Will your phone work on Telus/Bell's HSPA network? - Page 4 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #46 of 132 (permalink) Old 2011-04-11, 12:14 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,981
99%. Bell and Telus share a network; if it works on Bell it will work on Telus because it's the same network, as long as you get it unlocked.
TorontoColin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #47 of 132 (permalink) Old 2011-04-11, 10:05 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,771
Agreed with TorontoColin. The bands listed are compatable with Telus, so unless they have some jedi mindtrick to block the phone once its unlocked from accessing their system, you should be good to go.
alebowgm is offline  
post #48 of 132 (permalink) Old 2011-04-11, 03:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Thank you my fellow men, its greatly appreciated when people are not trying to fudge u over for your hard earned money.
I'll get the phone and will let yall know where it stands.
NQUIRY is offline  
 
post #49 of 132 (permalink) Old 2011-04-18, 12:25 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Sony Ericsson Neo with Telus

According to all the info from this thread, the SE Neo (MT15i) meets all the criteria for Telus network, yet it still cannot find the network when I inserted a Telus SIM card. The IMEI number is not recognized by Telus. Is there anything else I need to do? The phone is unlocked from Hong Kong. Thanks

http://www.sonyericsson.com/cws/prod...specifications

Last edited by Foofster66; 2011-04-18 at 12:27 AM. Reason: added link
Foofster66 is offline  
post #50 of 132 (permalink) Old 2011-04-18, 02:58 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,981
That phone does not have the 850 band needed for Telus' HSPA network
TorontoColin is offline  
post #51 of 132 (permalink) Old 2011-04-18, 03:01 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,771
I agree with TorotoColin. The link you provided lists the following

Quote:
GSM/GPRS/EDGE 850/900/1800/1900
UMTS/HSPA 900/2100
UMTS HSPA 800/1900/2100
Notice the 800 and not the 850. Phones on the new network need 850/1900 UMTS. So its missing a band. You MAY get some reduced coverage in areas that are 1900 only, but it won't be reliable enough.

The phone is probably good for Rogers on their GSM network though.
alebowgm is offline  
post #52 of 132 (permalink) Old 2011-04-18, 03:24 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,981
AFAIK, Bell/Telus/Rogers don't actually use 1900 in their HSPA networks, they're entirely 850. They have the 1900 band though, so if they ever want to they can expand.
TorontoColin is offline  
post #53 of 132 (permalink) Old 2011-04-19, 02:31 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
is there a difference with 800 and 850? can the phone be reprogrammed to seek 850?
Foofster66 is offline  
post #54 of 132 (permalink) Old 2011-04-19, 07:32 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,895
^^^^
800 vs 850 depends on where you are in the world. In North America, 850 is used, 800 in Europe. If it was easy add 850, the manufacturer would have likely done so to increase potential market.

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now  
post #55 of 132 (permalink) Old 2011-04-22, 01:29 AM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 4,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by TorontoColin View Post
AFAIK, Bell/Telus/Rogers don't actually use 1900 in their HSPA networks, they're entirely 850. They have the 1900 band though, so if they ever want to they can expand.
I can confirm that Bell does use the 1900MHz band. As I've played around with many custom roms on my Galaxy S, I've run into cases where the 850MHz band is disabled and my phone is forced to go onto the 1900MHz band until I updated the modem file. This was verified in the phone's engineering mode.
BGY11 is offline  
post #56 of 132 (permalink) Old 2011-04-22, 03:28 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,981
Good to know. I know that 850 is their primary frequency though.

AT&T on the other hand uses primarily 1900 for their HSPA network.

800 and 850 are completely different bands, and phone are pretty much always stuck on the bands they came with.
TorontoColin is offline  
post #57 of 132 (permalink) Old 2011-04-25, 04:08 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 103
That 800/1900/2100 is almost certainly really a reference to 850/1900/2100. The 800 band for UMTS is pretty much Japan exclusive and SE groups 900/2100 and 850/1900/2100 on their international (i) versions and North American (a) versions respectively for most phones; 800 appears on their Japan market phones only.
robsaw is offline  
post #58 of 132 (permalink) Old 2012-01-03, 10:38 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Hi all,

I've been a lurker for a bit around here and you guys have been very informative and answered a lot of questions I had. However, I was wondering if you could help me out on this. I'm pretty sure this would work but I want to run it by you guys first as you are the experts after all.

I'm with Telus and would like to buy an Unlocked Sony Ericsson Xperia Mini Pro

I'm pretty sure this would work as it seems to support the Telus frequency. Can someone please confirm this? Thanks in advance!
Afton is offline  
post #59 of 132 (permalink) Old 2012-01-03, 04:11 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,981
If you get the North American version (like the one Rogers sold) it will work. There is also a European/Asian version which will not work here, so avoid that one.

Rules of the Forum | DHC Help Desk
DHC now supports Tapatalk for mobile devices!
TorontoColin is offline  
post #60 of 132 (permalink) Old 2012-01-03, 04:23 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Awesome. Thanks for your help!
Afton is offline  
Reply

Tags
bell , compatibility , hspa , telus

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome