file transfers within the house - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2016-12-03, 09:04 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Unhappy file transfers within the house

I live in a fairly modest rectangular home, about 2000 sqft, 2 levels. I have and ActionTec 1200H with the 5GHz extender provided by Telus. The modem and extender are on the lower level in the middle of the house.

When I try to copy files from my Windows 8 laptop (connected to the 5GHz extender) to my Android phone (also connected to the 5GHz extender) I get transfer speeds between 0.8 and 1.2 MByte/s.

Does this sound right to anyone? This seems to be very slow to me.

Are there settings I should change on the computer or router to speed things up?

Thanks
Peter
peliopoulos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2016-12-03, 11:44 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Cal Gary
Posts: 505
It sound like that you put the extender very close to the Actiontec. You should put them further apart.

I don't like extender because it cut the speed to half for each leg.
i.e. Win8 sends data to extender. Extender sends the received data to Actiontec.
With the Android phone connected to the extender, that leg also slows down by half.

Have you check the Actiontec WiFi signal without the extender?

I have a 2 storey house with 1100 sq ft per floor. I put my Actiontec V1000H on the main floor. I get WiFi on upper floor and basement without an extender.
TechGuy8 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2016-12-04, 03:56 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Interior
Posts: 1,791
I have 1400+ finished up and about 2000 down finished and the modem and router in the basement on one side. I use my own router because Telus and Shaw wireless did not seem that good. I get way more speed than that.
I did add an extender but that was to get better connections on the outside security cams.
gzink is online now  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2016-12-06, 08:13 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
update

Thanks for the comments everyone.

OK, so the Telus guy left and replaced the Actiontec 1200 +extender combo with the Actiontec 3400. File transfer speeds to the same computer were unchanged. Having determined that the computer was the problem, I connected a brand new Ubuntu box with a wired connection to a switch which is wired to the Actiontec. I connected my Android phone (Nexus 6P) to the router on the 5GHz band and the file transfer is averaging between 2 and 4 MB/s which is definitely better. Probably time to wipe that Windows computer and reinstall from scratch.
peliopoulos is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome