Rogers iPhone 3G Owners discussion and review thread - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #31 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-16, 12:28 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 40
Cool IPhone Received today

Well my newest gadget arrived today - plugged it in, synced to Itunes - but did not activate - called Rogers and he had me take out the sim and put it back in - did the trick...now I'm busy learning its many functions.
I'm trying to determine whether the browser/cell network actually shuts down once you press the button at 6:00 and the screen returns to the desktop. I'm also wondering if the unit will toggle from wifi to cell network (3g or EDGE) on it's own depending on the strength of the wifi network.
Film at eleven.
One other thing...has anyone tried to get Telus Email connected...my GMail works fine but it keeps saying that the sst is unable to connect?

FYI - finally connected to Telus....

Last edited by Popereel; 2008-07-16 at 01:50 AM.
Popereel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-17, 04:10 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 134
Here's my quick review:

iPhone is great... nice screen, nice apps, so far Fido network seems to be fine. For sure if you use it a lot (email, phone, ipod), the battery is very so-so... i know for a 3G phone it'S great... but be prepare to charge it every 1-2-3 day It'S ok, because if you use it a lot, you're iphone will be often connected on your Mac.

The app store is nice but not very Canadian friendly yet.... too much stuff only for the US yet

My little question.... we all have local minutes plans (no national like AT&T), but for the data... how does it work ? i know about roaming like in the US... but if i travel in Canada, all the data is included in my 6Gb / 30$ ?


quick note also:
I always find that so funny when the news or people said that the iPhone will cost you 3000-4000$ at the end of the 3 year contract. It's maybe true... but this number need to be put in a context.... you need to compare that number with something... compare with a someone who will have a 3 yr contract with a basic plan (30-45$) for a total of 1300-1400$ at the end of the 3 yrs... so after all, it'S not that bad to be able to get all the stuff with the iPhone...
mtlscream is offline  
post #33 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-17, 04:33 PM
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,519
The discussion on how to retrieve email from Shaw / Telus email accounts on the iPhone 3G has been moved to a new thread to make it easier for people having that specific issue to get answers. In future, I will hive off any problem specific discussions where it makes sense.

See How to retrieve Shaw / Telus and Hotmail on iPhone 3G
admin is offline  
 
post #34 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-17, 05:11 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,540
I just ordered one, but I'm on a waitlist so it might be awhile before I get it in my hands...

Quote:
I always find that so funny when the news or people said that the iPhone will cost you 3000-4000$ at the end of the 3 year contract. It's maybe true... but this number need to be put in a context.... you need to compare that number with something... compare with a someone who will have a 3 yr contract with a basic plan (30-45$) for a total of 1300-1400$ at the end of the 3 yrs... so after all, it'S not that bad to be able to get all the stuff with the iPhone...
You are absolutely right. I really did my homework (and some negotiating) and if my math is correct, the iPhone will end up costing me ~$500 more than my current non-smartphone over the course of 3 years. Not a significant difference, all things considered.

Panasonic TH-42PE7U plasma, Toshiba HD-D3, PS3, Shaw DCX3400, Yamaha HTR-6160, Polk 6.1, Belkin PF30, Harmony 700
cooper83 is offline  
post #35 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-22, 01:42 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: A charted un-desert isle
Posts: 2,465
I'm amazed that well over a day after the fact, no one has reported that Pwnage Tool 2.0 has been released for upgrading (to iPhone 2.0), unlocking, and activating the first generation iPhone.

One thing I discovered (thankfully very early on) after upgrading was that EDGE was turned ON , and that there was no way to turn it off. Only when I went to look at my email, then remembering that I hadn't set up the WiFi yet, only to see email coming in, did I realize that I now had a data plan ?!?! (ouch!!) 200KB - what do we think that's gonna cost me....$20?

In any event, if you're one of the few, the proud, without a data plan (even on the new 3G, I think) walking around with your iPhone switched on, and doing any kind of unattended "Fetching", there's a decent chance you're racking up data charges (and not the friendly $30 for 6GB variety!). Look under SETTINGS - GENERAL - USAGE to see where you're at. As far as I can tell, that's EDGE or 3G only - no WiFi usage is tracked there (at least it wasn't back in the 1.1.4 days).

For a workaround, you can install a dummy data "APN" profile, as outlined by this guy here.
Nuje is offline  
post #36 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-22, 03:57 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,316
No Mac (yet) and there are few apps yet for 2.0, so IMO its only useful for developers to jailbreak so they can make apps for us down the road. Im pretty happy with the App store stuff for now but I havent paid for an app yet.
polaris is offline  
post #37 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-24, 04:52 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 476
2 weeks with an iphone

I have had my IPHONE for almost 2 weeks now (still no bill from Rogers) but I figured I would share my story.

Pick up day 7am out the front of Dixie and Queen Brampton. Number 17 in the queue. Notice in paper was doors open at select stores 9am they opened at 10:05am

2 people went inside the rest told wait outsite. Rogers computers were down. The problem was the servers were sized with the assumption that only a small percentage of the terminals would be handling transactions at a time.

11am still no phones activated. I went inside and spoke to the sales reps. No support from head office or tech support. The obvious solution was for every store to only turn on one terminal. I told the sales rep who said out of her control.

11:05am number 5 in queue and I swapped numbers he had to go to work still no iphones sold

1:25 pm swapped number 5 for number 15 and then number 15 for number 19 (rumour was there were only 30 phones in the store but two per customer limit had me worrried.

3:10pm returned to pick up phone everyone had left except a few people they had finally taken our names and numbers. The computers were sort of working only get sql errors every minute so I figured I would try and get one. Still none had been succesfully sold in that store.

3:50 first person leaves with an activated iphone (The itunes issue was a non event now and never affected us).

5:30pm I got the second iphone out the door and made it just in time to pick my son up from daycare.

I had to pay $415 and was handed a $50 rebate form (still on my desk). I was told I would get more off when I called rogers and renegotiated my plan. $30 data option was not in the computer.

Next day called rogers 1 hour on the phone and finally got a $150 rebate (still have my form I will wait till I see the bill don't want to risk $150 for $50). My plan is 100 normal 1000 minutes after 9pm. I have a blackberry 8300 so I will keep both until work switches mail and apps over.

Issues
There is no good GPS software (I use GPS NAV on blackberry and gives me turn by turn) but the IPHONE maps app is useless.

Lots of memory leaks and you have to reset every day as a lot of the apps need all the ram and just won't start or crash.



2 weeks later
I love my phone although I am almost at the 148 apps limit (9 pages of 16 apps plus four on the bottom). Not a lot of data usage yet as most times I get WI-FI although it has trouble switching and I have to enable disable airplane modet to make work.

The app store is addictave (you install straight from your phone) and I have purchased most the games and lots of the business tools.


Apps I am waiting for 1) Slingbox 2) Camera barcode reader (price checker compare, shopping list more info etc) 3) decent GPS prog TOM TOM ? 4) skype 5) secondlife
TVJunkie is offline  
post #38 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-24, 08:45 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,316
You will find that having 148 apps is the cause of your memory problems.

Software will have bugs. Bugs that conflict with other apps, or even the OS at times and cause memory leaks or crashes. Palm OS, Windows Mobile both have this problems and there is no reason for the iPhone OS to not have it also.

I suggest just having your core apps on the device once you have figured out what those are. It might just be one poorly made app causing all your problems, but with 148 apps you may never figure out which one it is.

I have nearly 4 pages of apps, for example, and dont notice many stability issues but there are some bugs in the OS for sure.
polaris is offline  
post #39 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-24, 10:21 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 476
"You will find that having 148 apps is the cause of your memory problems."

Hi Polaris not sure I understand why the number of applications installed on the device should have a relationship to the amount of RAM consumed. Does the device shrink available ram and convert that into graphics ram to display the icons/pages. If this is the case I would have assumed when you launch an application it would then reset the graphics display ram and free it up for the application. I am sure they may also have some type of VRAM memory manager that shuffles ram in and out of the flash ram but I have about 10gb free (2 gb more than the 8gb phone with no apps installed so not sure that is the problem.

I would have assumed it's not the OS or the memory manager at fault but some teenager writing an application that leaves TSR's running in the background or doesn't release all the memory when you exit.
TVJunkie is offline  
post #40 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-25, 12:17 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,316
I did not explain fully, but the more applications you have, the greater chances are you have one that is poorly made/had bugs/causes a memory leak. That is what I was getting at.

I am pulling on my several years of experience of messing around with Palm OS, where there was a slew of good and bad apps, and you have to trouble shoot to figure out which apps were causing instabilities.

The quality control process is a concern right now with Apple, and developers are complaining. http://gizmodo.com/5028374/iphone-ap...-hell-about-it

Also,
http://gizmodo.com/5027790/why-we-st...p-black-market
"Apple limits app testing to five devices, so there is basically is no beta testing.
Casualties: Us. We’re the beta testers. Aurora Feint’s developers told us that for app testing, “Apple requires special signing to be done that binds each app to a specific device for debugging purposes,” and it’s limited to five, so they "definitely had some people camping out in our offices" to test. Twitterific creator Craig Hockenberry notes that the iPhone app's crash report come to a dev in a form barely more comprehensible than Swahili, on top of lacking info about what's going on in the phone outside their app. And then, if you do have a fix, there's no way to test it, other than to release it out into the wild through the App Store, "the developer equivalent of playing Russian roulette."

On the upside, Apple appears to be launching a beta testing program soon that'll let devs test apps on up to 100 devices, which jibes with what Tapulous CEO Bart Decrem alluded to in a conversation with us. Hopefully it does roll out in the next couple days, as expected. But even then, putting beta software on a device will require the iPhone or iPod serial number, and will still have to snagged through the App Store."


I expect all this to improve, as growing pains are to be expected. Overall IMO the apps are pretty good compared to what I have been using on Palm OS. It easy to spot a turd, and the reviews seem to be a good indication of what is worth trying. I havent actually bought an app yet, just using the free ones for now.
polaris is offline  
post #41 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-25, 03:24 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,316
Firmware update expected soon.

iPhone 2.1 Firmware Currently In Beta, More GPS Features On The Way
http://gizmodo.com/5028933/iphone-21...res-on-the-way

Again, IMO wait for the 2.1 dust to settle before you jailbreak unless you really like messing around with things. I didnt with the iPod touch a few times but it gets old prett quickly when you get the device working how you like, only to have an update come and result in changing everything. The updates were required IMO because it made the browser more stable.
polaris is offline  
post #42 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-25, 08:55 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,540
Mine was delievered yesterday, so I'm still getting accustomed to it. Overall, I love it, but I have found some glitches/flaws/quirks in my short experience:

-Maps/GPS has a tendency to freeze up
-haven't found a way to get to a certain part of a sentence/word using SMS or keyboard (like the L/R arrows on a computer keyboard)
-Accelerometer isn't as quick to react as I would have expected
-my Home button is super inconsistent, to the point that I think it needs repair. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't, sometimes it only responds to double-clicking. If I don't see any improvement in the next day or so I'll be speaking with Fido/Apple.

Unlike TVJunkie, I find the Maps/GPS function to be very useful. Before buying the iPhone I was debating whether to get a dedicated car GPS unit, but this will do me just fine.

The Remote app might be the best thing ever invented, especially considering it's free! Sitting outdoors on the patio and controlling my iTunes is just awesome

I have a Griffin Wave Case on the way, so I might report back in a few weeks with an update on how everything is going.

Panasonic TH-42PE7U plasma, Toshiba HD-D3, PS3, Shaw DCX3400, Yamaha HTR-6160, Polk 6.1, Belkin PF30, Harmony 700
cooper83 is offline  
post #43 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-26, 03:16 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,316
"haven't found a way to get to a certain part of a sentence/word using SMS or keyboard (like the L/R arrows on a computer keyboard)"

press and hold, and you should be able to move the cursor to where you want.
polaris is offline  
post #44 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-26, 03:02 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by polaris View Post
"haven't found a way to get to a certain part of a sentence/word using SMS or keyboard (like the L/R arrows on a computer keyboard)"

press and hold, and you should be able to move the cursor to where you want.
Thanks, discovered that right after I wrote that!

...my Home button seems to be working fine now...

Panasonic TH-42PE7U plasma, Toshiba HD-D3, PS3, Shaw DCX3400, Yamaha HTR-6160, Polk 6.1, Belkin PF30, Harmony 700
cooper83 is offline  
post #45 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-27, 06:39 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,316
The home button requires a firm push it seems. I had problems with it too at times but think its made so a quick accidental push doesnt knock you out of an app.
polaris is offline  
Reply

Tags
gsm , iphone , owner , review

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome