Chain saw sharpening - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 2018-10-24, 11:07 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Port Stanley, ON
Posts: 627
Chain saw sharpening

I have 2 chain saws that need sharpening. At first glance, the devices that clamp on to the bar to act as file guides seem prohibitively expensive. I'd like to sharpen these saws as I'm old school, however it is looking more like it would be less costly to simply purchase new chains.

Thoughts?

Delhi SFA 1483, Antennacraft Suburban VHF, CM7778
Gentleman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 2018-10-24, 11:43 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,439
A small file can be used to sharpen the chain. These are often supplied with guides and other kits. Just buy one that's about the same as one in a kit. Sharpening by eye is not as good but usually good enough. I've found that a blade can be sharpened once or twice before being replaced. A sharpened chain typically won't perform as well as a new chain.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 2018-10-24, 07:09 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Port Stanley, ON
Posts: 627
Thanks ExDilbert. I'll pick up a file and try to "free hand" filing the chain teeth. A replacement chain is $25 plus tax so if I mess it up, I'm not out much.

Delhi SFA 1483, Antennacraft Suburban VHF, CM7778
Gentleman is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 2018-10-29, 05:03 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: S.W. Ontario
Posts: 1,080
Unless you've been doing it for a long time and are good at it, you'll find after sharpening by hand the saw will not cut straight. That wears the groove in the bar and it just gets worse.
oldyellr is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 2020-01-17, 12:57 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 12
I know this is an old post but for posterity, I discovered that Harbor Freight (not sure if you have them near you) sells a machine for this that is very affordable especially when you apply one of their 20% coupons. It has high ratings as well.
ILoveCBET is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 2020-01-17, 09:57 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: S.W. Ontario
Posts: 1,080
I don't know where you are, but Harbor Freight is in the U.S. and does not ship to Canada.
oldyellr is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome