Do I Need Luxury Cables? - Page 25 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #361 of 372 (permalink) Old 2013-03-11, 02:59 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,331
1s and 0s. It is a simple as that.
Wayne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 372 (permalink) Old 2013-03-11, 06:33 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,003
Quote:
Let me say this first...THERE IS A DIFFERENCE
Crap cables will always provide poor performance. However, once you get to decent quality, there's little reason to spend more.

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now  
post #363 of 372 (permalink) Old 2013-03-11, 08:08 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Interior
Posts: 1,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayne View Post
1s and 0s. It is a simple as that.
As long as the 1s and 0's from the cable one over don't leak in. or the 120's at 60hz.
gzink is offline  
 
post #364 of 372 (permalink) Old 2013-03-12, 05:56 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 3,370
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdrr2008
Let me say this first...THERE IS A DIFFERENCE. I had a friend watch with me just to make sure my eyes didn't deceive me. We started out with the Wally World one and ya it was a good picture don't get me wrong. But after looking at it hooked up with the Audiphiles HDMI we both immediately looked at eachother and said holy S*#t. The picture was so much crisper, cleaner, and more vivid, it seemed. We hooked up the cheap one again and it was like night and day to me. Everything seemed flat and dull. I am sold that it DOES matter which HDMI you have.
And I am sold that fools will continue to be parted with their money.

What you are describing is impossible, unless you were using a different input source with different display settings on your TV (and weren't technically astute enough to realize that display settings on a TV are usually per-input).

Over HDMI the data transmission will be perfect, and if you degrade the cable so that the signal doesn't come through (i.e. it starts losing data), it will simply stop working. There is hardly any middle ground here - not like analog signals.

Your testimony of how you saw a significant difference in video quality won't be convincing to anyone who actually knows how this technology works.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gzink
As long as the 1s and 0's from the cable one over don't leak in. or the 120's at 60hz.
Please explain how this works. I'm especially interested in how 1s and 0's "leak in". But the "120's at 60hz" should be pretty amusing as well.
audacity is offline  
post #365 of 372 (permalink) Old 2013-03-12, 06:02 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,331
My analogy is SATA cables for hard drives. We now have SATA data rates of 6 Gb/s and no one is looking to sell you a $100 SATA cable to gor from your hard drive to your mobo. If there were bad bits you would know this right away as your PC won't boot or your programs wouldn't run. But all you need is a $1 SATA cable.
Wayne is offline  
post #366 of 372 (permalink) Old 2013-03-12, 06:10 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,107
Quote:
Please explain how this works. I'm especially interested in how 1s and 0's "leak in". But the "120's at 60hz" should be pretty amusing as well.
Pretty sure gzink was being sarcastic.

Wayne, I like your analogy with SATA (or ESATA). I think I will use that the next time I hear someone talk about their exotic cables.
Jake is offline  
post #367 of 372 (permalink) Old 2013-03-12, 06:16 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,331
Quote:
Originally Posted by gzink View Post
or the 120's at 60hz.
What do you mean by this? The frequency of the display has nothing to do with the cables. The cables carry digital data from the source to the TV. The highest that you are going to get today is 1080p which means 1920x1080 resolution at 60 frames per second. Your display may be 120Hz or 240Hz or 2400HZ for all I care but what does that have to do with the cable that is moving the 1s and 0s from the BluRay player to your TV?
Wayne is offline  
post #368 of 372 (permalink) Old 2013-03-13, 08:28 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,605
Doesn't look like a proper double blind test was conducted using multiple cables. Just randomly testing a couple of cables simply isn't enough.
Francois Caron is offline  
post #369 of 372 (permalink) Old 2016-09-08, 01:23 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: North York
Posts: 2,178
I haven't had to buy HDMI cables for a long time. Monoprice generic still the way to go? No high end setup here. Just replacing my parents' non-HDMI receiver with a Sony STRDN860. They have a non-4K TV, PS3, Chromecast, and some no-name Blu-ray player.

--
Neil
NeilN is offline  
post #370 of 372 (permalink) Old 2016-09-08, 01:46 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,268
Monoprice cables are probably as good as any. The main catch is shipping cost, especially for a single inexpensive cable.

Careful shopping on eBay can net a good cable for about the same money and cheap or free shipping. Avoid the 99 cent cables with free shipping. They may work but the quality will be low and they won't meet the latest specs.

Amazon is another place to look. Prices are higher than eBay but shipping is often free when combined with other items to make the order over $25. I bought a BlueRigger HDMI cable on Amazon a couple of years ago. The price was a little higher than the generic cables but the quality is better.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #371 of 372 (permalink) Old 2016-09-08, 02:41 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bruce County, ON
Posts: 1,251
I have always bought the super el-cheapo HDMI cables from Asia on eBay - you can get a dozen for around $10-$15 U.S. - when they start to crap out, or in my case the cat chews through them, toss it and plug in a new one you have on hand...when you get down to a few new cables, buy another dozen...

I use to love it when the commissioned sales guys at Future Shop would try and upsell the $100+ cables that looked the same as the el-cheapo cables I had.
Inglewood is offline  
post #372 of 372 (permalink) Old 2016-09-08, 02:57 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: North York
Posts: 2,178
Thanks. Two BlueRigger 6.6" 2-packs at $15 each look to do the trick. I'd rather pay a bit more than have my parents say nothing when issues crop up, assuming they're doing something wrong.

--
Neil
NeilN is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome