Do I Need Luxury Cables? - Page 6 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #76 of 372 (permalink) Old 2006-02-15, 10:25 PM Thread Starter
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,989
Those will do the job, but they are not really proper CV cables. The impedence of the red/white is 50 ohms, while the yellow is 75 (like CV). If you had 3 yellow video cables, that would be fine...

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #77 of 372 (permalink) Old 2006-02-16, 09:17 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Ok, since I can't make any new thread and can't find my answer anywhere on the forum I'm gonna ask here.

I recently discovered that my 3 year old rear projection TV is capable of
1080i. But of course, it does'nt have any HDMI input. Now my question is, will I see much of a difference between standart Digital TV plugged in component (wich I have now) and Digital HDTV receiver plugged in component ? I'm asking because I won't buy the new Illico HD if component is'nt good enough.

Thank you.
Violince is offline  
post #78 of 372 (permalink) Old 2006-02-16, 09:57 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 2,113
You will notice a difference. HD looks amazing. Its like real life tv. However, remember that the majority of channels are not HD so they will look exactly the same as what you have set up now. The only difference will be the HD channels and I have no idea how many Illico offers or what they braodcast but you can find that out elsewhere.
RNAChemist is offline  
 
post #79 of 372 (permalink) Old 2006-02-16, 10:16 PM Thread Starter
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,989
Violince, please have a look through the Videotron Forum and post there if you have questions about Videotron.

As RNA indicated, if you have an HDTV, the difference between SD and HD is well worth it.

You may wish to consider a DVR like the SA8300HD. People love their DVRs.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #80 of 372 (permalink) Old 2006-02-19, 12:37 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ridgeway, Ontario
Posts: 295
I just bought the cheapie (Recoton I believe they were) cables at FS when I bought my HDTV - the guy kind of looked at me funny but I figured I would try them and if I wasn't happy with them I would upgrade to something else. Glad to hear I made the right choice and my PQ and sound isn't suffering any.

Ironicly, it appears the only Monster cable I have (a sub cable which I bought because it was all they had left and he gave it to me half price is faulty) and the cause of my sub cutting out intermittantly.
Kevin S is offline  
post #81 of 372 (permalink) Old 2006-02-19, 08:15 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by RNAChemist
You will notice a difference. HD looks amazing. Its like real life tv. However, remember that the majority of channels are not HD so they will look exactly the same as what you have set up now. The only difference will be the HD channels and I have no idea how many Illico offers or what they braodcast but you can find that out elsewhere.
I know there is a big difference between HD an regular, I already have one with a HDMI input that look awesome. My question was if HD look good if plugged with component rather than HDMI, because my older TV does'nt have HDMI input and only component.
Violince is offline  
post #82 of 372 (permalink) Old 2006-02-19, 11:28 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 191
Thanks 57 for your message re CV cables.
NickL is offline  
post #83 of 372 (permalink) Old 2006-02-20, 03:00 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin S
I just bought the cheapie (Recoton I believe they were) cables at FS when I bought my HDTV - the guy kind of looked at me funny but I figured I would try them and if I wasn't happy with them I would upgrade to something else. Glad to hear I made the right choice and my PQ and sound isn't suffering any.

Ironicly, it appears the only Monster cable I have (a sub cable which I bought because it was all they had left and he gave it to me half price is faulty) and the cause of my sub cutting out intermittantly.

I picked up a DVI cable for $9.95 at the local surplus store, and it works great. I have seen similar length cable for up to $150! When I was first looking for component cables, the guy at radio shack tried to sell me the $150 ones, and I asked about the lower cost ones he had, and he said 'you would not want to use them' at which point in time I wanted to ask him why he would be selling crap. I bought the cables at another store for $35, but would spend even less now that I know the sources better.
These fancy cables are how they try to squeeeze so extra profit out of the deal they gave you on the TV. Same as the extended warrantee in most cases.

Glenn
FuzzyQball is offline  
post #84 of 372 (permalink) Old 2006-02-21, 01:45 PM
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Ontario (Rogers, Oppo 103, Sony S590, Denon 2809, Panasonic AE3000, Carada 2.35 120 in.)
Posts: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Violince
I know there is a big difference between HD an regular, I already have one with a HDMI input that look awesome. My question was if HD look good if plugged with component rather than HDMI, because my older TV does'nt have HDMI input and only component.
In some of the reviews I have read with HD TV's that have both component and HDMI, the reviewer tries both inputs and occasionally the component input is BETTER than the HDMI input!! Very non-intuitive, but as in all these things, what should in theory be better, often as not isn't. I'm sure you will find the component HD input MUCH better than SD.
Rick is offline  
post #85 of 372 (permalink) Old 2006-03-07, 08:39 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 143
What do you guys think of these cables below and there prices? I am going to go HDMI when i get my LDA-531 or similar DVD player but for now I think component will be fine. Also does anyone have any experience with PS2 component cables?

Yes I know one cable is 5-plug and one is 3-plug, if i get the 3 plug i will either re-use the oem audio connections or get a decent set of audio rca connectors.

http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...3730&CatId=764

http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...4970&CatId=764
Stealth1 is offline  
post #86 of 372 (permalink) Old 2006-03-07, 06:24 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 846
I'm using the 25' Velocity component cables on a projector - no problems here.
WestCDA is offline  
post #87 of 372 (permalink) Old 2006-03-07, 07:08 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCDA
I'm using the 25' Velocity component cables on a projector - no problems here.
I went to get a set of the Video and Audio cables and all they had were the Video component cables which are the same price as the Video & Audio. Looking for somewhere locally to go pick up some decent cables since Tigerdirect.ca store locations suck and the online store wants to charge $10 to ship the cable...
Stealth1 is offline  
post #88 of 372 (permalink) Old 2006-03-07, 11:49 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 33
Cool *Let Your Eyes & Ears Be The Judge*

Here is my take on the whole cable issue...Do you need luxury cables??? Well some experts have said equipement is only as good as the connection. People who can afford HDTV's and THX high end recievers can certainly afford good quality cables.Myself I would not use those ell cheapo cables that come packaged in the box with vcr's dvd players etc. At least make sure it is a shielded cable.

Here is a simple solution for all of you,it is risk free... Just go to Future Shop etc. and buy a high end cable,bring it home TEST IT OUT and if you see or hear no difference with the more expensive cable,your done... walk back to the store and get your money back...Problem solved. I have used the Monster Standard THX cables and that is good enough for me. Before I got my new HDTV I compared prices for an HDMI cable and even the cheaper brands like RCA were still not too cheap. The thing is its a one time purchase, they do not wear out, once you have them thats it. For me it was a good investment for my home theatre. There are also probably a lot of independent reviews and tests on the various cables, you can check out.

In my experience companies do not stay in business very long if their products don't provide any benifits...

When I got my 6412 phase 3 Cogeco I hooked up both HDMI and Component and switched between the two inputs HDMI wins hands down.Do your own testing, do not always listen to other people, everyone has differnet equipment and cable signal etc.


Last edited by AVCbot; 2006-03-07 at 11:59 PM.
AVCbot is offline  
post #89 of 372 (permalink) Old 2006-03-30, 12:51 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Barrie, ON
Posts: 1,564
I'd love to see what Monster did with those mock ups they have inside stores. They show you a split TV screen with Monster brand cables and "regular" cables. It's a very convincing display and I'm sure it baits alot of people into buying the Monster brand but the PQ on what they call "regular" cables is downright brutal. I get the urge to run out of the sote with the display so I can crak it open and check it out
dezzpayne is offline  
post #90 of 372 (permalink) Old 2006-03-30, 02:02 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 76
Is there any difference between a coax digital AUDIO cable and a coax digital VIDEO cable.
I need the audio cable, bought the video one by mistake.
It is 75ohm, coax digital (Video) on the box
Will it work ??
walldad is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome