink) Old 2014-03-01, 01:38 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,274
A UPS is good for other devices. I use them on a PVR and HTPC as well. No more lost recordings due to power dropouts. That's in addition to protection from surges and brownouts. They are also good for things like modems and phone ATAs.

Costco has good prices on APC UPS as well. They only carry a couple of models though. I find that the APC store is better on price than most retailers and it has the best selection. They have a trade up program for owners of a defunct UPS, which can save about 20%. They also have occasional promos such as discounts and free shipping.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #225 of 247 (permalink) Old 2014-03-01, 02:39 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Toronto, Rogers Cable, Cisco 8642HD PVR
Posts: 2,357
Agreed. I've been meaning to get a UPS for a long, long time. Should have done this a while ago. May look at add some others for my other equipment in the house, won't need one as hefty as my BR1500G though.

Sharp AQUOS Quattron LC-70LE732U + Cisco 9865HD | Panasonic TC-P42U1 1080p + Cisco 4642HD | BlackBerry Z10 / PlayBook
shabbs is offline  
Reply

Tags
power protection

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome