No more prompts when making long distance calls! - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 24 (permalink) Old 2018-06-18, 02:32 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,192
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesK View Post
All the numbers on my cell phone start with +1, which most cell carriers accept and works fine whether the call is local or not.
I used to have the +1 in front of all my numbers on my 9 year old flip phone. I have just started using an iPhone 5S and imported all my contacts from Outlook, where the +1 was not present. Do I need to add the +1 to all my numbers or is the phone (and the providers) now smart enough to know it's LD if I dial say (604) 555-5555? I'm with Rogers PAYGo, but I thought I'd post in this thread where the +1 was mentioned.

When I went to edit the numbers under contacts in my iPhone I couldn't even find the "+" sign, although I might have missed it...

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 24 (permalink) Old 2018-06-18, 03:11 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,585
the + is the international prefix (replaces 00 I believe) , on some phones you can hold down one of the keys on the bottom row to add special characters like +, P(ause), W(ait). on my Samsung Android, its the 0 key, but could be * (star/flower) or # (pound/hashtag) on other phones.

I do not have north america calling on my plan, only Canada wide long distance, so all my Canadian numbers have the 1-416-xxx-xxxx, but to avoid accidental LD to US, all my US numbers are just 716-xxx-xxxx with no 1 prefix so if i were to call it, I would probably get the recording the call is incomplete because I did not put the mandatory 1 for longdistance and I'm OKAY with this because I can use my calling card for the rare occasions I need to call USA.
17671 is offline  
post #18 of 24 (permalink) Old 2018-06-18, 04:43 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,330
Holding down the zero button until a plus sign appears works on most phones, including the iPhone.
Dr.Dave is offline  
 
post #19 of 24 (permalink) Old 2018-06-18, 05:34 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,192
On my iPhone 5S, holding the zero does nothing, however, there's a button to the left of zero that has a few symbols on it. Pressing it gets me to a new "page" where I have +, #, *, Pause, Wait.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #20 of 24 (permalink) Old 2018-06-18, 06:45 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,330
Glad you found it. I guess they changed things since the older iPhones.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #21 of 24 (permalink) Old 2018-06-18, 11:21 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,192
I had originally pressed the button to the left of zero hoping to cycle through those options, and I also held it hoping it would type in the symbols listed on it. I was watching the phone number I was trying to edit instead of noticing that the "display page" had actually changed (it looks very similar to the normal number page) and that the options were there, instead of available with the "hold technique". Shows how you can be "blind" to a simple process if you've used a different process in the past.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #22 of 24 (permalink) Old 2018-06-19, 04:07 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,959
I don't know if you can do this on an iPhone, but on Android my contacts are synced with GMail. This makes it very easy to edit contacts on a computer, rather than phone.
Jake likes this.

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is offline  
post #23 of 24 (permalink) Old 2018-06-19, 11:35 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,585
JamesK, you can practically do that on any phone, yes it makes it easier to edit contacts on a computer, especially when entering certain info. I do this all the time
17671 is offline  
post #24 of 24 (permalink) Old 2018-06-19, 12:18 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,104
I have an older iPhone (prepaid) and use Google Contacts and Calendar synced via wifi all the time. This does not work by default so you will need to change some of the settings on the iPhone so that it knows to use Google's offerings and not the built-in apps.
Jake is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome